We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even Better After 15 Years!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spice Island Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Spice Island Beach Resort to your Saves list
Spice Island Beach Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Grand Anse Beach | P.O. Box 6, St. George's 00000, Grenada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in St. George's
Highland Village, Texas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Even Better After 15 Years!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

It was 15 years ago when we first stayed at the Spice Island Beach Resort in Grenada. At that time my wife was a travel agent. She had received a VERY special discount offer from this hotel and, in spite of knowing virtually nothing about it or the island (except that Reagan had invaded it!), we decided to accept, their "offer we couldn't refuse." It turned-out to be one of THE best vacations we have EVER enjoyed, including our past stays at Rock Resorts. The facilities were, obviously, SEVERAL years old but they were still quite lovely. The rooms were clean, well furnished and comfortable, the food was delicious, the water was beautiful (it's beauty exceeded only by that in Tahiti) and the wine/beer/booze flowed . . . freely. All this in an "All Inclusive Package"! A few years back (about 6-7 years ago?) the island and the resort were hit by a terrible hurricane (Ivan?) and virtually blown away. We had often wondered if the replacement resort would still be as great as the original had been. Well, we now know such thoughts were uncalled for. It is even BETTER than it was! ALL the facilities (rooms, furnishings, restaurants, bars, the pool, etc.) were marvelous! We had read some reviews by guests who had complained about the food. The main issues raised expressed the thoughts that the chef was, "creative" to the extent that the results were well beyond his abilities. Au Contraire! We found the selections most interesting, extensive and excellent. There was, however, one evening that we and our traveling companions saw nothing on the ever-changing menu that appealed to us. One of the restaurant supervisors overheard our expressions of disappointment and immediately asked what we'd LIKE to have. One of us said, "Well, I'd like some lobster tail." The other 3 chimed-in saying, they'd choose that, too. "No problem" was the supervisors immediate response. "Would you like it boiled or grilled and basted in garlic butter." We chose the latter. It was wonderful! This is the sort of service that we were treated to during our entire 8 day stay. We have NEVER, at any of our many vacation stays, witnessed such attention to detail and such hospitality form EVERY employee; from the lowest tier to the very highest (including the Owner and Managing Director who, on one evening, invited every guest in their 64 room facility, to a cocktail party at his families lovely home, situated atop a cliff overlooking the Caribbean Sea". Our ONLY negative relative to this vacation was the specific, "location" of our ocean front rooms. We all agreed that if (when?) we return we will be certain NOT to again be housed in rooms 44-45-46-47. The reason for saying this is that these rooms are located at the very South end of the Resort's property-line. This is the point where beach access is provided to the public which means there is a continuing stream of people walking/talking very close-by our rooms. Also, this is the location of a continuing project for clearing-out the sand accumulation that, if not removed daily, blocks a drain to the sea. The workmen who were there every day talked loudly and almost constantly while playing their radios, creating an unwelcome intrusion to our serenity. And, beautiful as the beach, flora and fauna were (even at this very spot) there was an unsightly, chain-link fence located on the property line. And, finally, on Sunday (when most of the "locals" are off from work) this location is a MAJOR gathering spot on the beach (which is, of course, not private property) for their rather rowdy celebrating, all day long and well into the following morning. Not so great for a premium property at premium rates. Still, this was our ONLY negative regarding our entire stay and it definitely did NOT spoil our vacation. It's just that everything would have been completely PERFECT otherwise. When we return we will also specify that we do NOT want to be near the North end property line, either. We believe ANY rooms other than the last 4 at either end of the Resort property line, would be A-OK. In summary, though, I hasten to repeat that this is, likely, our favorite resort of all where we've stayed in the past. We are not at all reluctant to, HIGHLY RECOMMEND the Spice Island Beach Resort!

Room Tip: Specify that you do NOT want to stay in any of the last 4 beach-front rooms near the resort property...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    412
    49
    10
    16
    0
See reviews for
92
308
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We had been due to stay at La source hotel, only to be told on arrival at Grenada airport, that it was closing down due to 'financial difficulties', and that Ba(who we d booked through), were placing us elsewhere!
After picking our jaws up off the floor...the local Ba rep, arranged our transport.
We stayed one night at The Calabash hotel, which although nice, could not offer us much in the keep fit department.
( small beach, and small gym).
After researching hours on our I pads, we found Spice island. We asked to be moved, and Ba booked us in.
My sister and I were very upset that we were unable to have the sporty/ keep fit/ lose a few pounds holiday we d signed up for!
However, we were eventually pleased we'd (by default), discovered such a lovely place.
It's a beautiful resort, on a stunning beach. ( Grand Anse).
The water is crystal clear and soft white sand.
It's about 10 mins from the airport although not on the flight path and we never heard one aircraft!
For a few nights we stayed in a suite with a pool ( anthruim suite), which give 100% privacy, and a dip pool, but no view of the beach/sea at all.
We then moved to a beach front (sea grape suite).
doors open to a terrace with sun loungers, hammock and directly on the beach. not so private, but far enough back from the public areas.
After finally unpacking properly, we began a wonderful holiday!
The staff really make the hotel the best we ve ever stayed in, in the Caribbean.
( and we are lucky enough to have visited most).
There are just too many staff names to mention...but Thankyou all for a wonderful stay.
We walked/ ran the beach most days, and the gym was well equipped.
There's plenty of water sports/ dive boats to choose from also. ( we met other guests who said the diving was great).
The food chices were good, with fresh fish, sea food, including lobster available every day. Mostly a la carte, with salad/ breakfast buffets also available.
Nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff to arrange for you.
We were on an all inclusive deal. Your mini bar is stocked with whichever soft and alcoholic drinks you ask for daily, and bottled water.
( there's a small shopping mall with a supermarket along the road also).
Rooms are spacious, tasteful, flat screen tv/ DVD players... Bathrooms large, jacuzzi bath, seperate large shower.
The decor and finish throughout the hotel is classy and luxurious, without feeling ott. ( Molton brown products throughout).
Some evening live music etc, but generally fairly quiet after dinner (which suited us..)
We also met the owners, Lord and Lady Hopkin, at their weekly cocktail evening. A friendly and gracious couple, who give so much back to their community through scholarships and other worthy causes.
The beach does have lots of locals selling various trinkets/ souvenirs. Politely telling them no thanks, works fine,
( although some are more persistent than others!).
Without question we will return, and take our families with us.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

We were on a two week AI holiday at LaSource when it suddenly closed and we had to move to another hotel. We had looked at The Spice Island on a number of occasions but wondered if it would be too stuffy for us. After BA advised it was ful and couldn't get us in I contacted the hotel and advised our interest to visit and asked them to talk to BA to get us transferred. BA then came back with a room available and we were lucky enough to get into a Royal Collection Villa with Pool. This was a superb room with totally private pool and sunbeds, garden table and chairs and a personal sauna. The room was fantastic with two flat screen TV's a fully stocked bar and bathroom whit whirlpool.

The dining experience was by far the best we have experienced in the Caribbean to where we have travelled more than 15 times in the last 16 years. The staff were all friendly and lovely, in fact everyone on the island is so.

We were only at the Spice Island for a few days but we loved every minute and will most definitely be back as soon as we can.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK & Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We have just spent 7 glorious nights at Spice Island and it has been absolutely excellent in every way. It was quiet and peaceful which is what is needed to recharge the batteries. The staff were very polite and friendly, and they remember your name when they see you which is nice. A few new trainees are in very capable hands. As has been said in most of the previous reviews, the food was very good. The evening menus change daily and are available each morning with lots of choice and good use of local ingredients, but if there is something special you would like (or something plainer) then you only have to ask during the day and it can be arranged. Lunch choices have a Catch of the Day, and the famous “Roti” which is usually curried meat, fish or veg in a sort of wrap.

Restaurant and bar service was not “Fast Food” so there was a wait, but it is the Carribean so RELAX and CHILL. All-Inclusive is really the way to go as the individual meals and drinks would soon add up.

We chose a Seagrape Suite which was lovely and right on the beach, They provide Molton Brown toiletries, high-grade Frette bedding, and as we had All Inclusive, we had a fully stocked bar in the room. If there is something special you want put in the fridge then just ask.
The bar and restaurant staff were so good we decided to leave a Communal tip for them all at Reception, which seemed the fairer way to do it as there are lots of people behind the scenes.

We look forward to returning but for now we have many happy memories. If you want luxury, peace and tranquillity then this is the resort for you. Clear blue sea, tropical location and a fantastic beach!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We returned to Spice Island in September for our third visit in 4 years. This time we decided to upgrade from the wonderful Seagrape Suites located directly on the beach to an Almond Suite with an enclosed private garden and a plunge pool. This was located in the grounds but was only a short few yards stroll from Grand Anse Beach. It was everything that we hoped for and more. The luxury, comfort and privacy were wonderful. We walked the full 2.5 miles length of the beautiful beach (and then back) most days. A wonderful way to keep fit.

Sir Royston was away on business but left in the very capable hands of Brian Hardy, the general manager, and Ryan Hopkin with the rest of the management team, the Resort was running as smoothly as ever. The staff are all absolutely wonderful, always friendly and super efficient. There are too many terrific members of staff to name them all, but with apologies to those not mentioned we have to particularly commend Wendy, Fabian, Allister, Martha, Christell, Danni, Lyndonna etc. The newer, younger members of staff are given excellent training from their colleagues and really take pride in working at the resort (Matthew & Kurt spring to mind).

The food in the hands of Jesson Church, the wonderful Chef and his team, is varied and makes excellent use of local fish, meat, chicken, fruit and vegetables. The ice creams and sorbets are amazing! In the unlikely event that a guest is unsure about the choices on the menu then dishes can be varied or a special request made. Just ask if you are unsure and the staff are always willing to explain and assist.

We took a private taxi trip with our old friends at Sunsation Tours. Johanna is extremely helpful and Ian managed to once again discover lots of lovely hidden treasures around the beautiful island of Grenada. The people of Grenada are rightly very proud of their new Olympic Gold Medal winner, Kerani James so you will see lots of signs at the airport and all around the island.

We cannot wait to return again to this paradise resort.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

My fiance and I stayed at the Resort from 20th September 2012 to 25th September 2012 inclusive. The Resort is very clean and comfortable with the most warm and friendly staff. We stayed in one of the Sea Grape Suites and it was very clean, comfortable and easily accessible to the Gran Anse beach. Our five days was very relaxing and quiet, just want we needed and more. We loved the food and my fiance enjoyed the wide variety of drinks at the bar. Both the barmen and barmaids were very friendly. We would definitely recommend this Resort to anyone who is looking for a relaxing vacation. All the front desk staff were very helpful; on our first day I got assitance to find a nail shop. Hats off to management and staff for their impeccable service. We would surely return.

Room Tip: Seagrape Suite (Room10) not too far from pool and bar area, peaceful and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

A simply stunning island. So beautiful.
The hotel was just gorgeous. Everything we hoped for and more.
I have stayed in hotels all over the world and this ranks up there with the best.
The room was not over fancy, it had everything you could want or need. Patio doors opening out straight on to the beach ...sublime.
The room was spotlessly clean , the mini bar re stocked every day. We do not like sugary soft drinks i mentioned this to the mini bar man and he asked us what we wanted and filled up the bar with drinks we liked! Fantastic service.
We thought the food was amazing. I can not eat dairy and egg products so it is often a huge problem for me. Not at Spice island they bent over backwards to ensure that I did not have anything that might make me ill. This made the holiday for me. I read a review saying the food was limiting??? Were we staying at the same hotel?? If the menu did not suit you only had to ask for something else and it was done if at all possible 10 out of 10 for that.
Would visit again in a heart beat.

Room Tip: We had a problem with mosquitos . We discovered they were coming in through the extractor fan. We pu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Spice Island Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spice Island Beach Resort

Address: Grand Anse Beach | P.O. Box 6, St. George's 00000, Grenada
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Grenada > Saint George Parish > St. George's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in St. George's
#2 Top resorts Hotel in St. George's
#3 Luxury Hotel in St. George's
#3 Business Hotel in St. George's
#3 Spa Hotel in St. George's
#3 On the Beach Hotel in St. George's
#4 Family Hotel in St. George's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Spice Island Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paradise Re-Imagined. Owned and operated by Sir Royston Hopkin, KCMG and Family, this 64 suite Spice Island Beach Resort recreates its original elegance with a modern flair on Grenada’s breathtaking Grand Anse Beach. Sixteen hundred feet of powder white sand captivatingly frames 32 beachfront suites featuring indoor living rooms, breezy exterior terraces and private rock gardens. Graceful architecture complemented by new colours and exquisite furnishings make this award-winning resort even more exclusive. Presiding over these golden sands are the Cinnamon and Saffron Suites. Unmatched in elegance each of these One Bedroom Suites captures the spice scented breezes with lazy hammocks on private patios. Custom-furnished, and available as two bedrooms when booked with a Sea Grape Beach Suite, this is a beach lover’s dream. Seventeen additional pool suites have their own private swimming pools and gardens steps away from the ocean. The Royal Collection, Luxury Almond and Anthurium Pool suites are all private oasis that offer the guest an intimate experience like no other. All suites are equipped with modern luxuries like Flat Screen Televisions, Italian Frette™ Linen, Molton Brown® amenities and ensuite bathrooms featuring whirlpool tubs and double vanities it is little wonder that this tranquil haven continues to be a treasured secret amongst the travel elite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Spice Island Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spice Island Beach Hotel St. George`s
Spice Island Grenada
Hotel Spice Island Beach
Spice Island Beach Resort Grenada/Saint George Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spice Island Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.