We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely old church badly damaged by the hurricane.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of St. George's Anglican Church

St. George's Anglican Church
St. George's, Grenada
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 46 things to do in St. George's
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A pink-stucco stone building dating from 1825, this church features intricate stained glass and interesting memorial plaques.
berkshire, england
Level Contributor
131 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Lovely old church badly damaged by the hurricane.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

We did the walking tour of St.George's which takes you to the church. Worth looking around and hope it gets restored at some time.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    13
    6
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, England
Level Contributor
381 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 771 helpful votes
“Ruined but beautiful church, with great view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

It is quite a climb, involving multiple steps, to reach this church, which is above the main market place. The church was partly destroyed (I believe by Hurricane Ivan) but still has a usable side chapel. Indeed, some schoolchildren were attending a service there when we visited. If you walk through the back of this chapel, you reach a garden that has a great view over the Carenage and harbour of St George's (see photo).

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“in a state of ruin”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

sad it hasn't been repaired yet, took some good photos, very atmospheric

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
110 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“God gives and takes away”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

What a shame this gorgeous church was destroyed. There are still interesting 18t and 19th century memorial plaques attached to some of the walls and Minton tiles on the floor. It's worth a look. I would love to see what it looked like in its glory.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
little rock, ar
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very pretty shell of a church”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

We walked up to have a look around. I know it's terrible that this church was destroyed, but I must say, the rubble that remains is just ripe for an Anthropologie photo shoot. Excellent photo ops. My new husband an I had someone come take some pics of us around the site. They turned out gorgeous. It would be perfect for engagement photos. Very, very cool. Plus, there's an excellent view of the Carenage from the back lawn.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. George's Anglican Church also viewed

St. George's, Saint George Parish
St. George's, Saint George Parish
 
St. George's, Saint George Parish
 

Been to St. George's Anglican Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. George's Anglican Church, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.