We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent even for the under 70's and with Children!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spice Island Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Spice Island Beach Resort to your Saves list
Spice Island Beach Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Grand Anse Beach | P.O. Box 6, St. George's 00000, Grenada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in St. George's
Galashiels, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Excellent even for the under 70's and with Children!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This was our second trip to Spice Island and we enjoyed it just as much, if not more than the first time we travelled there.

This time we took out children 12 and 18 (who were told well in advance that it would be swimming, lounging, reading, eating followed by more of the same). They too enjoyed their stay.

The staff remembered us and those who were new or did not meet us last time were quick to know our names and acknowledge us.

We stayed in adjoining Sea Grape Suites (5&6) which were on the opposite side to our last stay, they were just as good, just as clean and just as well appointed.

We absolutely loved our stay again this time, the mini bar staff were quick to respond to my request for the mini bar. It was topped up daily and the ice topped up twice daily.

Our daughter (12) spent most of the time in the pool and used the kids club, although as it was out of term time there weren't many children there. Each night she took a DVD from reception back to the room after dinner to watch while we had a couple of post dinner drinks in the bar.

The food as usual was fantastic, there wasn't a night any of us were unable to have something we liked from the menu, likewise for lunch and breakfast, we only once had afternoon tea and that was one of the days we missed lunch through being out on a tour of the island. Out daughter was able to utilise the children's menu as well as the option of the full menu.

I cannot comment much on the previous reviews saying the place was boring or that the alcohol was given with contempt - but only to say - this was clearly not the 18-30 holiday they were expecting. There is entertainment but it is low key and unobtrusive and is not on every night, the food and the alcohol sufficed us (and we are Scottish!) but this resort is not one for lively nightlife and drunken daylife, it is a place to come, relax and unwind in an elegant manor. We are in our mid (low mid) 30s and completely enjoyed the relaxation and elegance this resort offers.

There are beach vendors who do pass by, a polite no thank you usually suffices, some do stop to chat but out of politeness, resort patrons are encouraged to go to the local market along the beach to buy from the beach vendors.

The gym is well equipped and was well used on our trip, also the water sports centre at the edge of the resort was well geared up for snorkelling and sailing.

Cant wait to return!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    406
    49
    9
    16
    0
See reviews for
91
303
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

I just returned from a wonderful 10 day stay at this luxurious resort. This resort was highly recommended by friends who have stayed there in the past, primarily because they had received world class service. My experience was no different, it far exceeded my expectations.The staff including members of Management all remembered me by name even after a few days of being there. My compliments to the chef, whose culinary expertise was well displayed and the food was tasty, breakfast, lunch and dinner, all on par with some of the best restaurants that I've eaten at in the US. I especially loved the local cuisine.

The room was spacious with all the appointments and amenities one could ask for in a five star resort. Hats off to the housekeeping staff who attended to my room twice a day.

The icing on the cake was being entertained by the owner, Sir Royston Hopkin and his family at his home. This was a treat for me and all the other guests at the resort, a step up from the usual managers cocktails that I've attended at other resorts.

This Resort has been by far the best ever that I have stayed at. I highly recommend it and cannot wait to return in the future.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Perfection. All-inclusive week (Sea Grape Suite). Resort is extremely clean (no bugs), food menu changed every night, live music every other night, cool towels & drinks offered at the beach, nice long beach to walk along, beautiful warm pool… I want to go back. If you are young and wild this is not for you. If you want to really relax and be spoiled, Spice Island Beach Resort is a great choice. (Nonstop from JFK airport!! to see beautiful sunsets) Impressed:from the beautiful reception upon arrival, to the friendly sincere smiles during departure. Beach front room had everything, AC, WIFI, TV, electric adapters, nicely furnished-even on the patio. The staff is very professional, friendly, showing detail to make a very comfortable stay. Only wish that the pool Jacuzzi worked better.

Room Tip: Looking from the beach, I liked the right side. better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamesville
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Family vacation for a week in February. Great spot, great food, great service and a perfect place to get away during the winter. Americans have not discovered this wonderful resort...mostly British and not alot of young people for sure but the rooms on the beach are luxurious and peaceful. Would not recommend the golf although my son and I had lots of fun. The snorkling was okay but not the best. Grenada is a beautiful island and very safe but the one day excursion was surely enough. The local "vendors" on the beach can be a bit of a bother at times but Grand Anse is one of the best beaches in the Carribean. Would definitely come back again.

Room Tip: make sure you are on the beach and close to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Having just returned from a fantastic holiday at Spice Island Hotel, I would like to say what a superb place this is. The staff are very friendly and cannot do enough for you. It certainly lives up to its name, superb food and plenty of good booze. The Sea Grape Suites are wonderful. right on the beach with everything you need.
The service in the dining room is first class and the food was fabulous. You need to go a long way to beat this lovely place. I cannot understand why some people are not happy with the holiday

Room Tip: I would go for the Sea Grape Suites nearest the swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yoxall, Staffordshire
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

This was our honeymoon and we couldn`t have chosen a better place ! The hotel is in a wonderful location and the Sea Grape Beach Suites are superb; the Caribbean Sea is yards from the patio doors. The excellent Grand Anse beach completes the scenario. Service is the best I`ve had in a hotel; extremely professional ( ladies served first, serve from the left, clear from the right). Cocktails are varied and very good, food superb and a very good menu, both lunchtimes and for the evening meal. Staff are excellent ( special mention to Swanie, Karen and Wilton ) Nighttime entertainment was not brilliant and seemed to cater for the older couples that were there ( of which there was quite a few ) However, at least we didn`t have to suffer people drinking too much ! Yes the hotel is quiet but there is a gym and tennis court on site, St George`s isn`t far away and a trip to the rain forest and a nutmeg factory should be on the agenda.

Room Tip: Sea Grape Beach Suite !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Have just returned from the Spice Island Resort, home on 7/5/13. Have we any quibbles? Just one :- Please do not put bathroom scales in room!!! Cruel. We had a fabulous time and we are under 70. Not just under 70! We stayed for 15 nights and found almost everything to our liking. Almost? The younger element, 8-40 somethings thought all inclusive means drink till you drop and include every one else in your pleasure. Drunk and brainless by 5.00 pm is not everyones idea of a great holiday. On the plus side :- Yes there is some room for improvement and this Autumn there will be a major refurbishment of the areas some have complained about. Dining room and bar and many of the rooms and the Spa. We found the meals to be excellent but then we do not eat till we drop. The best of all is that Sir Royston and his family are very hands on and the staff are probably the best we have met in any Caribbean resort. To date we have visited the area annually over the past 15 years. Yes we will be returning next year.

Room Tip: Do not miss out on the Spa. Top quality, but not cheap, massage treatments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Spice Island Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spice Island Beach Resort

Address: Grand Anse Beach | P.O. Box 6, St. George's 00000, Grenada
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Grenada > Saint George Parish > St. George's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in St. George's
#2 Top resorts Hotel in St. George's
#3 Business Hotel in St. George's
#3 Luxury Hotel in St. George's
#3 Spa Hotel in St. George's
#3 On the Beach Hotel in St. George's
#4 Family Hotel in St. George's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Spice Island Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paradise Re-Imagined. Owned and operated by Sir Royston Hopkin, KCMG and Family, this 64 suite Spice Island Beach Resort recreates its original elegance with a modern flair on Grenada’s breathtaking Grand Anse Beach. Sixteen hundred feet of powder white sand captivatingly frames 32 beachfront suites featuring indoor living rooms, breezy exterior terraces and private rock gardens. Graceful architecture complemented by new colours and exquisite furnishings make this award-winning resort even more exclusive. Presiding over these golden sands are the Cinnamon and Saffron Suites. Unmatched in elegance each of these One Bedroom Suites captures the spice scented breezes with lazy hammocks on private patios. Custom-furnished, and available as two bedrooms when booked with a Sea Grape Beach Suite, this is a beach lover’s dream. Seventeen additional pool suites have their own private swimming pools and gardens steps away from the ocean. The Royal Collection, Luxury Almond and Anthurium Pool suites are all private oasis that offer the guest an intimate experience like no other. All suites are equipped with modern luxuries like Flat Screen Televisions, Italian Frette™ Linen, Molton Brown® amenities and ensuite bathrooms featuring whirlpool tubs and double vanities it is little wonder that this tranquil haven continues to be a treasured secret amongst the travel elite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Spice Island Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spice Island Beach Hotel St. George`s
Spice Island Grenada
Hotel Spice Island Beach
Spice Island Beach Resort Grenada/Saint George Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spice Island Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.