We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well Kept Comfortable Cottages” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Horizons Garden Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Blue Horizons Garden Resort to your Saves list
Blue Horizons Garden Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Grand Anse, St. George's 00000, Grenada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in St. George's
Pittsburg, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Well Kept Comfortable Cottages”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Nice Little Cottages With Kitchenettes And A Great Pool. Very Friendly Staff And An Easy Walk To Many Places And Easy Bus Access As Well Perfect Little Verandah For Hanging Out On Front Of Each Cottage!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    57
    15
    6
    0
See reviews for
21
87
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork,Ireland
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Blue Horizons is not a pristine,All-Inclusive,elegant expensive beach resort and that's exactly why we liked this property.
Tucked away a short walk from the beach and hidden amongst palm tress and lush vegetation it's peaceful and quiet.
Management kindly upgraded us to a superior room with sea views - plenty of room with a small kitchen area and a great balcony.
It's slightly dated with a noisy and leaking A/C unit and the bare minimum of utensils in the kitchen with no cleaning products or cloths but this didn't affect our overall impression of Room 20 which was very positive.
A big plus was the use of facilities at the much swankier Spice Island Beach Resort,namely a good computer room with free internet, a pool and sunbeds and umbrellas on the beach.
We didn't use the pool which looked okay but quiet and only had breakfast once which was fine.
Overall we enjoyed Blue Horizons very much - the staff are friendly and helpful without being intrusive - and it represented excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Higher is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley Forge, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

The rooms are spotlessly clean and have nice balconies. The staff is very attentive and always helpful. We mostly ate out but there are kitchenettes in the rooms that are fully equiped. We stayed in room 18. A few stairs but near the pool and away from any noise.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We just spent a relaxing 11 nights at the Blue Horizons Garden Resort. We opted for a B&B option, and would recommend the tasty nutmeg and cinnamon pancakes and fruit plate. Staff at breakfast were friendly, but depending who was working, sometimes the service could be a little slow and/or things got forgotten.
The accommodation was very comfortable and spacious, and was cleaned every day. It was very useful to have a kitchen area, as when we weren't exploring the island, we could come back and have lunch under the shade of the veranda (the nearby supermarket is quite expensive, as we found food to generally be). There were loads of birds in the garden to watch, including the apparently elusive dove - which we saw quite a lot of! The only downside of not having the kitchen in a separate room, was the fridge could be rather noisy at night.
The pool area was often quiet and a nice fruit punch could be bought from the poolside bar! There was a BBQ there, but we never saw it used - it would have been a nice option one evening or weekend lunchtime.
We ate at the hotel's restaurant on two evenings - the food was good and compared to other hotel restaurants in the area, more reasonably priced.
Grand Anse beach is a short walk away, and is lovely and very uncrowded. We very much enjoyed Umbrellas for tasty, reasonably priced 'bar food' which is just along the beach.
The hotel organised 4 day car hire and we would recommend exploring the island - particularly the East coast and the national park.
A thoroughly enjoyable stay, and we would definitely recommend it to others.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villa Grove, Illinois
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

This is a more pricey place to stay in Grenada, BUT, the grounds are beautiful and the rooms are very nice, with nice patios! The pool is beautiful, the restaurant, very nice! I thought from the ad for the blue horizon, you are closer to the beach, but it isn't a bad walk. It is located close to the Mall, and IGA grocery store to get supplies. We liked it!
It was our 35th anniversary and when we arrived they had the most beautiful island flowers for us! THANK YOU! They also gave us a complimentary dinner! The staff here goes above and beyond to make it a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: If you want closest walk to the grand anse beach ask for a room above the police department!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We chose this resort for the layout i.e. bungalows scattered throughout the tropical gardens, because we wanted peace and relaxation and that is certainly what we got.

We stayed in No. 13 !! which was a deluxe suite, with enormous bed and very well appointed. There are facilities for self catering but we chose to eat in the restaurant. Our accommodation was in an elevated position, which we liked and we enjoyed sitting on the balcony first thing in the morning and having drinks there when we returned at the end of the day.

It seems that most people who stayed here were self catering because the most people in the restaurant at any time was ten. Breakfasts were delicious. Fresh fruit plates to be recommended. Pancakes with nutmeg syrup with perfectly cooked bacon on the side a 'must have'. There was a good choice for evening meals and the view from the restaurant was special.

The staff were always very friendly and helpful.

The entire island is unspoilt and not at all 'touristy'. The beautiful Grand Anse beach is five minutes walk away and comparatively deserted. We accessed it via the Spice Island resort, who provided us with loungers.

The area round the swimming pool was also very quiet and not used a great deal.

If you are wanting to have a truly relaxing holiday in a little bit of paradise this is the place to go.

Would recommend taking the organised tour round the island which was extremely interesting and informative - particularly the Rivers rum distillery. Quite and eye opener to say the least. Make your own way into town using the local transport which is efficient and cheap.

Downside? Because of the location of this resort, it should be pointed out that there are several steps up to the restaurant (about 30 on two levels) and some of the accommodation is elevated with a lot of steps. For us it was not a problem but rather added to the privacy. Service in the restaurant was often slow - more so in the evening but everything else was perfect.

We would definitely recommend this resort and this island.

Room Tip: Ask for accommodation on a lower level if you have fitness/mobility problems
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed here in late February for 11 nights. Our first reaction to our accomodation was that it is quite shabby and dated. The kitchen area is very basic and the sliding wardrobes kept coming off their rails and plug in the basin wouldn't stay in but the place grew on us very quickly. The staff were lovely and gave great service. The restaurant was good.The whole resort is spotlessly clean and it is in a great spot. Access to the beautiful beach via Spice Island resort was perfect and it gave me a buzz that we were lying on loungers on the beach near to Spice Island guests that were paying four times what we were albeit theirs was all inclusive.We had the benefit of eating out in a variety of great restaurants on the island which were mostly very good value. An easy and safe place to have a holiday. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Horizons Garden Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Horizons Garden Resort

Address: Grand Anse, St. George's 00000, Grenada
Location: Caribbean > Grenada > Saint George Parish > St. George's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in St. George's
#7 On the Beach Hotel in St. George's
#8 Family Hotel in St. George's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Horizons Garden Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our resort is located on the picturesque South West Coast of Grenada, in 6 1/4 acres of beautiful tropical gardens. The world-renowned Grand Anse beach is only 300 yards from the resort and just 4 miles from the airport, with the colourful and vibrant capital of St. George is only 5 miles away. We offer you luxurious self catering accommodations in two different categories, a friendly staff, and one of Grenada's finest restaurants, La Belle Creole. Swim in our freshwater pool, enjoy a cool drink at the poolside bar, or relax in the lounge with a good book. We are Green Globe Certified and home to 21 species of birds and 49 moths. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Blue Horizons Garden Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Horizons Garden Hotel St. George`s
Blue Horizons Garden Resort Grenada/Saint George Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Horizons Garden Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.