We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location, friendly people, circa 1960s facilities” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coral Cove Cottages & Apartments

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in St. George's
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Coral Cove Cottages & Apartments
Save Saved
You added Coral Cove Cottages & Apartments to your Saves list
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   P.O. Box 487, St. George's, Grenada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in St. George's
Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lovely location, friendly people, circa 1960s facilities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2010

We stayed just one weekend, and had largely wanted to be left alone, which is what Jill, the proprietress, allowed for us. Because of space availability, we were upgraded to the two-bedroom air-conditioned apartment.

The good - Full kitchen, dining room, and the A/C worked very well. The construction of the house was very solid, the materials used were of high quality, which is somewhat atypical in Grenada comparing other experiences. The view was stupendous, both from the room (with a balcony that looked out onto the private beach and ocean) and from the jetty. The tennis court also looked to be in good repair. There always seemed to be a nice breeze coming in from the sea (sometimes very stiff).

Points of improvement - The facility and furnishings looked like they hadn't been upgraded since the 1960s. The stove is natural gas and you have to light it up with a match. Although there were tons of cookware and cutlery, I couldn't find any condiments. There was a salt shaker and pepper shaker, but the salt shaker had a disgusting brown crust on it. Although solidly built, it appears there were large cracks somewhere, because we encountered a small gecko and some large creepy crawlies, which I thought was quaint but caused my partner to go into a tiffy. One small complaint was only Jill had access to the snorkel gear, tennis equipment, DVD/book collection, and when she was not in the office, we could not get access to the equipment. So a slight drag as it required some advanced planning to get the equipment.

Location - east side of the island. The private beach is gorgeous and very big, and there's almost nobody (or sometimes literally nobody) else there. The jetty is solidly constructed and one can snorkel off of it. The location is very remote though. About a 15-20 minute drive into the Grand Anse area for civilization. There are four eateries that I counted in Lance Aux Epines, and I think only one is open on Sunday, and none of them are really within walking distance (unless you count the private University Club, if you are a guest who has access there). There is no food provided and no restaurant on the premises.

Overall, great relaxing stay, if you don't mind going back in time a bit and possibly skipping a meal (Sunday lunch) due to accessibility issues.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
13
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2010

Stayed in Grenada in 2007 and one of the highlights was the excellent cottage apartment, just off the shoreline.
Quiet spot and nice pool in the gardens would suit small families, there is also a private jetty which takes you straight out to the coral reef for snorkeling.
Lovely family-run concern, we would definitel ygo here again when returning to Grenada.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2009

Our second visit to Coral Cove, even better than the first. Cottage 5, closest to the beach and pool was perfect. Travelled with 2 friends, first-timers who described CC as 'perfect in every way.' Spotlessly clean, fantastic ocean breezes all day and night, and fall asleep to the sounds of the surf, watching for meteors from your bedroom.
Bring your gear - snorkling is terrific right off the jetty. Head to the right one day, the left the next time. Lots of fish, coral and urchins.
Take advantage of the grocery starter offer from Damian and Jill, most folks arrive at night after the shops have closed, you can arrange for breakfast items (or more) to be in when you arrive.
The pool is great, the beach tranquil, the staff 6 stars in every way.
Recommend without hesitation for your stay.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2009

My wife and I had a fabulous chill out at CCC in February and would definitely recommend it as a place to relax and escape. The advantage of the location, is that as it is in a residential area, it is very quiet. The disadvantage is that you either need to take a taxi, or drive, to go out to eat (c. EC$50 one way to most places). A couple of restaurants have courtesy cars (The Beach House which was excellent and Rhodes at the Calabash which was nice but overpriced).

We stayed in a one bedroom cottage, and whilst the facilities are quite basic, it was spotlessly clean and we had fresh flowers everyday!

Because of the location, hiring a car is essential and Jill or Damian, will happily organise this for you.

We would recommend the following places:

- The Beach House (towards the airport) - great lobster!
- The Aquarium (by the airport) - for both the beach during the day (a sunbed for EC$10), with a pleasant beach bar, and for dinner (probably the best meal we had in Grenada)
- BB Crab Shack in St. Georges
- Dodgy Dock - great for a cocktail and an informal meal

These were the best places in our opinion, although we didn't have a bad meal.

I would recommend Coral Cove as long as you want to relax and escape.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2008

We had the most amazing stay at Coral Cove during our trip to Grenada this year. We stayed in a two bedroom cottage on the beach. The cottages although simple provided everything we required. There is no air con but this is not required as the ceiling fans and the breeze from the sea is enough to keep you comfortable. It was the raining season but we only got caught out once or twice and it never rained for more that a hour a day during our stay. Because of the rain though the mosies were out in force and I would strongly reccomend taking repellent both for yourself and to spray in the rooms of an evening.
In hindsight we should have hired a car during our stay but there were plenty of taxis close by.
The Beach and jetty are beautiful and on most days we had them all to ourselves. I loved to take a walk down the beach in the evening collecting the sea urchin shells before sitting on the varanda watching the fireflys and the moon shining off the water. My husband and Brotherin Law decided to take up fishing off the getty after watching some local kids catching snapper etc and although they only caugt nothing they had a great time doing it. The water is so clear and even if you don't like t snorkel there are plentyof fish to see from the surface.

  • Liked — Its location. Breathtaking
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2008

We have been there with family on 3 separate occasions and each one has been a wonderful experience. The cottages' best feature has to be its placement. It right on the beach with a constant ocean breeze that blows in from the Atlantic and right through the cottages. It is also away from all the hyped up tourist attractions but close enough to be easily accessible so that you can enjoy them but still be comfortable and peaceful. There are no outside peddlers in the area. It is as the title says a peaceful paradise. We loved it and will return whenever we get the chance, and would recommend it to anyone and everyone.

  • Liked — Its peacefulness and the ocean breeze
  • Disliked — not sure
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2008

We spent 10 relaxing days at Coral Cove at the beginning of May. The booking was made by phone & email and received a confirmation in the post. The week before departure requested a hire jeep for the duration of our stay and emailed a shopping list so there was food and drink in our cottage when we arrived.

Wisely took a taxi from the airport as we might have had difficulty finding it although it's only a 10 minute drive. When Olive, the housekeeper, showed us into our cottage it was spotlessly clean, there were fresh flowers on the table and the groceries we ordered were all there. Later in the evening, Damien from the office came to check with us that all was OK, having left his mother's birthday party to do so. Next morning, Y & R arrived with our Jeep and Damien helpfully suggested places to shop, places to visit and places to eat.

Coral Cove is tucked away in a quiet residential area of upmarket homes. The grounds and property are well looked after and the daily maid service is excellent, including fresh-picked flowers from the grounds every day.

The view across Mt Hartman Bay is glorious and you can lie on a lounger in the shade of a tree by the beach and watch it all day as the light changes and the tide goes up and down. The 100 yards of beach is very clean and although the very shallow water with coral and sea grass mean it's not a place for swimming, it's great for relaxing.
You can swim and snorkel off the end of the private pier although because this is the windward side of the island the water was never wonderfully calm.

Shops and restaurants are a 5-minute drive away (use the shop in the mall beside the cinema for great local fruit and veg) and you can be on Grande Anse or Aquarium Beach in 10 minutes.

If you enjoy snorkelling the trips that are run by Aquanauts from True Blue Bay hotel are good value and well run. While the real divers go off and do their thing one of the diving experts looks after the snorkellers, which is great for those without much experience and provides confidence.

We ate at the Aquarium restaurant, La Sagesse, Dodgy Dock at True Blue Bay, Garry Rhodes at Calabash Hotel, Belmont Plantation, the restaurant at the very far end of the Carenage in St Georges (can't remember the name, it's by the water) and Helvellyn House and enjoyed them all. Dodgy Dock was our favourite place for a drink at sunset - peaceful and you can look at the yachts in the bay which really is true blue.

At Coral Cove there was always a fresh breeze so that helped keep us comfortable at night and it was glorious to wake and go to sleep with the sound of the water lapping on the beach. The breeze also meant we were not troubled by mosquitoes or flies.

When we left Grenada for Carriacou on the Osprey Ferry, Y& R told us just to leave the jeep by the jetty and they would pick it up. Great service and no extra charge. Grenada has made an amazing recovery from the destruction of hurricane Ivan in 2004, so if you’ve been thinking of going there’s nothing to stop you.

Thanks to Esther, Jill, Damien and their staff. Coral Cove is great for relaxing and peace and quiet.

  • Liked — Location at cleanliness
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coral Cove Cottages & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Cove Cottages & Apartments

Address: P.O. Box 487, St. George's, Grenada
Location: Caribbean > Grenada > Saint George Parish > St. George's
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in St. George's
#6 Top resorts Hotel in St. George's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coral Cove Cottages & Apartments 3.5*
Also Known As:
Coral Cove Cottages And Apartments
Coral Cove Cottages & Apartments Hotel St. George`s
Coral Cove Hotel Apartments
Coral Cove Resort Apartments
Coral Cove Cottages & Apartments Grenada/Saint George Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coral Cove Cottages & Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.