We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice holiday location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coral Cove Cottages & Apartments

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in St. George's
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Coral Cove Cottages & Apartments
Save Saved
You added Coral Cove Cottages & Apartments to your Saves list
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   P.O. Box 487, St. George's, Grenada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 23 hotels in St. George's
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Nice holiday location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful private beachand and nice bbq spot in the property. Nice for kiteboarding too, though the first 20 meters are shallow with corals. Didn't try the tennis field. The flats are spacious and have everything you need.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
13
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Having left our previous accommodation early during our holiday, as we felt it was not as advertised, we were delighted to find Coral Cove to enjoy the remainder of our stay in beautiful Grenada. The accommodation was charming and spotlessly clean with maid service every day. Fresh flowers, too. The kitchen was large, extremely well equipped with lovely matching crockery and cookware, and with a huge fridge/freezer and loads of cupboard space. The lounge and bedroom were very comfortable; the bathroom had a lovely walk-in shower and lots of cupboard space. The grounds were immaculate and the view from our verandah was stunning, overlooking the pretty beach and beautiful ocean; probably one of the best on the island. It was delightful to have breakfast sitting on the verandah looking at the view and listening to the birds. The pool was a good size - we had it to ourselves most of the time -pool towels are supplied, and there is also a private jetty which takes you further out to be able to snorkel from, or sunbathe on. There is also a tennis court...should you feel the need!!!! Jill and her staff are lovely and very helpful and take great pride in making sure their guests have all they need. It's only about a 5 minute drive to the supermarket and local restaurants and 10 minutes to St. Georges. All in all, Coral Cove is a very tranquil place to stay and makes for a very restful and stress free holiday. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, Essex.
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

Our trip this year to Grenada, staying at Coral Cove, was our second in two years, so that's a recommendation in itself. We knew that the place hadn't been 'improved' much since our last stay but everything is functional and as another reviewer remarked, 'solidly built.' Most cottages and apartments have AC now but given the steady brisk wind coming off the east Caribbean you can get by without it. Windows can be left open at night because efficient mozzy screens cover all windows; but having said that, the constant cooling breeze keeps the little blighters at bay anyway. But let's face it, this is the tropics and there are bound to be mozzies, a few centipedes and beetles and such encroaching. However, I believe that the properties are treated with a long lasting insecticide because any little critter that made it past the threshold didn't seem to survive very long. A tip though, keep the plugs in the kitchen sinks or you may get a cute little bell frog, smaller than your thumb, singing its 'boink' song to you on the draining board in the evening. They’re utterly harmless and provide a few minutes diversion.
More importantly; Coral Cove's daily maid service is fantastic; the standard of cleanliness is exemplary and there were even fresh flower displays on the dining table every day. Nothing ever appears to be too much trouble. The proprietors, Damien and his mum Esther Noel, are utterly charming. They go out of their way to assist and help and are a mine of information on Grenada. There may be far more luxurious places to stay on the island but for people such as us who spend nearly all day out and about, Coral Cove offers an excellent, sensibly priced and homely base. It's ideal for families with children; there's a decent sized swimming pool and a clean, safe beach for paddling and splashing in. The sea coral, however, reaches the shoreline and although nicely smoothed by time it raises the shore bed to the extent that you can't actually swim from the beach. But all is not lost because there's an excellent, sturdy jetty from which swimmers can safely launch themselves and snorkelers can venture forth. The beach's appearance is quite idyllic being lined with coconut palms, Indian almond and sea cotton trees. High above them you can see magnificent frigate birds soaring and watch heron stalking the tide pools at low water. If BBQing is your thing, then there’s one on the beach and if you want to eat out then there are dozens of places to eat from the cheap and cheerful to the more upmarket restaurants of La Luna, The Aquarium and the Beach House. Grande Anse beach and Spice Island Mall (with large supermarket) are about ten minutes drive away. If any more information is required about Coral Cove or Grenada (Carriacou and Petite Martinique) or other Grenadine islands is required – simply email. Finally though I can’t recommend Coral Cove more highly for a comfortable, sensibly priced, no frills holiday base.

Room Tip: Although all properties face eastwards and into the breeze, those a little higher up, the apartments...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2011

I have stayed at Coral Cove a half dozen times over a span of nearly 20 years, with many trips to other Caribbean islands interspersed; all in all, Coral Cove remains one of my favorite destinations. First, the 'perch', with its panoramic view of sea and nearly undeveloped opposing shoreline is top-notch; I cannot think of a more idyllic place to relax with a rum punch and a good book. Second, Grenada is a fascinating island to explore, with many interesting towns/villages and other points of interest (e.g., national parks, rum distilleries, cricket pitches), including the extremely attractive and still relatively authentic capital, St. George's, all within 30-45 minutes drive. Third, Grenada's numerous beaches, though all a 10-plus minute drive from Coral Cove, are well worth the trip, each with its own charms; I especially like the calm and uncrowded Morne Rouge, which is also one of the closest. Finally, the restaurants on Grenada are fantastic - and there are many; I have never had a bad meal, whether at touristy places in St George's or in small seaside or village 'bistros' somewhat off the beaten track. I want to add that my visits have been in February-April, when it has indeed been quite breezy, and I have never had any issues with mosquitoes - in fact, Coral Cove is in my personal Caribbean database as a bug-free zone (very different from some places in the same months). The accommodations and service at Coral Cove are, as many other reviews have noted, somewhat basic, and certainly not what one would expect if one was looking for a four-star resort experience - but that is not the point here: Coral Cove is a great 'perch' above a gorgeous stretch of sea and coastline, perfect for long morning coffees and evening cocktails, and a superb base for exploring all the fascinating nation of Grenada has to offer.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2010

We had a lovely time in Grenada at the Coral Cove. It is so quiet and peaceful and beautiful. We are from Texas and accustom to very hot weather, but not the humidity of Grenada; therefore AC was a necessity for our comfort. We moved from a cottage to an apartment that had AC in the bedroom. Other reviewers mentioned a nice breeze making AC unnecessary. Unfortunately, we would disagree on that point. There is a lovely breeze that blows through, but it is still very humid. We asked Jill to arrange for transportation from the airport and food in the fridge upon our arrival. That was happily done. It was quite nice to see a friendly face at the airport and a fridge full of breakfast goodies ready for preparation the next morning. If you are looking for peace and quiet and a gorgeous location and a very helpful and friendly staff, Coral Cove is the place. Oh one other thing...make sure you bring your insect repellent. It too is a necessity in this very hot humid, but beautiful place!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2010

We stayed just one weekend, and had largely wanted to be left alone, which is what Jill, the proprietress, allowed for us. Because of space availability, we were upgraded to the two-bedroom air-conditioned apartment.

The good - Full kitchen, dining room, and the A/C worked very well. The construction of the house was very solid, the materials used were of high quality, which is somewhat atypical in Grenada comparing other experiences. The view was stupendous, both from the room (with a balcony that looked out onto the private beach and ocean) and from the jetty. The tennis court also looked to be in good repair. There always seemed to be a nice breeze coming in from the sea (sometimes very stiff).

Points of improvement - The facility and furnishings looked like they hadn't been upgraded since the 1960s. The stove is natural gas and you have to light it up with a match. Although there were tons of cookware and cutlery, I couldn't find any condiments. There was a salt shaker and pepper shaker, but the salt shaker had a disgusting brown crust on it. Although solidly built, it appears there were large cracks somewhere, because we encountered a small gecko and some large creepy crawlies, which I thought was quaint but caused my partner to go into a tiffy. One small complaint was only Jill had access to the snorkel gear, tennis equipment, DVD/book collection, and when she was not in the office, we could not get access to the equipment. So a slight drag as it required some advanced planning to get the equipment.

Location - east side of the island. The private beach is gorgeous and very big, and there's almost nobody (or sometimes literally nobody) else there. The jetty is solidly constructed and one can snorkel off of it. The location is very remote though. About a 15-20 minute drive into the Grand Anse area for civilization. There are four eateries that I counted in Lance Aux Epines, and I think only one is open on Sunday, and none of them are really within walking distance (unless you count the private University Club, if you are a guest who has access there). There is no food provided and no restaurant on the premises.

Overall, great relaxing stay, if you don't mind going back in time a bit and possibly skipping a meal (Sunday lunch) due to accessibility issues.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2010

Stayed in Grenada in 2007 and one of the highlights was the excellent cottage apartment, just off the shoreline.
Quiet spot and nice pool in the gardens would suit small families, there is also a private jetty which takes you straight out to the coral reef for snorkeling.
Lovely family-run concern, we would definitel ygo here again when returning to Grenada.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coral Cove Cottages & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Cove Cottages & Apartments

Address: P.O. Box 487, St. George's, Grenada
Location: Caribbean > Grenada > Saint George Parish > St. George's
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in St. George's
#6 Top resorts Hotel in St. George's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coral Cove Cottages & Apartments 3.5*
Also Known As:
Coral Cove Cottages & Apartments Hotel St. George`s
Coral Cove Cottages And Apartments
Coral Cove Hotel Apartments
Coral Cove Resort Apartments
Coral Cove Cottages & Apartments Grenada/Saint George Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coral Cove Cottages & Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.