We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views but not best location and basic accommodation” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Flamboyant Hotel & Villas

Save Saved
You added The Flamboyant Hotel & Villas to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Flamboyant Hotel & Villas
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Grand Anse Beach | PO Box 214, St. George's, Grenada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in St. George's
Oxted, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great views but not best location and basic accommodation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We decided to stay at the Flamboyant Hotel for the view, having previously stayed in hotels along Grand Anse Beach, we also wanted to have the kitchen facilities. The hotel is built on the hillside with a main road running between it. There are steep steps and incline to most of the rooms. We booked a deluxe studio which was spacious and clean, also had a great view, but was not deluxe. I am sure I saw somewhere that it is 4 star however I would categorise as 2 star. `On our last day we had no water pressure so unable to use the shower had to use another room near the reception with no apology from any of the reception staff. Small beach area but does not get the sunset have to walk further along the beach to see this. The main restaurant is dark and enclosed and does not make use of it's beach setting.

Room Tip: Best views further up the hill away from reception but have further to walk. We had a hire car so n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    192
    55
    18
    9
See reviews for
81
260
37
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
236 helpful votes 236 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed at Flamboyant for 4 nights. The view is amazing...but the rooms are older but clean for the most part. The service at front desk and restaurant was average. Food was average (go somewhere else to eat). Umbrellas restaurant is great. We liked the Owl Bar on the beach. The kids liked the turtles. The beach location was GREAT...far enough away from the busy part of Grand Anse. The local vendors on the beach can be annoying. Shop around before you buy anything from them. I didn't and paid twice as much.

Room Tip: Make sure you are above the telephone cables.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flambosm, Manager at The Flamboyant Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
I would like to thank you for choosing the Flamboyant Hotel & Villas for your recent stay in Grenada. We greatly appreciate your comments and that you took the time to write them, as feedback from our guests’ is key to ensuring we deliver on the service promised.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Just returned from one night at the Flamboyant. We had a quick stay so we could not take advantage of the amenities such as the on-site dive shop or spa.

Pros:
- nice, spacious room. Functional kitchen & bathroom, very nice porch
- amazing, top notch view. The hotel is on a hillside overlooking Grand Anse beach. Made a bit of a hike back and forth to the beach but easy unless you had physicial limitations. From our third floor room, we climbed at least 6 flights of stairs.
- beautiful beach at the end of Grand Anse which limited foot traffic in your view
- very accomodating: we had a noon check out but an 8:00 flight. We checked out of our room but they held our luggage and then allowed us to quickly use a room to shower and change before leaving at 4:00. This was extraordinarily gracious and we are very grateful!

Cons:
- buffett breakfast was expensive ($20US/person) and the service was on island time
- lots of vendors on the beach. Most understood a simple "no, thank you" but it made us a bit uncomfortable to leave our camera on the beach while we went swimming
- no hobey cats

In summary, overall not quite as polished as other places we have stayed but a good experience.

Room Tip: Be prepared to climb a lot!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flambosm, Manager at The Flamboyant Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for your review and for choosing our hotel for your recent stay in Grenada. We are happy to have served you and assisted where we can to make your overall experience more enjoyable. Hopefully we will be back to enjoy the rest of our amenities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a 5 day stay on the Spice Isle of Granada. We stayed at the Flamboyant on Grand Anse Beach. The hotel is in a great location and is very nice. It is not elegant or high end but the rooms are very nice and a good size. Service is good, the staff is pleasant and very helpful.

All rooms have a balcony that face the ocean. We had a one bedroom with kitchen- although we really only used the refrigerator and hot pot, you could easily have prepared meals if you wanted to- no oven but a microwave, 4 top hot plate and well stocked with pots, etc. It is also just a 10 minute walk to a grocery store. Air conditioning works well and the room was spotless. The bed was comfortable and the area quiet- I haven't slept that well in a long time. Towels are nothing great and you do have to ask for extras. You can get beach towels any time you want from the desk.

The hotel is situated on a hill, so you do walk up and down a lot - to your room and to the pool, restaurant, bar and beach. Good way to walk off all the great food you can find on the island. Rooms closest to the office have the least walk, if you want to lessen the number of steps each day.

The food at the restaurant and bar are good, service is friendly and prompt. Their rum punch was the best I had on the island. The pool is pleasant- cooler water than the ocean but in the hot afternoon it is perfect. The beach is lovely and there is plenty of shade and chairs and beachside service.

To catch the local buses it is a 10 minute walk- none really go past the hotel. Taxis are easy and not expensive.

I will definitely return for another stay. If you have a student at SGU you can get a discount.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flambosm, Manager at The Flamboyant Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Thanks again for choosing our hotel and for taking the time to post your review. On behalf of the entire team at the Flamboyant, it was a pleasure making your stay in Grenada, and at our hotel, such a memorable one. We were delighted to serve you and look forward to having the opportunity to do so again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We have just had a wonderful holiday at this resort. We were 'all inclusive' which made it a very good deal for us, the food was excellent at all times, the only grumble being poor choice of fruit at breakfast. I think the menu was on the expensive side if you were paying separately which meant that a lot of the time there was hardly anyone eating at mealtimes which made for little atmosphere. The majority of the guests seemed to be self catering and would go elsewhere to eat, there were apparently many good places around although we didn't feel the need to make the effort to leave the resort for meals. We were well looked after at the beach bistro every day, particularly by Natursha. Leandra, Cheralyn and Kirt. Bob Phillips in reception was also very helpful when we were unhappy with our original room. They moved us to a much better and newer one (Watusi) at the back which had a wonderful view and was also near Morne Rouge beach, well worth a visit. We are both fit and enjoyed the walk!
Grande Anse beach is a beautiful beach and we enjoyed the walk along its length most days, this was our second visit to Grenada, our last one was 12 years ago before the hurricane and we love the island. We visit the Caribbean most years and this is one of our favourite islands we've decided.

Room Tip: The rooms at the lowest level next to the road can be noisy and are in dire need of redecoration and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flambosm, Manager at The Flamboyant Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. It was a pleasure to serve you and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and Grenada. Your review was shared with the staff mentioned which brought huge smiles to their faces. We hope you have an even better time on your return as we try to make Grenada your favorite and #1 island in the Caribbean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

The hotel is built on the side of the hill over looking Grand Anse Beach and offers spectacular views across to St Georges and beyond. As the previous review states there is a road between the rooms and the pool, restaurants and beach but this is Grenada you will not be inconvenienced by it at all. The rooms are basic but very clean and well presented, if you go on holiday to spend all your time in your room you may want more but if you want somewhere to sleep, wash, chill out and relax in then you won't be disappointed. The rooms have a shower over the bath with plenty of hot water, A/C, a big comfortable bed, room safe, kettle, fridge, hairdryers, TV, clock and phone - all you need.
Beach towels are provided so that is a bit less you need to take and there is a free library to take and leave books next to reception.
Two restaurants one right on Grand Anse Beach serving snack type meals, both serving the same main evening meals and the Owl Bar that opens until late (or early depending how you look at it). Rooms do not notice any noise from either the bar or restaurants. If the steps become a bit much get the provided golf buggy to transport you around.
The staff were helpful, efficient and friendly.
All in all this is a well run, friendly, mid priced hotel and you get more than your money worth. I will use this hotel on my next trip to Grenada.

Room Tip: All rooms have a great view, there are a lot of steps, use the golf buggy if that is a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flambosm, Manager at The Flamboyant Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing the Flamboyant Hotel & Villas for your recent stay in Grenada. We have read your comments about the hotel and we greatly appreciate that you took the time to write them, as our guests’ satisfaction is our main priority. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we hope to see you again soon at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Rooms are small and in dire need of a facelift. Hotel is across the street from the beach, which is reached by stairs. Overpriced in general. Breakfast for 2 adults and 2 7 year olds was $61! Selection was very basic. And as usual service was terrible.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flambosm, Manager at The Flamboyant Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Thank you for your review. Feedback from our patrons is encourage and appreciated. Our rooms being small and our resort being overpriced are comments not usually received. It is regrettable that our resort did not meet your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Flamboyant Hotel & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Flamboyant Hotel & Villas

Address: Grand Anse Beach | PO Box 214, St. George's, Grenada
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Grenada > Saint George Parish > St. George's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in St. George's
#7 Romantic Hotel in St. George's
#8 Spa Hotel in St. George's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Flamboyant Hotel & Villas 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warmed by the bright Caribbean Sun and genuine Grenadian Hospitality, the Flamboyant Hotel offers an ideal vacation destination. Choose from the comfortable rooms or self-catering studios, one-bedroom suites or two-bedroom cottages, all with air conditioning and vistas of Grand Anse Beach and the lush mountains of Grenada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Otel, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your The Flamboyant Hotel & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Flamboyant Hotel And Villas
Flamboyant Hotel St Georges
The Flamboyant Hotel & Villas Grenada/Saint George Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Flamboyant Hotel & Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;