We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Horizons Garden Resort

Save Saved
You added Blue Horizons Garden Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blue Horizons Garden Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Grand Anse, St. George's 00000, Grenada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 23 hotels in St. George's
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

Although I was born I Grenada,when I visit I prefer to stay in self catering accomadation and the Blue Horizon fits the bill perfectly, I can visit my family,cook in my studio apartment,dine out in the many local restaurants or in the Blue Horizon's own Belle Creole.
It also has a nice pool with a pool bar and plenty of sun beds with shaded areas for those who prefer not to lie in the sun.
The staff are courteous,friendly and very helpful and any problems you may have is dealt with straight away with the utmost professionalism.
The location is ideal for easy access to Grand Ans beach,the local shopping mall and public transport to St Georges.
I have stayed at the Blue Horizon twice, once in 2010 and just recently( October 2012) I will most certainly
be staying there again and will most certainly recommend it to family and friends.
Jeamie Downes-Afzaal

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    81
    56
    15
    6
    0
See reviews for
20
87
2
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshire, UK
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We've just returned from a week away in the Caribbean having stayed at the Blue Horizons resort. We found it was perfect for us and offered the ideal blend between dining in and eating out. So, if you're looking for a holiday where everything is done for you and you're happy to eat in the same place every day, this place probably isn't what you're looking for. But, if you've got a more adventurous mind, enjoy a bit of flexibility as to your living and dining arrangements and are likely to get out of the resort and visit other places on the island, I would recommend this place very highly.

We stayed at the resort on a bed & breakfast basis where the main reason for our visit was to enjoy a diving holiday in the warm waters of the Caribbean Sea (and a cheeky visit to the slightly more frisky waters of the Atlantic!). But we wanted to get out and about and see the true Grenada too, and we did this by hiring a 4x4 for a couple of days. All the diving we did was courtesy of the local Aquanauts dive centre located a short walk from the resort (and a fantastic set up it was too!!) and we chose to do all our diving on the 2-dive morning boat that was run from Grand Anse beach. The apartment we booked was a Deluxe Bungalow (the mid-level of the three types of accomodation offered) and was equipped with two Queen sized beds, a bathroom and a kitchen area. So, it had everything needed to enjoy the week.

The beds were extremely comfortable with great mattresses. There were enough pillows for us and the beds had crisp clean sheets, pillow cases and light duvets (important as we had the air-conditioning going through the night). One of the beds is located underneath the window, the other next to a two-door wardrobe fitted with a wall mounted safe and equipped with an ironing board and small iron (though we didn't use that!). The air-con unit is wall mounted above the wardrobe and did mean the bed beneath it was kept a bit cooler, but the bedding was sufficient to ensure you were kept warm enough (we kept the temperature at 20 degrees C).

The bathroom was a little tired and could do with a bit of a lift but was kept clean and tidy. It was fitted with a toilet with a dual-flush facility to save water, a wash basin with overhead vanity light and a large shower tray with curtain. I think I'm right in saying that each bungalow has a solar heating unit on the roof with a storage tank, but we found we had enough hot water when we needed it. Towels were changed on an as-you-want-to-change-them basis (daily if you wanted, but we did every 3 days) and included a face cloth, hand towel and bath towel. The resort also supplied two beach towels to use away from the hotel and we had three towels each during the week. The bathroom was fitted with a small window fitted with a fly-screen and a small Roman blind for privacy.

The kitchen was equipped with a large refrigerator, small freezer, 4-ring gas hob and gas oven and had a decent selection of pots and pans - there was an all-important box of safety matches for lighting the hob too. There was sufficient cutlery for 4 people and a number of knives and other tools to prepare food. There was a plastic chopping board, a small toaster, coffee machine and kettle and a number of plastic utensils. All in all, it was pretty well equipped but we would have liked to have seen a grater too. There was crockery for 4 place settings and a number of different glasses for juice, long drinks and wine. The resort ask you to recycle anything compostable, so there were two bins beneath the sink for any organic waste in one and all other waste in the other - the island is simply too small for realistic recycling the we may normally be accustomed to. The one thing that we were slightly disappointed at having to purchase was a bottle of washing-up liquid and a washing-up sponge/scourer, but the kitchen was otherwise very well stocked with sufficient space for storing groceries. There was a small glass-topped table with two chairs for dining at.

There was a living area with a two-seat sofa - which was claimed to be a fold-out bed but we didn't need to use and so didn't try! There was one additional chair and a small table with a lamp on it, and a wooden unit with a decent sized television in it. The television picks up a variety of channels and we were able to find something to watch most of the time we wanted to. There's also a coffee table to put your drinks on in front of the sofa. It was comfortable enough and served us well.

We enjoyed a wonderful view from the balcony area, which was accessed through the sliding doors from the living area and was fitted with a pair of chairs and a samll table. We had a fantastic view out across the gardens in the resort and over the sea and also enjoyed a great view of the peaks further inland. For anyone intending to do water sports in Grenada the balcony was a great place for drying towels, swimwear of dive gear etc.

We visited the island during low-season and occupancy during our stay was reflective of that. A number of people have remarked on the helpfulness of staff but we had no such issues. The bungalow was cleaned without fail every day, the reception was always staffed and very helpful - they hired us a 4x4 when we needed it, supplied us with any information we wanted, arranged for a taxi to take us into St George's (a big thank you to Mr Elmus Bruno on that point for being a good source of information and a genuine Caribbean gentleman and character!), made any resevrations we asked for and allowed us a late check-out for our evening flight. They were always polite, well presented and happy to talk to us.

The resort describes itself as a garden resort and this is due to its location in a little over 6 acres of extremely well maintained gardens. They are alive with an abundance of local vegetation and home to a variety of bird life. The gardens added to a sense of living on a Caribbean island rather than being situated on a beach - my own experience of beaches is that a beach is like a beach is like a beach!

The resort offers the La Belle Creole restaurant for paying customers and other visitors alike. We dined there for breakfast and dinner on a couple of occasions. The restaurant was well presented and comfortable with great views over the gardens and out into St George's. It wasn't well used during our stay, but don't forget we were there in low-season. We spoke with staff who said that it is usually packed during the high season and you'd be well advised to book in advance even as a resident. The food we enjoyed was fabulous, well presented and very tasty. There was an ample selection of wines to choose from and you can enjoy a cocktail while you peruse the menu. The menu was sufficiently varied that there's something for eveyone and this equally applied at breakfast.

To conclude the review of the facilities, the resort offers a small swimming pool and bar area with a small play area for those with kids. There was a shopping centre with a large supermarket about 300 metres down the road and the resort is located within walking distance of most local amenities.

We both agreed that the Blue Horizons Garden Resort hit all the high notes that helped us enjoy a relaxed stay in Grenada and offered us the flexibility to enjoy a variety of different experiences. It doesn't offer you the 5-star all inclusive options that are very important to some travellers - for this you would need to visit the resorts sister at the Spice Island resort (the two venues are owned by two brothers). We enjoyed dinner at Oliver's restaurant at the Spice Island and thoroughly enjoyed delightful dining and service from very well trained staff. The difference in what the two resorts offer is reflected in the respective tariffs though.

I would thoroughly recommend a visit to this beautiful Caribbean country - home to Kirani James, who won Grenada's first ever Olympic gold medal in the London 2012 games - and would encourage visitors to hire a 4x4 to get out and visit the true Grenada which exists away from the tourist-oriented south west corner of the island - we drove around pretty much all of the island and stopped off at a number of top spots over the course of a couple of days. I would equally recommend getting out into St George's to try dining at some of the local restaurants - we had a great evening at BB's Crabback restaurant - to get a feel for true Grenadian cuisine. Grenada is a great place with very friendly people and you simply have to go and see it for yourself......

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margate, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Just arrived home from two weeks of bliss at the Blue Horizon Garden Resort.
Why "garden" you may wonder... well the cottages are set sparingly amongst a multitude of trees, plants and grass areas to such an extent that it is like a garden that just happens to have some rooms. Great. Full of birds and various lizards if you keep your eyes open. The rooms are spacious and well laid out with everything you might need in the kitchen. Beds super comfy and large, spacious balcony with a lovely view towards St George's.
Bathroom fair sized with shower over bath, plenty of room and nice towels inc beach towels.
House keeping done daily to a high standard. Now onto he reception staff, I cannot praise them enough, nothing was too much trouble whether it was changing money or imparting local information. Several times we enquired about a trip or taxi and they immediately set about ringing round for availability/prices. They just couldn't have made us more welcome. THANKS A MILLION GIRLS.
Thanks all at Blue Horizons.

We will be going back as soon as can.

Room Tip: Some rooms up quite a few steps but better views from balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

Just ending a 10 day holiday at Blue Horizons in a twin bed deluxe suite ( room 29 - great view of the bay !) with kitchenette and have to say its excellent. The cottage is finished to a very high standard, good quality linen and towels, very comfy beds and it's immaculately clean. The pool area is lovely... spacious ,well maintained and quiet and the cottages are set in  tropical gardens.

It's literally a 3 minute walk to get onto the beach and a 4 minute walk to the supermarket.

The staff are charming and helpful "Can you recommend a car hire company ? " I asked - the answer " Yes , shall I phone them for you and would you like it delivered  here at 9 am tomorrow ?" The car hire rates were good ( I checked the competition ) and they collect the car too afterwards. Thanks Maria on reception !  

The rooms are cleaned daily / fresh towels / beds turned down etc .....and the only noise is the sound of the birds. What's not to like ?!

Also - free wifi in the rooms and pool area , free room safes , beach towels supplied.

Our choice was between this and The Flamboyant and I'm glad we stayed here .... even though the Flamboyant is "on the beach" the rooms are located way up the hill and across a road so it's probably no quicker to get to the beach from there anyway. Flamboyant also looks a bit like a holiday village .... Blue Horizons feels more  private.

I'd recommend this to anyone and if I come back to Grenada I'll stay here again.

Geoff.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

The setting is gorgeous - suites on a hill, with view of mountains, city, and ocean. The rooms are spacious, and beautifully and tastefully decorated. The restaurant is meant to be one of the best around, again with a wonderful lookout. The pool is small but the beach is a 5-minute walk away, to the posh sister resort. Supermarket and a range of eating options are about a 10-minute walk away. So what's the problem. Uneven service. Very nice front desk not backed up by other services, so promises aren't always delivered. Yes, can open for early breakfast, but service takes forever, after wrong menus are presented, and it's a rush to get to an appointment. Late taxi not followed up until 3 calls later. Internet wobbles. Lighting too dark where the desk is. Service directory asks you to do everything via the front desk, but it would seem more efficient to provide more information, like phone numbers for taxis. If you don't need to hangout at a beach, this is definitely good value. But for a business trip, a bit more certainty and predictability would be helpful.

Room Tip: suites 21 and 22 have the best outlooks with a drive way that come right close to the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed for three days at the Blue Horizons Resort as we were attending a wedding at the nearby Spice Island (owned by the same person). The staff were very helpful, the bungalow we were in had everything we needed, the food at the restaurant was very good. You can also make use of many of the facilities at Spice Island (though we did not do this ourselves). The resort is only 10 minutes from the airport and similar from St George's, the capital, so well placed for travelling around. Because of the short time that we had we did not go on any organised trips, but we did hire a car (we recommend J&B) which was very useful. Grenada is pretty easy to drive around, though there are few direction signs, but don't be afraid to ask directions, people are used to this and very helpful.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueHorizonsGrenada, Owner at Blue Horizons Garden Resort, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank your taking the time to write such a lovely review. We are pleased to learn that your short stay on the island was a good one and that our team met your expectations. It is our hope that you are able to return one day for a longer stay and further enjoy what our beautiful island has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallingford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We travelled to Grenada in January 2012 and stayed for 2 weeks at the Blue Horizons Garden Resort.

The little bungalow we stayed in with a sitting room/kitchen separate to the bedroom was the perfect set-up for us as we were travelling with our one year old daughter - we were able to cook tea for her and then put her to bed while we ate supper in our kitchen or on the veranda.

The grounds are lovely including the swimming pool and it is very peaceful - just the sound of hundred of birds chattering and visiting us on the veranda while we ate breakfast.

Our daughter broke her leg on the second day of our holiday and the staff were very helpful, especially the owner Arnold, who organised for a doctor to visit us at the resort. They bought our daughter a present to cheer her up and another on her first birthday a week later, and were very kind to us throughout our holiday.

We often spent the day at the beach at the Spice Island Hotel (a very short walk from Blue Horizons) where we used their sailing boats (free of charge) and ate lunch a few times - expensive but good!

We also hired a car for about a week to explore the island which was great fun. Grenada is a beautiful island - really lush and green, especially in the north - and we felt so safe, even walking to restaurants at night. We've had very different experiences on other Caribbean islands and this was a very pleasant surprise.

Thank you Blue Horizons for a memorable holiday - in more ways than one! We would love to return one day but are about to have another baby in September so it may be a while!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueHorizonsGrenada, Owner at Blue Horizons Garden Resort, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are pleased to learn that we met your expectations and that your holiday, besides your little one being hurt, turned out to be most enjoyable and memorable. On behalf of the management and staff at Blue Horizons, we would like to wish you and your family warm congratulations on your new addition.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Horizons Garden Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Horizons Garden Resort

Address: Grand Anse, St. George's 00000, Grenada
Location: Caribbean > Grenada > Saint George Parish > St. George's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in St. George's
#7 On the Beach Hotel in St. George's
#8 Family Hotel in St. George's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Horizons Garden Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our resort is located on the picturesque South West Coast of Grenada, in 6 1/4 acres of beautiful tropical gardens. The world-renowned Grand Anse beach is only 300 yards from the resort and just 4 miles from the airport, with the colourful and vibrant capital of St. George is only 5 miles away. We offer you luxurious self catering accommodations in two different categories, a friendly staff, and one of Grenada's finest restaurants, La Belle Creole. Swim in our freshwater pool, enjoy a cool drink at the poolside bar, or relax in the lounge with a good book. We are Green Globe Certified and home to 21 species of birds and 49 moths. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Expedia, Otel, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Blue Horizons Garden Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Horizons Garden Hotel St. George`s
Blue Horizons Garden Resort Grenada/Saint George Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Horizons Garden Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.