We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only just Very Good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Flamboyant Hotel & Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Flamboyant Hotel & Villas to your Saves list
The Flamboyant Hotel & Villas
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Grand Anse Beach | PO Box 214, St. George's, Grenada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in St. George's
Southampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
117 hotel reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“Only just Very Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I was a little disappointed with the Flamboyant. Maybe it was the split location across the road and steps. Perhaps it was the short (pricey) menu. Or it could have been that the externals need a bit of a refresh and maintenance. Only the beach restaurant was open in late May.
But there are lots of plus points. Light, airy, comfortable, large rooms, A useful little kitchenette. Terrific views of Grand Anse Beach too.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    201
    56
    18
    9
See reviews for
83
269
39
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
White Plains, New York
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

I lodged at the Flamboyant for a week and enjoyed my stay. The hotel rooms are nestled along the mountain side which provide fantastic view of the bay from my balcony room. The general area pools, bars, and water sports are all beach front. The hotel is centrally located a short car ride from the airport, downtown, and key surrounding points of interest.

The staff was quite friendly and accommodating. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Any room with a balcony has great views of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed for 4 nights in February 2013. We had to wait to check in since we arrived early, so we had to get lunch elsewhere since they didnt allow us to use the all inclusive facilities. The room was very clean and well maintained, with a lovely view of the ocean!

The meals on the all inclusive plan were good, not that much variety though. The staff at the bar on the beach were very friendly and accommodating! They made our stay more comfortable and we appreciated that! Lunch and dinner were served by the beach so we enjoyed the lovely ambiance during our meals!

The area is very hilly and we didnt mind all the walking but the sun was extremely hot, which was a bit draining! You had to walk down alot of stairs to get to the restaurant and the pool area. The hotel doesnt have much activities. The gym is very small and doesnt have much equipment in it. The staff, the well maintained rooms and lovely views made up for these things though!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Home from our 15th trip to Grenada and we wouldn't stay anywhere but the Flamboyant Hotel. It's a beautiful hotel with comfortable rooms and the staff are wonderful. It's on the most beautiful beach with a view that won't quit and we could never tire of. The hotel has two restaurants, one indoors and one on the beach and a bar that serves food or we like to sit at the beach tables and order our food. The food is great with award winning chiefs and multiple choices. You can order anything from a grilled cheese sandwich or hotdog to Lobster. Improvements are added every year and we look forward to see what we will find that is new. This year they added arm chairs on the beach to enjoy. It is on a hillside as everything is in Grenada with many steps. Going down is easy and they have now have carts so that you won't have to walk up the steps. The ocean is rarely rough but there is always the swimming pool. The entertainment varies a little from one visit to another, but is always great. I love the crab racing. I can't say enough about the staff of the Flamboyant. There is very little turnover of the staff which says a lot about how they are treated by the upper management. They will do just about anything that is possible to make you comfortable, They have rooms with kitchens and will cook a meal for you in your room or as in our case make room for many people to meet and eat together. This year there were 12 of us and it didn't matter which restaurant we wanted, they did it for us. Need a taxi or an Island trip.. you have it. a massage? You have it. The internet or WIFI? you have it. We are already planing our next trip to the Flamboyant and can't wait to go again.

Room Tip: There are many buildings, some higher than others. Of course higher means more steps. We always have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryde, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Well, we have been back home nearly two weeks now and are still wishing we were back at the Flamboyant Hotel. This was our sixth visit and each time there is some sort of improvement, however small it might be. I think the food improves every year we go but the great added extra for me this time was the comfy "armchairs" on the beach. There was a group of ten of us this year and for those who didn't wish to sit in the sun during the day, these were just ideal under the almond trees and in the evening after dinner were perfect for sitting on the beach with a drink or two. There is nothing I can say against this hotel and its location on the beautiful island of Grenada - at the end of Grand Anse Beach. The staff at all levels are always so welcoming, helpful and friendly and Lawrence Lambert, the Manager, always sets a good example with his friendliness and making all guests feel very welcome. We had three members of family with us in their twenties who enjoyed their holiday equally with us - they were very impressed with everything. One of these younger ones took a scuba diving course at Dive Grenada which is virtually attached to the hotel and enjoyed it very much. There is a very relaxed atmosphere at the Flamboyant which we now feel the moment we arrive and we can't wait to return!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

The Flamboyant hotel is at one end of Grand Anse beach, just 15 minutes from the airport (we flew Virgin, which like BA, stops at Tobago en route but was a bit cheaper). We experienced long queues for everything at the airport: immigration, customs, check-in and duty free purchases both incoming and on leaving.
At the hotel (in Reggae block) we had lovely big rooms with big, comfy beds, balconies, AC and free wi-fi, and a fantastic view the length of the beach, only partly obscured by all the cables. We had been forewarned that on the island, which is of volcanic origin, virtually all towns are situated on steep slopes; there were certainly plenty of steps from our rooms downhill to the restaurant to keep us fit and after 6.30pm our gate was locked and we had to walk further up the hill to gain entry to the compound.
The food at the hotel was pricey – a plate of indifferent seafood pasta cost EC$ 95 - nearly £25. That was the last time we dined there! There were not many places to which we could walk except Umbrellas some way along the beach, Papillion for lunch and La Belle Creole, both lower down the hill, and La Luna (along a mile of rough track).
Dive Grenada was right there on the beach and very convenient. It is run by two Brits, Phil and Helen. They have a small, friendly business, operating just one boat and taking no more than eight divers, plus two dive leaders, per dive. It is necessary to book in advance in order to get places, particularly for the 2 morning dives.
The diving was perfect for a newly-qualified diver and her companions. The water was 27 ˚C. We did 2 dives most mornings, none being more than 15 minutes’ ride away and most closer. They were shallow – we were never deeper than 20m and usually much less – there were no real walls, swim throughs or currents. The corals were pretty and there were plenty of fish, as well as lobsters, small marbled eels, free-swimming sharp-tailed eels, a sea-horse and an occasional turtle. We only saw sharks (a few sleeping nurse sharks under ledges) on the last day when we ventured to the Atlantic side of the island and I saw no rays and few large morays.
Grenada is famous for its underwater Sculpture Park; they are becoming encrusted with corals and, being shallow, provide a focus for snorkelers as well as divers. The island is also famous for wrecks although the most important, the Bianca C, a 600’ cruise liner of the Costa line (!) which went down in 1961, is too deep for inexperienced divers. We saw a couple of smaller ones, Veronica being repeated for the night dive.
We took one whole day off to see the island. Garfield, a local taxi driver recommended by the Dive Centre, guided us from 8am til 9pm for a total cost of US$200 + tip. We went through St George’s Town to a waterfall and on to the Dougaldston Estate. Next we visited a nutmeg processing plant. We stopped to see some Carib carvings en route to Sauteurs at the North (where Caribs leapt to their death from a headland and where the man in whom sickle cell anaemia was first identified is buried in the graveyard) before reaching the beach at Bathway. Next was the first of the two large fresh water lakes (Lake Antoine) before a tour of a rum distillery and then a tour of the Belmont Estate (cocoa plantation and chocolate manufacturing). Then another drive right across the island through the lush green trees and bushes via Grand Etang (the largest lake) to Gouyave, where there was the regular open-air cooked fish market (“Fish Friday”) to provide supper. Quite a day!
Our de-gassing day at the end was spent exploring St George’s Town, with a climb to Fort George (where Maurice Bishop was executed by the Marxist revolutionary party in 1983, leading to the US invasion) giving excellent views of the Carenage. Then off to the airport where we discovered by lucky chance that it was possible to buy extra legroom seats - well worth the extra £20.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Just returned from a week at Flamboyant. The view from top villas is amazing overlooking the fabulous Anse Beach. You need to be able bodied as lots of steps. The road in front is only a small road with little traffic so no problem at all. Staff very friendly . This hotel is not for children as not a child's pool. The food is ok and well presented. I think it is missing a real beach bar as you have to go into Owl Bar for drink which I felt it was a bit male orientated to go in with swimming costume. However if you see a member of staff they willingly bring drink to you on beach even tea and coffee. There smoothies are real fruit unlike some hotels yummy. The dive centre people are great and really know there stuff.

Room Tip: Choose high or low rooms as middle room views spoilt by wires
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Flamboyant Hotel & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Flamboyant Hotel & Villas

Address: Grand Anse Beach | PO Box 214, St. George's, Grenada
Location: Caribbean > Grenada > Saint George Parish > St. George's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in St. George's
#7 Romantic Hotel in St. George's
#8 Spa Hotel in St. George's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Flamboyant Hotel & Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warmed by the bright Caribbean Sun and genuine Grenadian Hospitality, the Flamboyant Hotel offers an ideal vacation destination. Choose from the comfortable rooms or self-catering studios, one-bedroom suites or two-bedroom cottages, all with air conditioning and vistas of Grand Anse Beach and the lush mountains of Grenada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Flamboyant Hotel & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Flamboyant Hotel And Villas
Flamboyant Hotel St Georges
The Flamboyant Hotel & Villas Grenada/Saint George Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Flamboyant Hotel & Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.