We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Spice Island Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Spice Island Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Spice Island Beach Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Grand Anse Beach | P.O. Box 6, St. George's 00000, Grenada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 23 hotels in St. George's
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We spent New Year at Spice Island having not been to the Caribbean for 10 years & the reason being is that the Indian Ocean part of the world is so much nicer - however we decided to give the Caribbean another go. We stayed in the Sea Grape Suites directly on the beach, which were nice but as others have said, stay away from nos: 1 - 4 , they are too near a very ugly dive / water sport building.
The food at Spice Island was good but sometimes the staff ( female) in "Olivers" were bordering on the point of being rude & in contrast the male waiting staff were fantastic. The one thing that bothers me & it also happens in the States,is the clearing of the table when not everyone has finished their meal , maybe I am particular, but this to me is bad manners & poor training.
One thing to note - do not be in a hurry for lunch or afternoon tea , as this can take anything up to 50 minutes to arrive , even if the restaurant is not busy. The cocktails & drinks are all of excellent quality & the all inclusive package is good value here , if you fancy trying out different drinks.
The hotel has the feel of a colonial home & is very well kept , in particular the gardens & pathways around the property. The spa was disappointing compared to Maldives etc, and was more like a typical beauty salon rather than a spa - they could do a lot with this stand-alone building & create a really nice space.
If you like luxury with a british feel , then this is the place for you, however if you like the more diverse - try the other side of the world.

Room Tip: Avoid Sea Grape Numbers 1 - 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    399
    47
    9
    16
    0
See reviews for
90
296
10
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond upon Thames
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I took the whole family, 10 of us, f(5 adults and 5 children, including an infant) for Christmas and New Year. We had four Sea Grape suites and it was a wonderful stay. From the moment we arrived, a bit tired after a long flight, we were greeted by lovely happy staff and offered cocktails whilst checking in. The view of the beach through the reception arch was breathtaking and we all immediately had good vibes. Nothing was too much trouble - for instance, I asked if I could I have 'proper' milk instead of the 'coffee mate' and, every afternoon thereafter, a jug of milk was brought to my room and also a bottle of sparkling water, instead of the still, was left whenever required. Beautiful clean beach and great pool - drinks service at both. Excellent standard of housekeeping. Would not hesitate to recommend Spice Island Resort. Sir Royston and his family are really 'hands on' and it shows!

Room Tip: In my opinion the Sea Grape suites are the best, just a few steps to the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Just returned from 7 nights at Spice Island. Yes, we have stayed at many of the "great" resorts--Four Seasons/Banyan Tree/Rosewood/Aman......Spice Island is the best I have found in the Caribbean....Service, food, location--classic, understated luxury. Does it have all of the traditional underpinnings---Evian spritzs; popsicles at the pool etc--no....Does it have serenity; no need to arise at 6 am to fight for a chair; restaurant service better than anywhere I have been in the Caribbean etc....yes!
If you are looking for exotic night life/the latest martini etc---stay at a W or Ritz.....If you just want a resort where it is done right with class and appreciation--stay at Spice Island!!!

Room Tip: Get a room on the beach--it is worth the extra!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We have never been to the Caribbean before and wanted to go to one of the unspoilt islands. Our travel agent recommended Grenada and suggested spice island resort hotel. We can not rate this resort high enough and will definitely return.
We stayed on the beach in a sea grape suite. The upgrade was really worth it! Waking up each morning to the sound of the waves and being right on the beautiful clean quiet beach was amazing.
The sea grape suites are beautiful, very spacious and clean.
The food is to die for and nothing is too much trouble for the staff. If you don't fancy any thing on the evening menu the chef will gladly make you whatever you want. My husband had fresh lobster!!
The owner Sir Royston is at the hotel most days and invites all the guests to his own home at True Blue for a cocktail party every week. We have never had such hospitality like this before at any hotel.
Spice Island resort is really luxury. It's true you get what you pay for. Real five star plus place to spend a really relaxing time. Thanks to Dave as well our driver who took us an a tour of the island and to Clyde and Stephen in the bar and restaurant for all the smiles and great fun.

Room Tip: Try to choose a sea grape suite to the left of the complex and to the right is by the water sports...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I love this hotel. The rooms are great, service impeccable and location cannot be beat. I particularly love the fact that there is so much local food on the menu. They've done some very interesting things with local fruit and food that many Caribbean restaurants and hotels can learn a bit from. Some upgrading can be done, given the price, but I assume that there is some wear and tear from being on the beach that can't be avoided entirely. The owner's cocktail hour is particularly nice. Great hotel and excellent service!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Canaan, Connecticut
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We decided to spend just a few days over New Years with our college age kids and wanted to go somewhere we hadn't been before. Our agent recommended Grenada and this resort so we signed on.

The good:

10 minute ride from the airport with fast immigration and luggage unloading.

Impeccably friendly service. The type that is hard to find in the Caribbean. Folks knew our name within a day. Every request was fulfilled. I read a few reviews that referenced slow service. We've been almost everywhere in the Caribbean and while its clear that the sense of urgency is different here, the service speed is more than acceptable. The food is excellent. The beach is very clean and the water is fantastic. The all-inclusive option truly is. Meals, premium liquors and wines at no charge. Only the wine list costs extra. The food is excellent and imaginative. One single restaurant in a large open area. Casual at breakfast, fine at lunch and elegant at dinner. Locals are friendly (and often use the same beach as they are all public..but they respect the privacy of the beachfront suites and leave you to your own space). Unlike many islands we've frequented, the local population is friendly and has more of a "isn't it a great day for all of us to be at the beach" attitude.

The things to know:

Not much to do on the island. You come here to relax, lay on the beach and eat and drink. Nothing else. We did a short evening cruise in the harbor arranged by the hotel and it was very pleasant (beware of the rum punch though..very strong!).

The resort is small and nice..but the far end (units 1,2,3 and 4) are near an apartment building and a dive shop that has a lot of local activity and sound during the day. It didn't bother us, but I can see others being put off paying this much for a beachfront suite that borders an areas that is active. If so, ask for beach units of #5 or higher. The enclosed suites with pools weren't available so we took a beachfront one. Having been here now, I'd recommend the beach. Pass on the more expensive pool equipped suites as they are off of the beach.

In the end, it's a long way to go to a very nice beach, small but very nice resort with very friendly people and not much to do. That was our goal and we were satisfied.

We'd return..but for a trip of 3-5 days max.

Room Tip: Avoid beachfront suites 1,2,3 and 4. They are too close to an adjacent apartment building and the d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We never normally return to the same location more than once however after such a good holiday last year we decided to try it again this year and it did not disappoint. The food, service, suites were just as good as previously and of course the location is excellent in any event. There is not much more to say than that other than to point out Grenada is a wonderful island where total commercialisation, unlike elsewhere in the region, has thankfully not yet taken hold. I would highly recommend this hotel it is not cheap but is a wonderful product.

Room Tip: We have stayed in both Seagrape and Oleander seaview both a very good similar in quality and space i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Spice Island Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spice Island Beach Resort

Address: Grand Anse Beach | P.O. Box 6, St. George's 00000, Grenada
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Grenada > Saint George Parish > St. George's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in St. George's
#2 Top resorts Hotel in St. George's
#3 Luxury Hotel in St. George's
#3 On the Beach Hotel in St. George's
#3 Business Hotel in St. George's
#3 Spa Hotel in St. George's
#4 Family Hotel in St. George's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Spice Island Beach Resort 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paradise Re-Imagined. Owned and operated by Sir Royston Hopkin, KCMG and Family, this 64 suite Spice Island Beach Resort recreates its original elegance with a modern flair on Grenada’s breathtaking Grand Anse Beach. Sixteen hundred feet of powder white sand captivatingly frames 32 beachfront suites featuring indoor living rooms, breezy exterior terraces and private rock gardens. Graceful architecture complemented by new colours and exquisite furnishings make this award-winning resort even more exclusive. Presiding over these golden sands are the Cinnamon and Saffron Suites. Unmatched in elegance each of these One Bedroom Suites captures the spice scented breezes with lazy hammocks on private patios. Custom-furnished, and available as two bedrooms when booked with a Sea Grape Beach Suite, this is a beach lover’s dream. Seventeen additional pool suites have their own private swimming pools and gardens steps away from the ocean. The Royal Collection, Luxury Almond and Anthurium Pool suites are all private oasis that offer the guest an intimate experience like no other. All suites are equipped with modern luxuries like Flat Screen Televisions, Italian Frette™ Linen, Molton Brown® amenities and ensuite bathrooms featuring whirlpool tubs and double vanities it is little wonder that this tranquil haven continues to be a treasured secret amongst the travel elite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Orbitz, HotelsClick, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Spice Island Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spice Island Beach Hotel St. George`s
Spice Island Grenada
Hotel Spice Island Beach
Spice Island Beach Resort Grenada/Saint George Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spice Island Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.