We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The finest place I have ever stayed.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spice Island Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Spice Island Beach Resort to your Saves list
Spice Island Beach Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Grand Anse Beach | P.O. Box 6, St. George's 00000, Grenada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in St. George's
Brick, New Jersey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“The finest place I have ever stayed.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

The spice island inn is close to perfect. As if waking up to grand anse beach in your "front yard" isn't enough, the staff is delightful. Each evening we gathered on the beach to watch the sunset and the sand crabs come out from hiding and listened to enchanting stories from the Grenadians. Loved every minute of my 8 days.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    438
    52
    10
    16
    1
See reviews for
97
325
11
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

A wonderful location on Grand Anse beach. The staff is well trained, attentive, pleasant and efficient, which speaks highly of the Resort’s management. Our bedroom/suite fronted the beach, which was an idyllic location. The standard of cleanliness was excellent but I would advise travellers to take insect repellent with them as insect bites can be a problem apart from in the bedrooms, which are sprayed nightly. We thoroughly enjoyed our holiday here and the resort has a strong repeat clientele, mainly in their 70s.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

This was our first holiday at Spice Island Beach resort - but definitely not our last! From the moment we arrived, everyone was so welcoming. We hadn't mentioned that it was my birthday, but it seems that all the staff had been made aware of this and without exception greeted me with a friendly 'Happy Birthday', making me feel very special. We were greeted by name by all the staff and made to feel at home by everyone. All the staff were cheerful and respectful and very efficient. We stayed in one of the Sea Grape Suites with direct access to the beach.The standard of the room was excellent, both in decor and cleanliness. We were there on a half-board arrangement and enjoyed wonderful breakfast buffets as well as gourmet dinners in a very relaxed atmosphere. The Sunday barbecue lunch and an afternoon tea were both enjoyable extras. The food and service were of an extremely high standard and the restaurant staff, without exception, were very friendly and helpful. In fact we were treated to a truly wonderful Caribbean experience throughout our stay, and would recommend this hotel very highly.

Room Tip: Sea Grape suite - good size rooms with direct access to the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foster city, Californa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This hotel is absolutely wonderful. The rooms are spacious, beautiful, and right on the beach. The food is very good and the service outstanding. The most relaxing vacation you could have. The location on the beach is perfect and easy to get around. The cocktail party with the owners was a nice touch. I can't think of anything that could do to improve.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We spent New Year at Spice Island having not been to the Caribbean for 10 years & the reason being is that the Indian Ocean part of the world is so much nicer - however we decided to give the Caribbean another go. We stayed in the Sea Grape Suites directly on the beach, which were nice but as others have said, stay away from nos: 1 - 4 , they are too near a very ugly dive / water sport building.
The food at Spice Island was good but sometimes the staff ( female) in "Olivers" were bordering on the point of being rude & in contrast the male waiting staff were fantastic. The one thing that bothers me & it also happens in the States,is the clearing of the table when not everyone has finished their meal , maybe I am particular, but this to me is bad manners & poor training.
One thing to note - do not be in a hurry for lunch or afternoon tea , as this can take anything up to 50 minutes to arrive , even if the restaurant is not busy. The cocktails & drinks are all of excellent quality & the all inclusive package is good value here , if you fancy trying out different drinks.
The hotel has the feel of a colonial home & is very well kept , in particular the gardens & pathways around the property. The spa was disappointing compared to Maldives etc, and was more like a typical beauty salon rather than a spa - they could do a lot with this stand-alone building & create a really nice space.
If you like luxury with a british feel , then this is the place for you, however if you like the more diverse - try the other side of the world.

Room Tip: Avoid Sea Grape Numbers 1 - 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond upon Thames
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I took the whole family, 10 of us, f(5 adults and 5 children, including an infant) for Christmas and New Year. We had four Sea Grape suites and it was a wonderful stay. From the moment we arrived, a bit tired after a long flight, we were greeted by lovely happy staff and offered cocktails whilst checking in. The view of the beach through the reception arch was breathtaking and we all immediately had good vibes. Nothing was too much trouble - for instance, I asked if I could I have 'proper' milk instead of the 'coffee mate' and, every afternoon thereafter, a jug of milk was brought to my room and also a bottle of sparkling water, instead of the still, was left whenever required. Beautiful clean beach and great pool - drinks service at both. Excellent standard of housekeeping. Would not hesitate to recommend Spice Island Resort. Sir Royston and his family are really 'hands on' and it shows!

Room Tip: In my opinion the Sea Grape suites are the best, just a few steps to the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Just returned from 7 nights at Spice Island. Yes, we have stayed at many of the "great" resorts--Four Seasons/Banyan Tree/Rosewood/Aman......Spice Island is the best I have found in the Caribbean....Service, food, location--classic, understated luxury. Does it have all of the traditional underpinnings---Evian spritzs; popsicles at the pool etc--no....Does it have serenity; no need to arise at 6 am to fight for a chair; restaurant service better than anywhere I have been in the Caribbean etc....yes!
If you are looking for exotic night life/the latest martini etc---stay at a W or Ritz.....If you just want a resort where it is done right with class and appreciation--stay at Spice Island!!!

Room Tip: Get a room on the beach--it is worth the extra!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Spice Island Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spice Island Beach Resort

Address: Grand Anse Beach | P.O. Box 6, St. George's 00000, Grenada
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Grenada > Saint George Parish > St. George's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in St. George's
#2 Top resorts Hotel in St. George's
#3 Business Hotel in St. George's
#3 Spa Hotel in St. George's
#3 Luxury Hotel in St. George's
#3 On the Beach Hotel in St. George's
#4 Family Hotel in St. George's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Spice Island Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paradise Re-Imagined. Owned and operated by Sir Royston Hopkin, KCMG and Family, this 64 suite Spice Island Beach Resort recreates its original elegance with a modern flair on Grenada’s breathtaking Grand Anse Beach. Sixteen hundred feet of powder white sand captivatingly frames 32 beachfront suites featuring indoor living rooms, breezy exterior terraces and private rock gardens. Graceful architecture complemented by new colours and exquisite furnishings make this award-winning resort even more exclusive. Presiding over these golden sands are the Cinnamon and Saffron Suites. Unmatched in elegance each of these One Bedroom Suites captures the spice scented breezes with lazy hammocks on private patios. Custom-furnished, and available as two bedrooms when booked with a Sea Grape Beach Suite, this is a beach lover’s dream. Seventeen additional pool suites have their own private swimming pools and gardens steps away from the ocean. The Royal Collection, Luxury Almond and Anthurium Pool suites are all private oasis that offer the guest an intimate experience like no other. All suites are equipped with modern luxuries like Flat Screen Televisions, Italian Frette™ Linen, Molton Brown® amenities and ensuite bathrooms featuring whirlpool tubs and double vanities it is little wonder that this tranquil haven continues to be a treasured secret amongst the travel elite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Spice Island Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spice Island Beach Hotel St. George`s
Spice Island Grenada
Hotel Spice Island Beach
Spice Island Beach Resort Grenada/Saint George Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spice Island Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.