We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some interesting things but a bit sparse otherwise” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grenada National Museum

Grenada National Museum
Corner of Young and Monckton Streets, St. George's, Grenada
473-440-3725
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Hodgepodge of exhibits including fragments of Amerindian pottery, an old rum still and a grubby marble bathtub that once belonged to Empress Josephine.
berkshire, england
Level Contributor
140 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Some interesting things but a bit sparse otherwise”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Doing a walking tour of St George's and called in to the museum. As we found elsewhere, some really friendly and helpful people in the museum eager to assist. Place looked a bit sad and in need of support but a few interesting things. Walking tour ok and the Fort worth it if only for the views.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank taffy_on_the_road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Tiny”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Yes it's very small and most visitors would probably not notice it but at least you can gain some knowledge about the island's history. Only 5 ECD to get in so it won't break the bank and you can probably do the whole place in 10 minutes if you like. I was the only visitor there when I went so took my time and enjoyed what little I saw. They are currently doing the place up a bit.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Dunklaymin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
82 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Needs help!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

So we felt we should go in, given we spent the day in St George's, we walked past it on the way down from the fort. We went in and paid about 4ECD each. The first exhibits are pretty dire - butterflies, coral, all seen better days. It did get a bit better later on but not by much. There was a Bianca C exhibit upstairs that was vaguely interesting but only as we'd dived her a few days prior. I think a lot of the exhibition upstairs was lost in the Hurricane in 2004. It's worth going as they need your money but its not going to blow you away. Also very hot in there - its an 18th Century French building originally used as a prison and then a hotel.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank essjay2730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaguanas, Trinidad
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Boring!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Okay there was literally nothing to see here apart from some pictures and a video of a ship called Bianca which sunk off the coast of Grenada before I was born

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nabihah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Historic gem that can use all the visitors it can get”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

This is truly (almost) a hidden gem, that anyone visiting can learn a lot about Grenada - from the first settlers from South America to the Queen's Diamond Jubilee - during one of their many tours. Admission is low, so donate more if you can....and tell your frieds!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank artstung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grenada National Museum also viewed

St. George's, Saint George Parish
St. George's, Saint George Parish
 
St. George's, Saint George Parish
St. George's, Saint George Parish
 

Been to Grenada National Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing