We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spice Island Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Spice Island Beach Resort to your Saves list
Spice Island Beach Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Grand Anse Beach | P.O. Box 6, St. George's 00000, Grenada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in St. George's
Harrogate UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

Our first visit to this resort and it was excellent as many other reviews have highlighted the combination of a number of elements makes this a quality package. The location on the Grande Anse Beach and staying in a Seagrape Suite which allows you to walk out and enjoy the sand, blue sea and a great view. The food is top restaurant quality and not over facing with a very varied menu which should suit all test including vegetarian. The staff by are large very helpful and certainly the service in the restaurant and bar was good. They have a good gym if you are interested in trying to balance the calories while you are there with a variety of machines. The Spa was also good and reasonable prices for treatments. If you want a truly relaxing holiday in a wonderful location on a very nice island this is the place for you. Downsides maybe a couple of minor ones, quality of the house wine is not great and the entertainment is not brilliant although the steel band was good.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    426
    51
    10
    16
    0
See reviews for
96
318
10
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harwich
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

We have just returned from this real gem of a resort where we completely relaxed for twelve wonderful days.
We stayed in a Seagrapes suite on the beach and next to the pool .The suite was large and well appointed having been recently updated.Not perhaps as private as the large Pool suites that lay behind off the beach but would be our choice again if we are lucky enough to return.
The food here is excellent including the vegetarian options.There is just too much of it if you go A.I.We cut out lunch after a couple of days so that we didn't have to buy a new wardrobe.
The beach is lovely with friendly faces all the way along as you walk off that delicious breakfast.Even the beach hawkers are polite and don't bother you.
The staff are excellent and really make your stay.Polite they remember your name smile and go out of their way to make you feel at home.
Management cares and it shows.
A great place to go and relax.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

I've never had such good service as at Spice Island. The organisation and attention to detail is fabulous, but at the same time the hotel is not pretentious or intimidating - just friendly and genuine. They were also flexible enough to deal with the random demands of a jet-lagged 3 year old. The location is great too - right on the main beach but only a few minutes drive from the airport, but still quiet and relaxed. We also loved Grenada. While tourism is obviously a big part of their economy, much of the island is untouched by it. The beaches are beautiful and quiet, and the people everywhere are friendly and charming. Unlike some of the larger Caribbean islands, we never felt unsafe or hassled. There's not much I'd change. Spice Island isn't cheap, but service like this does come at a price. The decor of the hotel is fine, but is perhaps more classical than you might find in a cool and funky boutique hotel. But we're being picky. It was great, and we'd go back in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: We had a garden room as we assumed the beachside rooms wouldn't be worth the premium. From the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarm
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

Or fourth visit to Spice Island, so you know we like it! On this visit we were impressed by how many others had stayed before, and how many "first timers" were already planning to come back.Why the popularity? I think there are four reasons
Position. From the hotel you step directly onto the two-and-a-half miles of Grande Anse Beach. In adition there are several gentle walks available from the hotel to places such as Quarentine Point and Mourne Rouge. Across the road is a shopping mall with a supermarket, a bank and a pharmacy in addition to smaller local shops. If you want to get to the capital, St Geoges, the number one bus takes you there from the road end.
The rooms. We stayed in a Seagrape Suite which has a bathroom with a jacuzzi bath and a shower, a large bedroom with lots of storage space, a lounge area with a TV and DVD player, a covered patio and an outside patio equipped with loungers and a hammock
The food. The food here has steadily improved over the years and is now first-class (though it's easy to eat too much). The house wines are better than they were, and the bar is well stoked and has good bar staff, The service in the restaurant is good.
The staff. As with any hotel the staff have an enormous importance when it comes to enjoyment.We found them welcoming and efficient, and it's probably noteable that several have been there since we first went in 2006. The Hopkins family, who own the hotel,are ever present, which ensures everone is on their toes.

Any drawbacks? The entertainment is of mixed quality, and if you want to be in the bar drinking noisily until the early hours of the morning this is not the place for you - the bar shuts at 11pm, and is often empty well before that.

Room Tip: Choose a Seagrape suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

Just spent an amazing four nights at Spice Island, lovely Hotel. Rooms modern and very clean. Beach absolutely beautiful. Lastly Hotel Manager Brian is fantastic.

Make sure you pop into Umbrellas beach bar, situated next to the hotel, their famous chicken wings are the best.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

We have just returned from a 10 night stay and can't praise the resort enough, we had a lovely Cinnamon Suite which was superb, large, clean and beautifull furnished and a well stocked bar to boot.
From the moment we arrived the staff were freindly and efficient, but not in your face, and by the next day it seemed that they all knew you and addressed you by your name, made you feel very welcome.
The food, as mentioned in many reviews was excellent, breakfast, lunch, afternoon tea and dinner, the choice, presentation and quality could not be faulted, in fact the choices were so enticing you struggled to decide each evening what to have.
Beach was clean and sea warm and safe.
Location only 10 mins from airport too was a bonus, but not a sound of any aircraft.
Felt safe and secure all the time, even the local beach sellers were pleasant, freindly and didn't bother you if you didnt want them too.
All in all a highly recommeded resort and we will be going back.
Highly recommeded

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aberdeenshire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

my wife and I were enticed by the gourmet descriptio of this hotel. We were not disappointed. After just three nights I had to put one of my pairs of trousers back in the case because they refused to fasten!. The food was sublime from breakfast through lunch to the phenomenal evening meals. Good wine and good beer of course helped it all slide down too well.
I must also mention the quality of the staff at this place. I have stayed in many a fine establishment throughout the world and they should all send their staff here to learn how it is done. From front desk to waiting staff and gardeners to barmen, they were all brilliant. My wife is a stickler for cleanliness and commented that she had never stayed in a place so well cleaned and maintained. You may have by now guessed that we had a great holiday. We will go back. In fact most of the guests when we were there were on 2nd, 3rd or more visits. We agreed that this was the best hotel we had stayed at in the caribbean...by far.

Room Tip: sea grape suites on the beach. worth the supplement. also go all inclusive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Spice Island Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spice Island Beach Resort

Address: Grand Anse Beach | P.O. Box 6, St. George's 00000, Grenada
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Grenada > Saint George Parish > St. George's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in St. George's
#2 Top resorts Hotel in St. George's
#3 Business Hotel in St. George's
#3 Luxury Hotel in St. George's
#3 Spa Hotel in St. George's
#3 On the Beach Hotel in St. George's
#4 Family Hotel in St. George's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Spice Island Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paradise Re-Imagined. Owned and operated by Sir Royston Hopkin, KCMG and Family, this 64 suite Spice Island Beach Resort recreates its original elegance with a modern flair on Grenada’s breathtaking Grand Anse Beach. Sixteen hundred feet of powder white sand captivatingly frames 32 beachfront suites featuring indoor living rooms, breezy exterior terraces and private rock gardens. Graceful architecture complemented by new colours and exquisite furnishings make this award-winning resort even more exclusive. Presiding over these golden sands are the Cinnamon and Saffron Suites. Unmatched in elegance each of these One Bedroom Suites captures the spice scented breezes with lazy hammocks on private patios. Custom-furnished, and available as two bedrooms when booked with a Sea Grape Beach Suite, this is a beach lover’s dream. Seventeen additional pool suites have their own private swimming pools and gardens steps away from the ocean. The Royal Collection, Luxury Almond and Anthurium Pool suites are all private oasis that offer the guest an intimate experience like no other. All suites are equipped with modern luxuries like Flat Screen Televisions, Italian Frette™ Linen, Molton Brown® amenities and ensuite bathrooms featuring whirlpool tubs and double vanities it is little wonder that this tranquil haven continues to be a treasured secret amongst the travel elite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Spice Island Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spice Island Beach Hotel St. George`s
Spice Island Grenada
Hotel Spice Island Beach
Spice Island Beach Resort Grenada/Saint George Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spice Island Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.