We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise revisited and no buts!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spice Island Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Spice Island Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Spice Island Beach Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Grand Anse Beach | P.O. Box 6, St. George's 00000, Grenada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 23 hotels in St. George's
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Paradise revisited and no buts!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Have just returned from the Spice Island Resort, home on 7/5/13. Have we any quibbles? Just one :- Please do not put bathroom scales in room!!! Cruel. We had a fabulous time and we are under 70. Not just under 70! We stayed for 15 nights and found almost everything to our liking. Almost? The younger element, 8-40 somethings thought all inclusive means drink till you drop and include every one else in your pleasure. Drunk and brainless by 5.00 pm is not everyones idea of a great holiday. On the plus side :- Yes there is some room for improvement and this Autumn there will be a major refurbishment of the areas some have complained about. Dining room and bar and many of the rooms and the Spa. We found the meals to be excellent but then we do not eat till we drop. The best of all is that Sir Royston and his family are very hands on and the staff are probably the best we have met in any Caribbean resort. To date we have visited the area annually over the past 15 years. Yes we will be returning next year.

Room Tip: Do not miss out on the Spa. Top quality, but not cheap, massage treatments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    392
    46
    9
    16
    0
See reviews for
85
293
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Spice a couple of weeks ago before moving on to the Blue Waters in Antigua. I have to say I'm a little surprised with some of recent comments made about both the guests and hotel. We had a great time, the food was very good and both the hotel and staff were excellent.

When we stayed there were a mixture of ages but the hotel overall is quiet and to be honest something to look forward too when looking for a relaxing stay.

I would add the only unfortunate day was when a small group of people had too much to drink and became very loud!!

If you want a quiet get away in a very good hotel the Spice will not disappoint.

Room Tip: Seagrape Suite was very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

It's rare that we come across a hotel which leaves such mixed feelings. It's a 5* property in many ways, yet so SO bad in others.

Let's start with the good stuff.

The setting is out of this world, Grand Anse has to be one of the best beaches we've ever had the pleasure of lounging on for a week. We stayed in a Seagrape suite, which opens out directly onto Grand Anse, making lazy days on the beach by your room as easy and accessible as can be. The room itself is well appointed and spacious, with luxurious touches in the Molton Brown toiletries and a well stocked minibar.

The other bright spot is the staff, on the whole helpful, courteous and (most importantly) discreet, albeit lacking in any 'fun factor'.

That however, is where the superlatives must end.

The resort itself is possibly the most lifeless, soulless, characterless and boring we have ever come across. The poor excuse for a bar has the atmosphere of a train station cafe, the common areas are generally devoid of life or laughter of any description, and the staff make little effort to raise the spirits. Given the demographic is almost exclusively folk in their later years this opinion comes from a minority, but to those of us in our 20s and 30s (just), it's a depressing place.

But the biggest criticism has to be the restaurant and food. Breakfast was a disgrace, a small buffet of fruit, juices and pastries, complimented by a hot menu of inedibility, eggs benedict with stale muffin, the greasiest bacon and sausages I've come across in a long time, and dry pancakes. Lunch wasn't much better, a VERY limited menu which didn't change all week, with 'burger and chip' choices more at home in a cheap and cheerful B&B.

The best however, was kept til last. Dinner. The head chef clearly fancies himself as a caribbean Michel Roux, and needs to spend less time on painting swirls and foam around the plate, and more time concentrating on the very average, often dry food on the plate. The wine choices were limited and very 'entry level' (unless you are prepared to pay in addition for wine from a list) . The restaurant, incidentally, has as little atmosphere as the bar and the rest of the resort. Consistent at least. We chose to eat in our room on a few occasions to escape the sanitised nature of the restaurant. Worth the $10 charge all day long, even if the food was similarly average.

On balance, we're astonished enough that it holds the Tripadvisor #1 spot, more so that SLH has admitted it to their ranks. Think VERY hard before committing over $1000 a night, and under no circumstances should you consider it

- if you are under 50;
- for your honeymoon (or less still to get married);
- if you enjoy any form of night-time entertainment;
- if food and wine is an important part of your holiday.

Our second week was spent at Maca Bana, a very different experience indeed... Please read on...

Room Tip: Half the Seagrape suites are twin rooms, do not assume that the hotel will put you in a King if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hadleigh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

This is our third holiday here at Spice Island. Having just read the review "under 40 don't stay here" I can only reply by saying that we stayed at the hotel on the same week as the group of 8 people concerned and if they were between the ages of 33 to 40 then they should have acted accordingly. I am well under 70 and still have a lot of fun within but my idea of fun is not drinking so much that I get louder and louder, upsetting other guests in the restaurant. Not standing in the sea with a drink in each hand leaving the empty beer cans on the otherwise pristine beach and not behaving like teenagers on a night out without parents. If you want that sort of a vacation on Grenada then please book Sandals resort due to open in December.

Rant over - we stayed two weeks here in an Almond pool suite which has been every bit as good as our last visits. The staff are wonderful and know you by name after just a few hours. They are not intrusive but always there to help if needed. Our room is always spotless and I have slept like a baby every night in our lovely big bed adorned with frette linen sheets, cool and comfortable. If I were to moan about anything it would be lovely to have softer towels in the bathroom but that is being really picky as the towels are plentiful and always replaced twice a day including the beach towels.
Our private pool has been serviced daily and is a real treat to cool off in the afternoon sun.

The restaurant is lovely with sea breezes blowing through and the food is very good but as with any restaurant if one eats there for two consecutive weeks one does get a little bored with the food. The menu is very good, interesting choices and not repetitive but on a two week holiday who would blame you for trying out a couple of the local restaurants just for a change of scene. The lunch menu is also excellent with at least three daily specials.

To sum up Spice Island Beach Resort makes a superb choice for holidaying on Grenada whatever age you are. We have made many friends here during our holiday all different ages and nationalities. The setting on Grand Anse beach could not be bettered in my opinion and we will certainly be returning in future years.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork,Ireland
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

As guests of sister resort Blue Horizons we were allowed to use the facilities at Spice Island.
The property is immaculate, with a tiny pool but right on the beach.
There's an excellent book library and good,free internent just off reception.
We were,however,surprised at how soulless the bar area appeared to be - staff weren't particularly friendly and it had the atmopshere of a retirement home.
It's probably why we met so many Spice Island guests further down the beach enjoying a much better time at Umbrellas.
Certainly when my wife sparked up a cigarette while enjoying a drink by the pool, unaware that there is no smoking allowed ANYWHERE on the resort, we didn't expect a barman to come rushing over and shouting loudly for her to put it out. A small bit of discretion wouldn't have gone amiss.
Also, trying to pay for a drink at the bar with cash appears to throw everyone into a panic, involving hand-written invoices, trips to reception with the cash and generally a ten minute wait to get some change.
Overall while Spice Island looks fabulous there didn't appear to us to be enough to warrant a stay there at high-end prices.
Your parents would probably like it though.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

We just came back from spice island, we stayed with a group of eight people ranging from 33-40 years of age. This property prides itself on service, unfortunately, that is where they are lacking! We paid for the all inclusive package and were made to feel bad whenever we ordered an alcoholic beverage. The attitudes of the employees were unreal. I have never felt so uncomfortable. The other guests were well into their 70s and also made a point of makeing us feel uncomfortable. We were paying over 1,000.00 per night and ended up going elsewhere to eat and hang out. The seagrape suites were very nice, as was the beach. That's just not enough to get us to come back. Honestly, we all wish we would have stayed elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
286 reviews 286 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
205 helpful votes 205 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Spice Island is a very well run family owned hotel with a big focus on customer service. Everything ticks over like clock work and the staff are well trained, highly accommodating and thoughtful. The family and management are clearly doing a great job and all make the effort personally to ensure that they meet each guest and most likely greet them and wave them off too. The hotel is immaculately clean and endeavours to do whatever it can to enhance your stay. It is for the most part an all inclusive hotel and this is delivered within a generous spirit with no quibbles or petty rules about what is included and what is not. Both lunch and dinner offer 5 courses and this is delivered in high style with lots of attention to detail. Staff are quick to replenish glasses and to offer a picnic if you are heading out. The chef is making a good effort, the food is very well presented and the changing menu does offer variety. In spite of this we found the food bland and somehow monotonous and we quickly tired of going to dinner here. Sadly we didn't care for any of the inclusive wines offered either and found the cocktails wishy washy. Breakfast was particularly uninspiring with cheap juices and a small buffet, cooked eggs etc were fine but other dishes such as pancakes were dry. We also disliked the restaurant itself as it is a long dull functional uniform room devoid of either style or ambiance. We went out to eat a number of times, Laluna and Calabash being the closest by. Neither are temples of culinary genius but we desperately craved a change of food and scene. Our Seagrape Suite was spacious and pleasant enough with a small patio opening onto a nice beach, though it is a public beach and your neighbours are near so it is not very private. The bathroom was large and there was plenty of storage. The bar stools and pool furniture are naff and in need of an update as is the pool itself. Our conclusion would be that this is a 4 star hotel with regards to food, decor and general finish though very much 5 star with regards to the friendly efficient personalised service and customer focused ethos. Grenada itself is a beautiful island, St Georges one of the most interesting and lovely Caribbean capitals that we have seen and the locals are outstandlingly helfpul and friendly.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Spice Island Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spice Island Beach Resort

Address: Grand Anse Beach | P.O. Box 6, St. George's 00000, Grenada
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Grenada > Saint George Parish > St. George's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in St. George's
#2 Top resorts Hotel in St. George's
#3 Business Hotel in St. George's
#3 Spa Hotel in St. George's
#3 On the Beach Hotel in St. George's
#3 Luxury Hotel in St. George's
#4 Family Hotel in St. George's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Spice Island Beach Resort 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paradise Re-Imagined. Owned and operated by Sir Royston Hopkin, KCMG and Family, this 64 suite Spice Island Beach Resort recreates its original elegance with a modern flair on Grenada’s breathtaking Grand Anse Beach. Sixteen hundred feet of powder white sand captivatingly frames 32 beachfront suites featuring indoor living rooms, breezy exterior terraces and private rock gardens. Graceful architecture complemented by new colours and exquisite furnishings make this award-winning resort even more exclusive. Presiding over these golden sands are the Cinnamon and Saffron Suites. Unmatched in elegance each of these One Bedroom Suites captures the spice scented breezes with lazy hammocks on private patios. Custom-furnished, and available as two bedrooms when booked with a Sea Grape Beach Suite, this is a beach lover’s dream. Seventeen additional pool suites have their own private swimming pools and gardens steps away from the ocean. The Royal Collection, Luxury Almond and Anthurium Pool suites are all private oasis that offer the guest an intimate experience like no other. All suites are equipped with modern luxuries like Flat Screen Televisions, Italian Frette™ Linen, Molton Brown® amenities and ensuite bathrooms featuring whirlpool tubs and double vanities it is little wonder that this tranquil haven continues to be a treasured secret amongst the travel elite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, HotelsClick, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Spice Island Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spice Island Beach Hotel St. George`s
Spice Island Grenada
Hotel Spice Island Beach
Spice Island Beach Resort Grenada/Saint George Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spice Island Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.