We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely old church badly damaged by the hurricane.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of St. George's Anglican Church

St. George's Anglican Church
St. George's, Grenada
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 22 attractions in St. George's
Type: Religious Sites, Architectural Buildings
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: A pink-stucco stone building dating from 1825, this church features intricate stained glass and interesting memorial plaques.
berkshire, england
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Lovely old church badly damaged by the hurricane.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

We did the walking tour of St.George's which takes you to the church. Worth looking around and hope it gets restored at some time.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    9
    3
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, England
Top Contributor
286 reviews 286 reviews
59 attraction reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
507 helpful votes 507 helpful votes
“Ruined but beautiful church, with great view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

It is quite a climb, involving multiple steps, to reach this church, which is above the main market place. The church was partly destroyed (I believe by Hurricane Ivan) but still has a usable side chapel. Indeed, some schoolchildren were attending a service there when we visited. If you walk through the back of this chapel, you reach a garden that has a great view over the Carenage and harbour of St George's (see photo).

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“in a state of ruin”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

sad it hasn't been repaired yet, took some good photos, very atmospheric

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“God gives and takes away”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

What a shame this gorgeous church was destroyed. There are still interesting 18t and 19th century memorial plaques attached to some of the walls and Minton tiles on the floor. It's worth a look. I would love to see what it looked like in its glory.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
little rock, ar
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Very pretty shell of a church”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

We walked up to have a look around. I know it's terrible that this church was destroyed, but I must say, the rubble that remains is just ripe for an Anthropologie photo shoot. Excellent photo ops. My new husband an I had someone come take some pics of us around the site. They turned out gorgeous. It would be perfect for engagement photos. Very, very cool. Plus, there's an excellent view of the Carenage from the back lawn.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. George's Anglican Church also viewed

St. George's, Saint George Parish
St. George's, Saint George Parish
 
St. George's, Saint George Parish
St. George's, Saint George Parish
 

Been to St. George's Anglican Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. George's Anglican Church, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added St. George's Anglican Church to your Saves list