We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flamboyant Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Flamboyant Hotel & Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Flamboyant Hotel & Villas to your Saves list
The Flamboyant Hotel & Villas
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Grand Anse Beach | PO Box 214, St. George's, Grenada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in St. George's
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Flamboyant Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

This is an average hotel- no frills- comfortable/ clean rooms that can use some updating. If you are tall be aware of the low shower heads. Extremely nice staff- if there are any issues they are quick to react and solve. Be prepared to hike the stairs to your room and back from the beach, pool or restaurant. If you enjoy breakfast be warned of the very limited $20 breakfast buffet.

Overall you go there not to be in your room. It is fine for a short visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    195
    55
    18
    9
See reviews for
82
261
38
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fareham,Hampshire
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We have recently returned from our 11th holiday to Grenada and our 9th stay at the Flamboyant, which we now consider our home from home. It is a very friendly family run hotel, with all rooms giving you that fantastic view down the length of Grand Anse beach and across the bay to St Georges. The rooms are all spacious and clean with varying levels of self catering facilities, so ensure when booking that you ask for the facilities that you will need for your stay, all the rooms can be seen by visiting the hotel website. A lot of people comment on the amunt of steps so if you are physically challenged you will need to use th hotel buggy which is available all day up until 2300 at night to ferry you up and down. We see this as being part of the charm of the hotel.

This visit we had a one bedroom suite in Moonwalk which suited our needs in every way as we were on room only. We had full kitchen facilities which we utilised to provide our breakfasts but mainly ate out for lunch and dinner. The Owl Bar provides a good snack menu through the day and night at very reasonable prices, but if gourmet food is more your style the main restaurant serves excellent meals in the evening and obviously the price varies accordingly.

What has always been the biggest plus of the Flamboyant is the friendliness of the staff, with nothing ever too much trouble and all requests fulfilled. But in true Caribbean fashion it may take a little longer than most of us are used to, but in the end we get what we ask for.

Our thanks go out to all the staff for making our stay so enjoyable in particular Shelly, Peter, Vadie, Stevon, Neron, Natursha, Kendra and Leandra, if we havn't mentioned anyone by name it is not a slight but just the old Carib befuddled brain not recalling all the names.

One of the best experiences is the Crab racing at the Owl Bar on a Monday night, this follows on from the Rum Punch Party which probably helps in loosening the purse strings for the betting. I had a very succesful first week but it was all returned on the second Monday.

Lawrence Lambert is the life and blood of the hotel and is approaching his 25th anniversay of managing the hotel next April. He always makes himself known to the guests and not only being very friendly is a mine of information about Grenada.

We love the island and it's people and have now bought land and will build our retirement home in the not too distant future. We have introduced other friends to the delights of Grenada and the Flamboyant who now return each year and like us are planning for next year. If you want a peaceful holiday in the warmth of the Caribbean then Grenada is the island to visit and get full value for your money.

All in all Grenada and the Flamboyant compliment each other and are well worth a visit.

I now have my island nickname so no longer go under the name of David on island but Airstrip, if you could see how I am follically challenged all would be obvious.

Room Tip: Use the website to view the rooms on the site map to get an indication as to what is provided in eac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
109 hotel reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I was a little disappointed with the Flamboyant. Maybe it was the split location across the road and steps. Perhaps it was the short (pricey) menu. Or it could have been that the externals need a bit of a refresh and maintenance. Only the beach restaurant was open in late May.
But there are lots of plus points. Light, airy, comfortable, large rooms, A useful little kitchenette. Terrific views of Grand Anse Beach too.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

I lodged at the Flamboyant for a week and enjoyed my stay. The hotel rooms are nestled along the mountain side which provide fantastic view of the bay from my balcony room. The general area pools, bars, and water sports are all beach front. The hotel is centrally located a short car ride from the airport, downtown, and key surrounding points of interest.

The staff was quite friendly and accommodating. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Any room with a balcony has great views of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed for 4 nights in February 2013. We had to wait to check in since we arrived early, so we had to get lunch elsewhere since they didnt allow us to use the all inclusive facilities. The room was very clean and well maintained, with a lovely view of the ocean!

The meals on the all inclusive plan were good, not that much variety though. The staff at the bar on the beach were very friendly and accommodating! They made our stay more comfortable and we appreciated that! Lunch and dinner were served by the beach so we enjoyed the lovely ambiance during our meals!

The area is very hilly and we didnt mind all the walking but the sun was extremely hot, which was a bit draining! You had to walk down alot of stairs to get to the restaurant and the pool area. The hotel doesnt have much activities. The gym is very small and doesnt have much equipment in it. The staff, the well maintained rooms and lovely views made up for these things though!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Home from our 15th trip to Grenada and we wouldn't stay anywhere but the Flamboyant Hotel. It's a beautiful hotel with comfortable rooms and the staff are wonderful. It's on the most beautiful beach with a view that won't quit and we could never tire of. The hotel has two restaurants, one indoors and one on the beach and a bar that serves food or we like to sit at the beach tables and order our food. The food is great with award winning chiefs and multiple choices. You can order anything from a grilled cheese sandwich or hotdog to Lobster. Improvements are added every year and we look forward to see what we will find that is new. This year they added arm chairs on the beach to enjoy. It is on a hillside as everything is in Grenada with many steps. Going down is easy and they have now have carts so that you won't have to walk up the steps. The ocean is rarely rough but there is always the swimming pool. The entertainment varies a little from one visit to another, but is always great. I love the crab racing. I can't say enough about the staff of the Flamboyant. There is very little turnover of the staff which says a lot about how they are treated by the upper management. They will do just about anything that is possible to make you comfortable, They have rooms with kitchens and will cook a meal for you in your room or as in our case make room for many people to meet and eat together. This year there were 12 of us and it didn't matter which restaurant we wanted, they did it for us. Need a taxi or an Island trip.. you have it. a massage? You have it. The internet or WIFI? you have it. We are already planing our next trip to the Flamboyant and can't wait to go again.

Room Tip: There are many buildings, some higher than others. Of course higher means more steps. We always have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryde, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Well, we have been back home nearly two weeks now and are still wishing we were back at the Flamboyant Hotel. This was our sixth visit and each time there is some sort of improvement, however small it might be. I think the food improves every year we go but the great added extra for me this time was the comfy "armchairs" on the beach. There was a group of ten of us this year and for those who didn't wish to sit in the sun during the day, these were just ideal under the almond trees and in the evening after dinner were perfect for sitting on the beach with a drink or two. There is nothing I can say against this hotel and its location on the beautiful island of Grenada - at the end of Grand Anse Beach. The staff at all levels are always so welcoming, helpful and friendly and Lawrence Lambert, the Manager, always sets a good example with his friendliness and making all guests feel very welcome. We had three members of family with us in their twenties who enjoyed their holiday equally with us - they were very impressed with everything. One of these younger ones took a scuba diving course at Dive Grenada which is virtually attached to the hotel and enjoyed it very much. There is a very relaxed atmosphere at the Flamboyant which we now feel the moment we arrive and we can't wait to return!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Flamboyant Hotel & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Flamboyant Hotel & Villas

Address: Grand Anse Beach | PO Box 214, St. George's, Grenada
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Grenada > Saint George Parish > St. George's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in St. George's
#7 Romantic Hotel in St. George's
#8 Spa Hotel in St. George's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Flamboyant Hotel & Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warmed by the bright Caribbean Sun and genuine Grenadian Hospitality, the Flamboyant Hotel offers an ideal vacation destination. Choose from the comfortable rooms or self-catering studios, one-bedroom suites or two-bedroom cottages, all with air conditioning and vistas of Grand Anse Beach and the lush mountains of Grenada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Flamboyant Hotel & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Flamboyant Hotel And Villas
Flamboyant Hotel St Georges
The Flamboyant Hotel & Villas Grenada/Saint George Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Flamboyant Hotel & Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.