We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Flamboyant Hotel & Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Flamboyant Hotel & Villas to your Saves list
The Flamboyant Hotel & Villas
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   | Grand Anse Beach, St. George's, Grenada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in St. George's
bali
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Stayed here in November 2012, the room was more of a suite which had a great balcony with a view of Anse Beach. The window to the room was about 2 meteres so was great for making you smile when you saw the beach through same.

I paid 51 dollars a night so was a happy camper and would definetly go back. The pool looked nice and you have an elevated spot to take great pictures. Bed was comfy and room was what you would expect of 4 star.

J

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    220
    68
    23
    10
See reviews for
87
295
41
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Simple Hotel came to Grenada on business for 3 days. Was not expecting much as hotel was booked at the last minute by my Travel Agent. I was pleasantly surprised upon arriving. Cool, comfortable room and large bathroom and the amazing view of Grand Anse Beach and Bay and the Mountains behind St. Georges from balcony. Bathroom is dated. It represents excellent value. Have been to other hotel compounds and which some are very nice but not many have this unique location on the hill. Great for beach holiday as you have beach access by walking down the slope to the left end of Grand Anse Beach. From there you can walk along the entire length of the beach. Breakfast is good dinner less so but there are many places to eat on the island.Room was always kept vey clean.Staff accomodating. Lots of walking uphill; from beach, to room.Very basic but great for a beach vacation. One of the best views on the island I'm sure.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I stay at the Flamboyant for 2 weeks at the end of October beginning of November and and had a very pleasant stay. The rooms were spacious, comfortable and cleaned daily. The staff were on the whole freindly and professional, I say on the whole because I never recieved a couple of messages that was left for me on reception. We stay on a B & B basis and was always able to find something to eat although I felt the range was a bit limiled, we also had a couple of evening meals which were very good although a bit pricey when compared to other place which we ate at. As mentioned on a number of occassions there are a lot of stairs but the compensation was the wonderful views.
I had a great stay and will difinitely be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flambosm, Manager at The Flamboyant Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
We are pleased to know that your stay with us was enjoyed greatly by you and your family. We would also like to extend our sincerest apologies to you in the areas in which we felt short in delivering the best service. Thank you for your feedback and we shall work to ensure you have a perfect stay next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

A hotel where the staff remembers your name.Service is good and you get value for money.A restaurant on site where the food is great.Staff is friendly and always willing to help.A great beach close by and a bar that stays open to very late

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flambosm, Manager at The Flamboyant Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
We appreciate your great review and hope to see you again soon. We are pleased to know that your stay with us was a good experience of which you shared same in this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgetown, Saint Michael, Barbados
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I have been home for 2 weeks and I'm still thinking about the hotel I fell in love instantly I cant wait to go back. The view from our room was sooo beautiful and the room was cleaned everyday,
the steps were no problem for me but they are a lot of them :) The staff are very nice and helpful
the beach is amazing I just fell in love instantly with this hotel and i plan to go back next year.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flambosm, Manager at The Flamboyant Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for such a great review. It gives us great pleasure to know that you had a wonderful experience at our hotel. We appreciate your review and hope to serve you again very soon on your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scot in Manchester
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed for 10 days in a deluxe studio room. It was a short walk downhill to the pool and beach. If you do not want to climb the steps back to your room take the free buggy. Say hello to the tortoises on the way up to your accommodation. The balcony gave us the best view of Grand Anse Beach. The staff were helpful and friendly. Our air conditioning broke down and within 10 minutes of reporting the fault it was fixed. You can take the kayaks and snorkel equipment for free. The Owl Bar is open until 3 am with food available. There is a happy hour from 4 pm to 7 pm and from 11 pm until midnight. Try the manager's rum punch party followed by crab racing on a Monday night. There is a supermarket within 10 minutes walk of the hotel. You can walk on the beach or take the road and watch the multitude of crabs scamper in and out of their holes in the bank. I recommend you take a bus to give a truly local experience.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flambosm, Manager at The Flamboyant Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
We are happy to know that our accommodations and service were to your liking. We truly appreciate your review and are pleased to know that your air conditioning was fixed within a reasonable time and you were able to enjoy your accommodations. Riding the bus really gives a truly local experience to ones trip, and we must agree with your recommendation to other guests. We are extremely glad that your stay with us was a good experience and hope to see you again soon at the Flamboyant Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Having just returned this week from a 12 day stay at this hotel with my wife, I offer the following observations as a seasoned traveller:

We first visited Grenada in 2006, about two years after the island was devasted by Hurricane Ivor, the destruction of which was clearly evident. On that occasion we were on a cruise that called at St George for the best part of a whole. It rained virtually the whole day, but we found it very easy to like the place and people, and decided we would return for a longer stay. We chose the Flamboyant Hotel primarily for its location and reviews from this website.

LOCATION: The hotel occupies a fantastic position at the southern end of Grand Anse Beach. Reception and rooms are in an elevated hillside position overlooking the beach, with restaurant, terrace and bar at beach level. There are 140+ steps from the reception to the beach, although the hotel does offer a golf buggy service for those guests unable to copy with these.

ROOMS: We occupied a deluxe room (slightly large than standard rooms) on the second floor. The room was spacious, adequately furnished but rather tired. The AC was quite powerful but in need of service as the air outlet was clearly broken and did not distribute the flow around the room. However, since we did not spend much time in the room this was not a problem.

There was a reasonable sized balcony with excellent views across the bay to St George and the central mountains beyond.

Room service was inconsistent. We started with two large towels, two small towels and one face flannel. After the room was serviced each day the number of towels being left varied from two to three, with the face flannel not being replaced at all! The room was, however, always properly cleaned every day.

STAFF: Generally smiling and genuinely friendly, but tending to be forgetful and inconsistent in the service they provided - probably something to do with the climate, which rarely falls below 30 degrees.

FOOD & BEVERAGE: We were staying in the low (rainy) season, and so the hotel's full facilities were not in use. Breakfast was in the restaurant each day and consisted of a rather small, though adequate, buffet, with eggs being cooked to order. The restaurant had open shutters (no glass) with views over the sea and was very pleasant.

Since we prefer to have the flexibility of eating in different places our booking was on bed and breakfast basis. However, we did eat in the restaurant on the first night (a Wednesday) and each chose one of two lobster dishes on the al a carte menu (cost EC$ 112). The meal was absolutely fantastic and we were so satisfied with it that (having had lobster withdrawal symptoms for some time) we chose the same dishes on the Saturday night and were totally disappointed; the dishes bore no resemblance to those we had three days earlier and we struggled to find much lobster in them! Lesson learnt - eat somewhere else for dinner.

The Owl beach bar, which was well located on the beach and adjacent to the restaurant, also offered snack menus (e.g., burgers, pizzas, club sandwiches, etc.) which were OK, and could be ordered at virtually any time, from lunch to dinner. The bar also has a fairly comprehensive drinks list with, not surprisingly, rum cocktails being featuring fairly prominently. Local beer (lager) is Carib, which is sold everywhere, with prices ranging around EC$ 4 or 5 a drink in local bars and about double in hotels.

There are endless restaurants in Grenada; apart from the Umbrellas Bar (a pleasant walk along the beach from the Flamboyant) and those detailed in the tourism information literature in the hotel, try the local restaurants in St George - we did, and the food was excellent. Note: Umbrellas beach bar, which is frequented by visitors and locals, offers a good menu with excellent food that includes salads and burgers (approx EC$25), prime ribs, etc..

RECOMMENDATION: Would we stay at the Flamboyant again? Yes definitely. We did stay in the low season and rain was not a problem, being mainly at night with a couple of short daytime showers during our entire stay. We also hired a car for a week and this was made good use of but, if doing this, do buy a proper ordnance survey map and don't rely on the tourist map frequently provided. Driving around was an experience - we rarely had to stop to ask for directions as locals stopped us to tell us we were going the wrong way!

Room Tip: All rooms appear to have sea views. Deluxe rooms are slightly larger than standard ones and seemed t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flambosm, Manager at The Flamboyant Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for choosing the Flamboyant Hotel & Villas on your return to our island. We are happy to hear that you were happy with your stay with us and would return again. We also appreciate that you took the time to bring to our attention areas in which we need to strengthen our service as guest satisfaction is our main priority at the hotel. Hope you enjoyed the best that our island has to offer and looking forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Flamboyant Hotel & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Flamboyant Hotel & Villas

Address: | Grand Anse Beach, St. George's, Grenada
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Grenada > Saint George Parish > St. George's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in St. George's
#3 Spa Hotel in St. George's
#4 Romantic Hotel in St. George's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Flamboyant Hotel & Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warmed by the bright Caribbean Sun and genuine Grenadian Hospitality, the Flamboyant Hotel offers an ideal vacation destination. Choose from the comfortable rooms or self-catering studios, one-bedroom suites or two-bedroom cottages, all with air conditioning and vistas of Grand Anse Beach and the lush mountains of Grenada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, T4B, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Caribbean Online Mgt Corp. so you can book your The Flamboyant Hotel & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Flamboyant Hotel And Villas
Flamboyant Hotel St Georges
The Flamboyant Hotel & Villas Grenada/Saint George Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Flamboyant Hotel & Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.