We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Perfect Holiday Destination” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spice Island Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bookmark
You added Spice Island Beach Resort to your Saves list
Spice Island Beach Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Grand Anse Beach | P.O. Box 6, St. George's 00000, Grenada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in St. George's
England
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“A Perfect Holiday Destination”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Just back from a week in Grenada and wish I was still there! The island is lovely and not sold out to tourism like other islands. There is plenty to do, although a week on a beach is also appealing! Spice Island Resort really doesn't need another 5* review it will definitely not disappoint! It's close to the airport so no long transfer. We stayed in a Sea Grape suite which is worth the upgrade to be on the beach.The room higlight was the bed which is huge and super comfortable! The staff are very welcoming and warm and seemed to have a great rapport with guests. We really enjoyed the food - no complaints! Loved the beach, it's a public beach so lots of local people enjoying it, something new for us on previous holidays in the Caribbean as it's usually just hotel guests on the beach, I think it gave a true flavour of Grenada. I didn't use the spa so can't comment. When we stayed there were no families, it was mainly couples.

We have never been to the same place twice as the world is a big place and like to go somewhere new but I may reconsider this approach for another holiday at Spice Island!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    426
    51
    10
    16
    0
See reviews for
96
318
10
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We stayed in a Sea Grape suite, which was lovely; the staff were extremely welcoming and helpful and the food was really excellent - beautifully presented food and a very good selection of wines etc on the all inclusive list. A very relaxing stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Really not much more to add that other's haven't said already. Extremely relaxing resort. Sometimes we would even wonder if we were the only one's there. Food was absolutely exceptional at this resort. Presentation, taste and variety was beyond more than we had expected. Also, on another note, we did one tour while on the island with Mandoo (sp?). He was a great, knowledgeable, polite, curteous, etc.. tour guide. Would highly recommend him.

Room Tip: Had the Seagrape room. Was fantastic, back balcony opens up right onto the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I stayed here in october and had a wonderful time, the room was absolutely huge ( I was in a Sea Grape Beach Suite )and gorgeous and had a patio with a hammock and then led straight onto the beach - fabulous. All the staff were extremely helpful and I met a lot of guests who were repeat customers coming back year after year. The food was delicious and the ambiance in the restaurant was just the best, all in all an excellent hotel and fab beach and I would not hesitate to recommend this Hotel to anybody whether couples, individuals or families.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

If you can afford it, you won't regret staying at this resort. If you like to be treated with courtesy and respect at all times then this is the place for you. Staff are well trained to make you their number one priority. When occasionally things go wrong ( as is human) the management team go out of their way to make up for it. For example, one afternoon we were enjoying a 3 course lunch but the dessert was rather late in arriving( > 45 mins) so as it was getting late and we had sunbathing and swimming to do, we asked them to cancel it. Later that day, as an apology, we received a good bottle of champagne in an ice bucket delivered to our room ! With a compliments card:-) If you are going to stay here, the sea grape rooms are the only place to be! Right on the beach and definitely worth upgrading to if you can. It's a family run hotel and you get a weekly invite from Sir Royston Hopkin ( owner) to a cocktail party either at his phenomenal home or the hotel itself. He really cares that you have a great experience. Nice guy :-)

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epping
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed at the Spice Island this summer and my daughters have been asking since when we are going back. We had a Seagrape Suite, which was perfect for us as they open almost straight out onto the beach. This means you can paddle/swim and make sandcastles without having to lug a load of stuff from your room. The food in the restaurant was fabulous in my opinion, although my husband thought it was too fussy at times and the children's menu didn't change which was a shame (but having said that, they could order from the grown up one so that was fine). We were half board as we aren't big drinkers and I think that worked out best (we couldn't have eaten or drunk anything like enough to justify all inclusive !) My only gripe (which I did know about to be fair) was that as one of our daughters is under 5 we couldn't eat dinner in the main restaurant. I thought this would be fine, but its not really great when you are the only people not doing so !

The beach is lovely, the snorkelling good (better some days than others apparently) and the trip we did round the island on a dull day was very interesting. There isn't that much else to do however, so you need to be a beach/pool lover really. Our girls went to the kids club a few times which they enjoyed, although personally I would have liked a bit less Wii and a bit more getting out and about, but they liked it, so who am I to complain !

We all had a great holiday overal though and would recommend it.

Room Tip: Seagrape Suites are the best as they open straight out to the beach. I would have had serious room e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We discovered this beach resort while trying to book a caribbean holiday with virgin holidays, we wanted an island that was going to have fairly good weather for the time of the year and less likely to be affected by the hurricane season being towards the end of October. We were very pleased with our choice, on arrival at the airport in Grenada we were met by the virgin rep, a very nice lady who had lived on the island for about 27 years named Joanna. She welcomed my wife and i arranged to meet up with us at the hotel the next day and put us in an air conditioned taxi to the resort which was about 10 mins away. Once we got to the resort everything was 1st class! from the bell hop to the receptionist who booked us in and arranged for our luggage to be taken to our suite as all the rooms were suites. Ours was a very large air conditioned room with what i believe was a queen sized bed, 2 reclining chairs and all the bedroom furniture you could need and yet still very spacious. The bathroom was something else, it was the size of a bedroom in some hotels! it had a large jacuzzi bath, a purpose built wet room which could easily take more than 2 people and a towelling area where one could hold a little soiree.
Breakfast was buffet style freshly baked pastries with some of the menu prepared to specification from the kitchen. Dinner was a la carte with 5 dishes of fine dining, we did not have lunch at the resort as we were on half board basis, the only criticism i have is that we had to pay for soft drinks that we had with our dinner, would have understood being charge for alcoholic drinks! Its probably best to go on an all inclusive basis if you were into drinking as you would get unlimited premium alcoholic beverages included in the package. In all though the holiday was not cheap, you get what you pay for! and this was a quality holiday at a top end resort.
PS: there were lots of activities that were available off the resort on the island that could be booked through sunsation which was affiliated with the resort.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Spice Island Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spice Island Beach Resort

Address: Grand Anse Beach | P.O. Box 6, St. George's 00000, Grenada
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Grenada > Saint George Parish > St. George's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in St. George's
#2 Top resorts Hotel in St. George's
#3 Luxury Hotel in St. George's
#3 Spa Hotel in St. George's
#3 Business Hotel in St. George's
#3 On the Beach Hotel in St. George's
#4 Family Hotel in St. George's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Spice Island Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paradise Re-Imagined. Owned and operated by Sir Royston Hopkin, KCMG and Family, this 64 suite Spice Island Beach Resort recreates its original elegance with a modern flair on Grenada’s breathtaking Grand Anse Beach. Sixteen hundred feet of powder white sand captivatingly frames 32 beachfront suites featuring indoor living rooms, breezy exterior terraces and private rock gardens. Graceful architecture complemented by new colours and exquisite furnishings make this award-winning resort even more exclusive. Presiding over these golden sands are the Cinnamon and Saffron Suites. Unmatched in elegance each of these One Bedroom Suites captures the spice scented breezes with lazy hammocks on private patios. Custom-furnished, and available as two bedrooms when booked with a Sea Grape Beach Suite, this is a beach lover’s dream. Seventeen additional pool suites have their own private swimming pools and gardens steps away from the ocean. The Royal Collection, Luxury Almond and Anthurium Pool suites are all private oasis that offer the guest an intimate experience like no other. All suites are equipped with modern luxuries like Flat Screen Televisions, Italian Frette™ Linen, Molton Brown® amenities and ensuite bathrooms featuring whirlpool tubs and double vanities it is little wonder that this tranquil haven continues to be a treasured secret amongst the travel elite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Despegar.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Spice Island Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spice Island Beach Hotel St. George`s
Spice Island Grenada
Hotel Spice Island Beach
Spice Island Beach Resort Grenada/Saint George Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spice Island Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.