We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Horizons Garden Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Blue Horizons Garden Resort to your Saves list
Blue Horizons Garden Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Grand Anse, St. George's 00000, Grenada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in St. George's
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

This self catering set of apartments is set in lovely lush gardens. The apartments are all self contained. The upper ones have sea views (beach a 5 in walk away) but plenty of stairs as well. The apartments are spacious with everything you need for a comfortable stay including air con, fridge freezer, towels provided, balcony, coffee maker. There is ice in the freezer and cold water in the fridge. A daily maid cleans up and provides fresh towels when required. There is a good restaurant, pool side bar shutting 6 ish and pool area. The best thing about the place is the attention from the staff at reception. Nothing is too much trouble. They provide the attention you would expect in a 5 star hotel and were lovely and friendly making the stay very special. Cashing money is no problem at reception. Any ideas for excursions and they will phone around for you at no extra charge and arrange a trip after consulting you again with all the options available. The place feels safe and relaxed and I let my children roam about freely. It's a sister hotel to the local 5 star Spice Island resort and use of sun loungers on the beach is provided by the hotel. Also drinks at Spice Island are at a 10% discount for those staying at Blue Horizons.
All in all it was amazing value for money. The prices are such that I was surprised how comfortable it is. The kids loved it. It is a quiet resort and we were often the only people at the pool, so if you want more action then it would not suit you but we loved it.
Highly recommended, very convenient (10 mins airport) and excellent value for money.

Room Tip: If want to avoid stairs ask for a low one. For great views get a high one. We were in 23 and the vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    58
    15
    6
    0
See reviews for
21
87
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Longmont
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Serendipity brought us to Blue Horizons during our stay on Grenada and we couldn't have been happier that it did. The staff is courteous, quite helpful, going the extra mile to make certain your visit won't be your last. The rooms are clean, with lots of amenities and the kitchens are well-appointed with all you'll need for your stay. Be sure to have a meal or two at the on-site restaurant as well though, because the food is delicious. I especially loved the callaloo souffle I had on New Years Eve, or as they say in Grenada, Old year's Day.

The grocery store and buses to St. Georges are a short walk away. And if you opt for one of the apartments a little ways up the hill, and don't mind the steps, you'll be greatly rewarded with a breathtaking view of Grand Anse Beach. From our aerie we watched the fireworks on New Years Eve. Sitting on the balcony, we could see fireworks from four different locations up and down the coast.

Speaking of the great beach, it's only a short walk away and accessed through it's sister resort Spice Island which is also loaded with restaurants and stores. Chaises are available on the beach for guests of Blue Horizon.

We'll definitely be going back to Grenada and Blue Horizons. They quite literally saved our trip from being a complete disaster. Once we got there the rest of our visit ended up being fabulous because of their courteous and helpful service.

Room Tip: Go up the hill if you can do the steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, GA
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

The wife and I really like this resort. It is very unhotel like with 32 rooms spread out in small pods across 7 acres. Not on the beach but a 5 minute walk, Not furnished like the Ritz Carlton but clean and comfortable with good beds.
At the beach you get to use the facilities of Spice Island Resort (where they charge $500+ a night) so you have lounge chairs etc. We also walked over at night to have a beer and listen to the bands M/W/F.
Convienient to transportation. A five minute wak to "bus stop". The same to IGA market.
Large rooms 600 sq feet +/- with a sleeping area and kitchen/livingroom. Terraces that are private. We sit outside in the morning and watch the almost daily arrival of a cruise ship some miles way.
Great staff taking care of you. Lovely office staff. Hillory cleaned our room daily. She also did the kitchen cleanup if we cooked in the room. She is absolutely lovely.
Lovely pool. Usually there are only one or two other couples at the very large, very clean pool. Poolside bar is always staffed. Jeffry and Paloma do a great job and will fix a drink to your liking or bring you a meal/snack poolside.
The only downside is,like most hotels not directly on the beach on Grenada, it is built into a hillside and there are many steps to some of the rooms which are high up to get the view of the beach and St. George in the distance.
Best recommendation is that we plan on being there for a few weeks again next year.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stumbled across Blue Horizon accidentally, after a bad experience with a vacation rental. The owners and staff worked tirelessly to take care of all of our travel needs. The grounds are beautiful, the view is amazing, and it is just a short walk to a powder sugar beach. The resort is located conveniently to get easy access to all of the islands main attractions. The rooms are clean, attractively decorated, with well appointed kitchens. The food at the restaurants, too was fabulous. Oh, and at the pool bar, they pour a very generous rum punch!! We will definitely bee back. For a delightful, resort, well situated for beach and sightseeing, look no further--you've found the place. Blue Horizons exceeded our expectations

Room Tip: The rooms higher up the hill command a great view of Grand Anse and St. George.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Our second trip here and it was just as good as the first. The villas are simple but well furnished and have everything you need. It is kept beautifully clean and is very safe.

The staff are friendly and helpful in all parts of the hotel. The pool area is quiet but gets sun all day and is the perfect place to relax. The drinks in the pool bar are good (especially the rum punch!) and the food is well priced and tasty.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambs
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I stayed here on my honeymoon in November for a week and the staff were attententive, the accommodation was very comfortable and fully equipped and the food was exceptional.
This is a family run property, not some faceless organisation, so the staff and the owners make a huge effort to cater to you and your needs. The accommodation for our honeymoon had been closed down just a few days prior to leaving the UK and Blue Horizons kindly offered us an all inclusive option. This isn't actively promoted as it is predominantly a self catering site, however I urge you to take a night off and eat La Belle Creole, their restaurant. Andy, the chef has a real talent - the food was fresh, a la carte standard, and some of the best food I have had. I was always disappointed that I could only ever manage 2 of the 5 courses! The pool bar menu at lunch time was equally generous and well presented.
If there is one thing missing from this lovely resort - it's atmosphere. Don't get me wrong, I am not looking for nightclubs and loud music, but an opportunity for guests to socialise in-house would be a nice touch. Maybe cocktails or BBQ by the pool one evening.

Arnold, your staff and your accommodation are a credit to you and your chef is a huge asset. Thank you.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berkshire, england
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Just arrived back in the UK to rain and a 20 deg temperature difference from Grenada where we had a great holiday staying at the Blue Horizons for 11 nights.

Our expectations were exceeded and we had an excellent experience at the Blue Horizons.

We wanted the freedom of a room only arrangement and we had a lovely room up some steps with a fantastic view over the gardens and across to St.Georges.

What made our stay most enjoyable was the wonderful attitude of the staff who seemed more like members of a big happy family than employees. This helped create a very relaxing atmoshere and really made you feel like a valued guest with the personal touch and good humour throughout.

Despin on reception was fantastic and we enjoyed many stories about our hiking expeditions, bus rides and driving experiences on the island. Stephen on Security was also good fun and Jeff and Monica in the bar and restaurant. I'm sorry I can't remember all the names of this great team of people.

We had dinner in the Creolle restaurant on 4 occasions and the food was really good and very reasonably priced and the restaraunt very comfortable with a nice view over the gardens and St Georges.

The facilities at the hotel were also very good. A/C and ceiling fans in the rooms, cable tv (not that we watched it), room safe and a simple kitchen with fridge freezer, cooker etc. Plenty of clean towels including beach towels and clean linen and the place kept spotlessly clean by the maid.

Our terrace had a lovely view of the gardens with a mango tree right outside and plenty of flowers which were visited by numerous birds and butterflies. The highlight being the small black hummingbird.

We also took advantage of the pool and the complimentary non-powered water sports at Aquanuts on the beach.

Getting into town was easy with a 5 minute walk to the Number 1 bus on the main road. EC$2.50 to St Georges. Other locations via the bus station in St Georges.

5 minute walk to the local supermarket open 7 days a week and with an ATM.

Blue Horizons also helped arranged a rental car for us for 4 days.

Other points to mention. Take a 10-15 min stroll up the road to Quarantine Point (fishing off the rocks) and also to Morn Rouge (lovely beach/bay).

Great holiday and loved Blue Horizons and we plan to return in 2013.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Horizons Garden Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Horizons Garden Resort

Address: Grand Anse, St. George's 00000, Grenada
Location: Caribbean > Grenada > Saint George Parish > St. George's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in St. George's
#8 Family Hotel in St. George's
#8 On the Beach Hotel in St. George's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Horizons Garden Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our resort is located on the picturesque South West Coast of Grenada, in 6 1/4 acres of beautiful tropical gardens. The world-renowned Grand Anse beach is only 300 yards from the resort and just 4 miles from the airport, with the colourful and vibrant capital of St. George is only 5 miles away. We offer you luxurious self catering accommodations in two different categories, a friendly staff, and one of Grenada's finest restaurants, La Belle Creole. Swim in our freshwater pool, enjoy a cool drink at the poolside bar, or relax in the lounge with a good book. We are Green Globe Certified and home to 21 species of birds and 49 moths. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Otel, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Blue Horizons Garden Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Horizons Garden Hotel St. George`s
Blue Horizons Garden Resort Grenada/Saint George Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Horizons Garden Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.