We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely trip, very relaxing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coral Cove Cottages & Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Coral Cove Cottages & Apartments to your Saves list
Coral Cove Cottages & Apartments
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   P.O. Box 487 | Lance Aux Epines, St. George's, Grenada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in St. George's
Denton, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely trip, very relaxing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2010

We had a lovely time in Grenada at the Coral Cove. It is so quiet and peaceful and beautiful. We are from Texas and accustom to very hot weather, but not the humidity of Grenada; therefore AC was a necessity for our comfort. We moved from a cottage to an apartment that had AC in the bedroom. Other reviewers mentioned a nice breeze making AC unnecessary. Unfortunately, we would disagree on that point. There is a lovely breeze that blows through, but it is still very humid. We asked Jill to arrange for transportation from the airport and food in the fridge upon our arrival. That was happily done. It was quite nice to see a friendly face at the airport and a fridge full of breakfast goodies ready for preparation the next morning. If you are looking for peace and quiet and a gorgeous location and a very helpful and friendly staff, Coral Cove is the place. Oh one other thing...make sure you bring your insect repellent. It too is a necessity in this very hot humid, but beautiful place!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
13
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2010

We stayed just one weekend, and had largely wanted to be left alone, which is what Jill, the proprietress, allowed for us. Because of space availability, we were upgraded to the two-bedroom air-conditioned apartment.

The good - Full kitchen, dining room, and the A/C worked very well. The construction of the house was very solid, the materials used were of high quality, which is somewhat atypical in Grenada comparing other experiences. The view was stupendous, both from the room (with a balcony that looked out onto the private beach and ocean) and from the jetty. The tennis court also looked to be in good repair. There always seemed to be a nice breeze coming in from the sea (sometimes very stiff).

Points of improvement - The facility and furnishings looked like they hadn't been upgraded since the 1960s. The stove is natural gas and you have to light it up with a match. Although there were tons of cookware and cutlery, I couldn't find any condiments. There was a salt shaker and pepper shaker, but the salt shaker had a disgusting brown crust on it. Although solidly built, it appears there were large cracks somewhere, because we encountered a small gecko and some large creepy crawlies, which I thought was quaint but caused my partner to go into a tiffy. One small complaint was only Jill had access to the snorkel gear, tennis equipment, DVD/book collection, and when she was not in the office, we could not get access to the equipment. So a slight drag as it required some advanced planning to get the equipment.

Location - east side of the island. The private beach is gorgeous and very big, and there's almost nobody (or sometimes literally nobody) else there. The jetty is solidly constructed and one can snorkel off of it. The location is very remote though. About a 15-20 minute drive into the Grand Anse area for civilization. There are four eateries that I counted in Lance Aux Epines, and I think only one is open on Sunday, and none of them are really within walking distance (unless you count the private University Club, if you are a guest who has access there). There is no food provided and no restaurant on the premises.

Overall, great relaxing stay, if you don't mind going back in time a bit and possibly skipping a meal (Sunday lunch) due to accessibility issues.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2010

Stayed in Grenada in 2007 and one of the highlights was the excellent cottage apartment, just off the shoreline.
Quiet spot and nice pool in the gardens would suit small families, there is also a private jetty which takes you straight out to the coral reef for snorkeling.
Lovely family-run concern, we would definitel ygo here again when returning to Grenada.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2009

Our second visit to Coral Cove, even better than the first. Cottage 5, closest to the beach and pool was perfect. Travelled with 2 friends, first-timers who described CC as 'perfect in every way.' Spotlessly clean, fantastic ocean breezes all day and night, and fall asleep to the sounds of the surf, watching for meteors from your bedroom.
Bring your gear - snorkling is terrific right off the jetty. Head to the right one day, the left the next time. Lots of fish, coral and urchins.
Take advantage of the grocery starter offer from Damian and Jill, most folks arrive at night after the shops have closed, you can arrange for breakfast items (or more) to be in when you arrive.
The pool is great, the beach tranquil, the staff 6 stars in every way.
Recommend without hesitation for your stay.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2009

My wife and I had a fabulous chill out at CCC in February and would definitely recommend it as a place to relax and escape. The advantage of the location, is that as it is in a residential area, it is very quiet. The disadvantage is that you either need to take a taxi, or drive, to go out to eat (c. EC$50 one way to most places). A couple of restaurants have courtesy cars (The Beach House which was excellent and Rhodes at the Calabash which was nice but overpriced).

We stayed in a one bedroom cottage, and whilst the facilities are quite basic, it was spotlessly clean and we had fresh flowers everyday!

Because of the location, hiring a car is essential and Jill or Damian, will happily organise this for you.

We would recommend the following places:

- The Beach House (towards the airport) - great lobster!
- The Aquarium (by the airport) - for both the beach during the day (a sunbed for EC$10), with a pleasant beach bar, and for dinner (probably the best meal we had in Grenada)
- BB Crab Shack in St. Georges
- Dodgy Dock - great for a cocktail and an informal meal

These were the best places in our opinion, although we didn't have a bad meal.

I would recommend Coral Cove as long as you want to relax and escape.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2008

We had the most amazing stay at Coral Cove during our trip to Grenada this year. We stayed in a two bedroom cottage on the beach. The cottages although simple provided everything we required. There is no air con but this is not required as the ceiling fans and the breeze from the sea is enough to keep you comfortable. It was the raining season but we only got caught out once or twice and it never rained for more that a hour a day during our stay. Because of the rain though the mosies were out in force and I would strongly reccomend taking repellent both for yourself and to spray in the rooms of an evening.
In hindsight we should have hired a car during our stay but there were plenty of taxis close by.
The Beach and jetty are beautiful and on most days we had them all to ourselves. I loved to take a walk down the beach in the evening collecting the sea urchin shells before sitting on the varanda watching the fireflys and the moon shining off the water. My husband and Brotherin Law decided to take up fishing off the getty after watching some local kids catching snapper etc and although they only caugt nothing they had a great time doing it. The water is so clear and even if you don't like t snorkel there are plentyof fish to see from the surface.

  • Liked — Its location. Breathtaking
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2008

We have been there with family on 3 separate occasions and each one has been a wonderful experience. The cottages' best feature has to be its placement. It right on the beach with a constant ocean breeze that blows in from the Atlantic and right through the cottages. It is also away from all the hyped up tourist attractions but close enough to be easily accessible so that you can enjoy them but still be comfortable and peaceful. There are no outside peddlers in the area. It is as the title says a peaceful paradise. We loved it and will return whenever we get the chance, and would recommend it to anyone and everyone.

  • Liked — Its peacefulness and the ocean breeze
  • Disliked — not sure
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Coral Cove Cottages & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Cove Cottages & Apartments

Address: P.O. Box 487 | Lance Aux Epines, St. George's, Grenada
Location: Caribbean > Grenada > Saint George Parish > St. George's
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in St. George's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Coral Cove Cottages & Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Self-catering beachfront cottages and apartments located on a quiet tree-shaded beach in Lance aux Epines with a panoramic view of the ocean and mountains. Swimming pool, tennis court and jetty giving access to the coral reef. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Coral Cove Cottages & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Cove Cottages And Apartments
Coral Cove Cottages & Apartments Hotel St. George`s
Coral Cove Hotel Apartments
Coral Cove Resort Apartments
Coral Cove Cottages & Apartments Grenada/Saint George Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coral Cove Cottages & Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.