We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best resort in the entire Caribbean!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spice Island Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Spice Island Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Spice Island Beach Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Grand Anse Beach | P.O. Box 6, St. George's 00000, Grenada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in St. George's
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“The best resort in the entire Caribbean!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We spent a week at Spice Island with another couple friends of ours and it was hands down the best resort I've ever stayed at in the Caribbean. From the moment you check-in you are greeted with warm friendly faces (and a wonderful champagne cocktail!). There are three things that factor into a beach resort's greatness in my opinion. 1. The staff 2. The quality of the resort 3. The beach. Spice Island gets the highest marks on all three. 1. The staff are so friendly and so attentive. In the Caribbean, you have to get use to island time, but not at Spice Island - I found the service to be extremely prompt and again very friendly. We were on the all-inclusive plan and the food was exceptional. They even had a very delicious and creative vegetarian item on the menu each night. The bar service was great as well - wonderful drinks and wonderful staff. The bar and restaurant share staff so someone who was making you drinks earlier maybe serving you dinner later. The whole staff is fantastic, everyone is going above and beyond, Shellma, Nicholson and Dexter to name a few (I've forgotten some other names since being back at work). One of the highlights was Cristell though, she had such a great personality and we really enjoyed her - she would have us laughing so hard! 2. The quality of the resort. A lot of beach front properties get run down from the salty air, but not Spice Island. The grounds are pristine and well maintained and manicured. The rooms are very spacious and very well appointed - I would call them very comfortably modern. The beds are very soft, I slept like a baby every single night! You'd think the resort is brand new even though it isn't. The fitness center isn't huge, but it is more than adequate. Jalissa's Spa was very nice - beautiful ambiance. Each treatment room is a separate cabin all positioned around a lovely reflection pool. I had a facial and my partner had a massage and both were wonderful and relaxing. Another highlight was that Sir Royston had all the guests out to his house for a cocktail party one night before dinner - I really thought that was nice as it wasn't a gimmick - he and his lovely family want to connect with their guests and the most certainly did. Very classy family. 3. The beach. You are literally on Grand Anse beach and it is gorgeous. I attached a photo of the gorgeous beach. The view, the sand the cleanliness is all amazing! The hotel provides lounging chairs with cushions some under an umbrella shade, some under a tree. It is a public beach but it always felt private. There are beach vendors (who I learned have to be licensed) walking by and trying to sell you stuff. They are not pushy like Mexico and are very polite and friendly if you aren't interested in buying. We actually bought a few items as souvenirs and gifts. We would sit out on the beach at night and talk and one thing I really liked is that the hotel the hotel has hired 24 hour security guards for the beach. We never felt unsafe but I did like the idea of them there. So in summary - the staff (and all the people of the island) are just really nice friendly people. Spice Island really has invested in the staff because each person really just goes above and beyond - I can't say that enough. The beach and the whole island is just stunning - I liked how the island was not very commercialized - no huge mega resorts crowding up the beach. If you want an island that's more off the beaten path and you want a resort that has really gotten it right - you should go to Spice Island Beach Resort - I don't care where you live, it is worth the trek! Go see my new favorite island in the Caribbean!

P.S. Princess Anne stayed at Spice Island while in Grenada if that tells you anything!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    404
    49
    9
    16
    0
See reviews for
91
301
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

My husband and I spent 12 nights at Spice Island Resort and it was brilliant. We were celebrating our Golden Wedding Anniversary while we were there. It is a lovely hotel, with great staff, brilliant food and excellent service. We arrived quite late in the evening and the staff ensured me before arriving that there would be dinner available. They made us so welcome and within a day or so all the staff know the residents by name.

We had a seagrave room, which is right on the beach. It was wonderful, as we had our own hammock, sunshade and sunbeds in the small patio area ourside our room, which was wonderful first thing in the morning to sit and have a cup of tea listening to the waves breaking, absolute paradise.

There are only 2 restaurants in the hotel, but as the menu is changed everyday there is always plenty of choice. I had been concerned about the lack of choice of restaurants, but I should not have worried as the food was lovely. It is a very quiet hotel and a brilliant place to chill out and relax. If you want to just soak up the sun, have good food with nice wine and relax this is definitely the place for you.

There is a cocktail party every week, and sometimes it is at Sir Royston Hopkin's house. If you have an opportunity to go to his home for cocktails then you must go, as the sunset from his garden is amazing. Sir Royston comes into the hotel from time to time and is very welcoming to all residents. He is an extremely nice man and he was there with his wife and Manages to say goodbye when we left.

I just hope we can go back there again soon.

It was a brilliant place to spend our anniversary and we have lovely memories of both the hotel, staff and generally all the people we met on the island. We have been luck enough to have travelled the Carribean a lot over the last 20 years and this is my favourite island particularly because the people were so charming.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranbrook, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Brilliantly located, beautifully clean, wonderfully staffed - perfect place to relax. The beach is amazing, and its so great to be actually on it. (although all beaches are public in Grenada, the hotel is located far enough from parking etc that there was no one on the beach who was not from the hotel in the whole week we were there except one or two incredibly polite hawkers passing through). Unlike say the West coast of Barbados where the beach has become very narrow because of erosion, Grande Anse is, as our children said the first place where they had been where it was "actually like the photos".
The hotel staff is exceptional - in attitude and standards, and really friendly (the only exception being the WaterSports department who were a little less gracious). The hotel is family-owned by a fine old Grenadian family who are deeply present and committed to the standards of the hotel.
The food is very good, although a trifle old-fashioned (5 courses for lunch if you choose, including a soup course!).
The hotel was quite quiet - live band each evening (eg steel band) - people would listen, but not really dance.
The finest place we have stayed in half a dozen visits across the Caribbean.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sawbridgeworth, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

A true 5* resort. We stayed in a Seagrape beach suite, which was wonderful. It opened up right onto the beach which was great with our 6 year old. The hotel staff went out of their way to make our holiday magical. We had a half day trip booked which the hotel arranged with Dave a local driver. They made us a packed lunch saying that as we had our little one with us it might come in useful. My daughter had her sixth birthday half way through the holiday (and without us asking) they produced a birthday card and a lovely cake at dinner time.

The food was always first class and a good selection.

The hotel was quiet, great for a relaxing holiday. My daughter went to the kids club where she had fun doing various crafts.

I have no negative comments about the hotel or staff and I wouldn't hesitate to go back. I would only comment on the water sports centre. We booked to take my daughter scuba diving on her birthday only to get out to sea and be told they didn't have any childrens life jackets. This was disappointing.

All in all a fantastic holiday and I would love to go back, just need to save up!

Room Tip: Sea Grape rooms open onto the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We recently returned from this resort and can honestly say that the experience was a memorable one for all the good reasons.They are providing top quality service,food and accommodation for holidays of this nature.The only disappiontment was the occasional habit of some people reserving loungers on the beach before breakfast,something you only expect in lower class resorts and should be stopped immediately.Also there should be a more relaxed approach towards food plans ie half board etc because modern tourists expect a wider experience of the country they are visiting.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hockley, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We have just returned after 2 weeks in March, we are "repeaters" and will visit again next year, albeit a little earlier to avoid the young children/teenagers on vacation due to Easter.
Sir Royston, his family and staff do an excellent job and create a comfotable atmosphere.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We were at the Spice Island for our third visit in 12 years. It was every bit as good as we remembered and possibly even better.
We stayed in a Sea Grape Suite which was perfect. Large well appointed suite just a short walk from the water. There is of course a premium for staying in these suites as compared with the standard rooms behind them but worth it if your budget allows.
The pricing at the resort is top end but probably appropriately. We went half board which saved some money especially as we are not big drinkers these days and don't want a full lunch let alone afternoon tea. One consequence of this i that if you want a glass of wine with the dinner it costs $10 for a pretty meagre glass of house wine which merely encourages you to have a drink in the room before dinner.
The location is excellent. Perfectly placed on a 2 mile beach. This is quiet in front of the hotel but busier down the town end. We liked this because there is the opprtunity to get a bit of local flavour and having a drink at a local bar. People were very friendly.
Also there is a large supermarket and small shopping centre within an easy walk from the resort. We much prefer this set up to being isolated o a remote 'private' beach. It easy to get into St Georges the capital.
What impressed me above all was the hands on approach adopted by Sir Royston the owner. No detail seemed to escape his attention and the resort is very well run.
All in a all a great choice for a winter break albeit at a price.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Spice Island Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spice Island Beach Resort

Address: Grand Anse Beach | P.O. Box 6, St. George's 00000, Grenada
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Grenada > Saint George Parish > St. George's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in St. George's
#2 Top resorts Hotel in St. George's
#3 Luxury Hotel in St. George's
#3 On the Beach Hotel in St. George's
#3 Spa Hotel in St. George's
#3 Business Hotel in St. George's
#4 Family Hotel in St. George's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Spice Island Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paradise Re-Imagined. Owned and operated by Sir Royston Hopkin, KCMG and Family, this 64 suite Spice Island Beach Resort recreates its original elegance with a modern flair on Grenada’s breathtaking Grand Anse Beach. Sixteen hundred feet of powder white sand captivatingly frames 32 beachfront suites featuring indoor living rooms, breezy exterior terraces and private rock gardens. Graceful architecture complemented by new colours and exquisite furnishings make this award-winning resort even more exclusive. Presiding over these golden sands are the Cinnamon and Saffron Suites. Unmatched in elegance each of these One Bedroom Suites captures the spice scented breezes with lazy hammocks on private patios. Custom-furnished, and available as two bedrooms when booked with a Sea Grape Beach Suite, this is a beach lover’s dream. Seventeen additional pool suites have their own private swimming pools and gardens steps away from the ocean. The Royal Collection, Luxury Almond and Anthurium Pool suites are all private oasis that offer the guest an intimate experience like no other. All suites are equipped with modern luxuries like Flat Screen Televisions, Italian Frette™ Linen, Molton Brown® amenities and ensuite bathrooms featuring whirlpool tubs and double vanities it is little wonder that this tranquil haven continues to be a treasured secret amongst the travel elite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Spice Island Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spice Island Beach Hotel St. George`s
Spice Island Grenada
Hotel Spice Island Beach
Spice Island Beach Resort Grenada/Saint George Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spice Island Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;