We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pampered” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spice Island Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Spice Island Beach Resort to your Saves list
Spice Island Beach Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Grand Anse Beach | P.O. Box 6, St. George's 00000, Grenada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in St. George's
Calgary
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Pampered”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My 86 year old mom, my daughter and I thoroughly enjoyed our week (March 2 - 9) here. The hotel is intimate and first class. The service was efficient yet very friendly, with many people knowing our names. At the coktail party, one of the staff even remembered my daughter's nut allergy and informed her of which dishes she could eat. Our room was spotless and comfortable with all the luxuries including top line toiletries, wireless, DVD and good sized tv, a modern roomy washroom (that featured grohe appliances, two sinks, a deep jacuzzi tub and a separate terrific shower), both a fan and AC (that ran quietly without draft), a safe (could have been a tinge larger) and plenty of room to sit down. Not that we spent that much time inside. The beach was at our doorstep and at least one tour (we made our own) is a must. Most evenings there was music from one of the local bands (we heard calypso, reggae and steel drums as well as more mainstream) to accompany delicious multi course meals. The chef was happy to accommodate requests. We opted for the all inclusive (a first for us) and enjoyed it (we could not eat that much food or sip that many drinks - though we tried). It was nice to meet Sir and Lady Hopkins and their grown children. The family has done much for the Grenada and Grenadians - this is also evident in how he runs this resort.

A few observations:

For some reason, there were not many young adult guests at the hotel the week we were there. Maybe it was the timing. My daughter did not mind - she had to study anyway.

The current can be stronger than you realize and it can make a ridge to step up onto under the water. We gave my mom a hand and had no problems.

The gift shop was very nice but expensive.

The pina coladas and other rum drinks were refreshing.

Nice gifts for those who had to stay home (and work) are packets of spices (from Laura's or any of the food stores) and island rum (from one of the distileries or stores). Remember to bring zip lock bags and bottle protectors for when you pack them (not in hand luggage). If you don't have a connecting flight, you can buy duty free at the airport.

Hope you enjoy it as much as we did!

We usually make all our own arrangements (except Tibet and Mongolia) but did the comparison and a package won. We booked this trip as an Air Canada package through Uniglobe Travel (Marcia Walford). The Grenadian representatives (Wistell and Marielle) at St. James Travel and Tours) were also very helpful.

Room Tip: The Seagrape Beach units are spacious enough for a family of four or three adults. The deck and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    426
    51
    10
    16
    0
See reviews for
96
318
10
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yarm
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

This was our fifth visit to Spice Island so we obviously like it! The hotels position on Grand Anse Beach is superb, but there are also shops just along the road and several modest walks to be taken from the hotel. The local busses to St Georges also go from the road end.
We stayed in a Seagrape suite which is large, well equipped and well positioned right next to the beach. The bathroom is especially good with an oversized jacuzzi bath and a separate shower.
Probably the best thing about this hotel is the quality and friendliness of the staff. It is a pleasure to be always referred to by name, not just a room number.The hotel bar is an excellent meeting place and the food in the restaurant is very good with good use of local ingredients and stylish cooking and presentation.
Overall this is a superb hotel in a wonderful position. We will return

Room Tip: Seagrape suites are superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

This is a SUPERB resort. It's spotlessly clean, well maintained and has a gorgeous beachfront location. The staff are professional, friendly and accommodating. Few resorts set such a high standard. We spent 8 nights in Feb 2013, with 2 young children (ages 4 & 5) and one grandparent. The majority of guests were retirement age, but a few young families were there for school vacation week. The pool isn't particularly large, but it's very nice & located next to the beach. The beach sand is so clean you can run the entire 2 mile length barefoot without fear of gouging your feet. The resort atmosphere is a bit formal, especially during meals - a challenge with young kids. Dinner starts at 7:00 and could stretch to 2 hours. If we did it again, we wouldn't buy the MAP plan, instead we'd have dinner at other spots. My only complaint: our "ocean-view" Oleander suites (# 59 & 60) had only a tiny glimpse of the water, because beach-front suites block the view.

For restaurants, we liked BB's and the Chateau. Umbrella's for casual beachfront chow. The Owl has a nice waterfront bar. The locals are friendly & welcoming. Ask for our favorite taxi driver, Lennox, for around town or an island tour.

We've been to many islands and high-end resorts. Spice Island Beach Resort on Grenada is among the very finest.

Room Tip: "Ocean-view" Oleander suites have only a tiny glimpse of the water, because beach-front su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

For a week away from a cold London winter to chill out this really hits the spot. You know staightaway from the warm welcome by the management team ,after the mercifully short ride from that airport, that you are in a hotel that values customer service and runs like clockwork.The Sea Grape Suite we booked was capacious and had all the facilities you need including a comfortable sitting out patio area close to the beach with longers and a hammock,comfortable bed,efficient Wi Fi and good shower.
Throughout the hotel the service was efficient and pleasant with cheery smiles all round .The staff in the dining room were universally helpful and by Caribbean standards the food was excellent.The chef takes great pride in his use of local vegetables which enhanced the experience and separated the ambition and quality of his cooking from the run-of -the -mill US/UK that is ubiquitous elsewhere.There was also regular changes in the menu so there was no chance of getting bored.
The hotel sits happily on a beautiful beach and early morning walks along Grand Anse were a highlight.If the design of the hotel is a touch bland,particularly the rather characterless bar area,the beach gives Spice Island its real character.We also enjoyed an excellent and well run snorkelling trip with Aquanauts next to the hotel.
Having stayed at many hotels in the Caribbean in a search for the perfect winter week away Spice Island was as good as it gets.Our only niggles were one sulky staff member who rather undermined the delightful and efficient service from scores of her colleagues and a slight lack of attention in busy periods to the loungers on the beach.Occasionally there were not enough which encouraged the anti-social habit of bagging loungers before breakfast.The hotel needs to may more attention to this but overall I cannot recommend Spice Island highly enough if you want to unwind and relax quickly.

Room Tip: Sea Grape Suites away form the resuarnt and dive centre
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire UK
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Great people, comfortable rooms, excellent food, fantastic beach... Simply can't beat it.
But trip advisor wants me to say more.. Wifi works, my fellow guest are friendly and discrete.. Grenada is an island dedicated to providing visitors a welcome and hospitality that makes you want to come back... There is a nine hole golf course which will take me just 2 hours to play... So more time to spend at the resort...as I said simply can't beat it

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

We have just spent 2 weeks here. We found the food excellent, the staff friendly and efficient and the place is a delight to stay in. We stayed in a Sea Grape beach suite and consider this the best option as you are right on the beach. The rooms with a pool are behind the beach suites so have no direct view of the sea and would probably have limited direct sunlight. We would recommend going All-inclusive as it is rather nice to have no bill at the end. Golf at the local, 9 hole course is free for guests. It isn't a great course but it was a lot of fun!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Home Counties
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

My wife and I liked this place a lot although not everyone will like the semi-expatriate English atmosphere. We booked a Sea-Grape villa (number 10) for a week and thoroughly enjoyed every minute. Waking up in our large room to a view of the beach (six inches beyond our patio), sea, and mountain tops was – for us at least – the right choice. There are more luxurious rooms with their own private pools – which we did not have - but these are located behind the Sea Grape Villas and have no clear view of the sea. You pays your money and you takes your pick. You can book all-inclusive or a la carte. We booked inclusive and – I think – it was a good choice. It certainly saved lots of bother signing chits every time you ordered your smoothie (or whatever) on the beach, your aperitif, your wine, etc etc. It probably saved money also but I can’t be certain. We like wine and, beforehand, were worried that the house wines would be poor on the inclusive tariff. But they were OK. There was French or Italian white and Chilean or French Bordeaux red. For both colours the latter was fine and the former would be fine at a push. Unless you spend more than £20 per bottle of wine every time you drink the stuff, Spice Island house wine is perfectly acceptable. We (intentionally) went during the UK term time and found ourselves surrounded by generally sociable and mainly – although not all - oldish people (ie 60–75 years old) entirely from the UK excepting four couples from Canada. No Americans, no French, no Germans and no Japanese, which surprised us. We normally prefer to holiday with a range of nationalities and few Brits but – somewhat to my surprise - the atmosphere at Spice Island was very enjoyable indeed. Maybe it’s the management which was very good. The general manager – Brian Hardy – was frequently in evidence and it showed – food was good and service and staff helpfulness were universally excellent. There were 2 or 3 pre-school children but they tended to eat in a separate restaurant section with their parents ( NB this all changed the weekend that UK half term started when dozens of couple arrived with children and the resort became a different place and perhaps even more pleasing if you were the parents). The pool was large, warm and not salty. In fact, all in all, it’s a place to be highly recommended if you like what you read above.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Spice Island Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spice Island Beach Resort

Address: Grand Anse Beach | P.O. Box 6, St. George's 00000, Grenada
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Grenada > Saint George Parish > St. George's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in St. George's
#2 Top resorts Hotel in St. George's
#3 Business Hotel in St. George's
#3 On the Beach Hotel in St. George's
#3 Spa Hotel in St. George's
#3 Luxury Hotel in St. George's
#4 Family Hotel in St. George's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Spice Island Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paradise Re-Imagined. Owned and operated by Sir Royston Hopkin, KCMG and Family, this 64 suite Spice Island Beach Resort recreates its original elegance with a modern flair on Grenada’s breathtaking Grand Anse Beach. Sixteen hundred feet of powder white sand captivatingly frames 32 beachfront suites featuring indoor living rooms, breezy exterior terraces and private rock gardens. Graceful architecture complemented by new colours and exquisite furnishings make this award-winning resort even more exclusive. Presiding over these golden sands are the Cinnamon and Saffron Suites. Unmatched in elegance each of these One Bedroom Suites captures the spice scented breezes with lazy hammocks on private patios. Custom-furnished, and available as two bedrooms when booked with a Sea Grape Beach Suite, this is a beach lover’s dream. Seventeen additional pool suites have their own private swimming pools and gardens steps away from the ocean. The Royal Collection, Luxury Almond and Anthurium Pool suites are all private oasis that offer the guest an intimate experience like no other. All suites are equipped with modern luxuries like Flat Screen Televisions, Italian Frette™ Linen, Molton Brown® amenities and ensuite bathrooms featuring whirlpool tubs and double vanities it is little wonder that this tranquil haven continues to be a treasured secret amongst the travel elite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Spice Island Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spice Island Beach Hotel St. George`s
Spice Island Grenada
Hotel Spice Island Beach
Spice Island Beach Resort Grenada/Saint George Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spice Island Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.