We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tiny” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grenada National Museum

Grenada National Museum
Corner of Young and Monckton Streets, St. George's, Grenada
473-440-3725
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 43 things to do in St. George's
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Hodgepodge of exhibits including fragments of Amerindian pottery, an old rum still and a grubby marble bathtub that once belonged to Empress Josephine.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Tiny”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Yes it's very small and most visitors would probably not notice it but at least you can gain some knowledge about the island's history. Only 5 ECD to get in so it won't break the bank and you can probably do the whole place in 10 minutes if you like. I was the only visitor there when I went so took my time and enjoyed what little I saw. They are currently doing the place up a bit.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    44
    27
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
75 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Needs help!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

So we felt we should go in, given we spent the day in St George's, we walked past it on the way down from the fort. We went in and paid about 4ECD each. The first exhibits are pretty dire - butterflies, coral, all seen better days. It did get a bit better later on but not by much. There was a Bianca C exhibit upstairs that was vaguely interesting but only as we'd dived her a few days prior. I think a lot of the exhibition upstairs was lost in the Hurricane in 2004. It's worth going as they need your money but its not going to blow you away. Also very hot in there - its an 18th Century French building originally used as a prison and then a hotel.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaguanas, Trinidad
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Boring!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Okay there was literally nothing to see here apart from some pictures and a video of a ship called Bianca which sunk off the coast of Grenada before I was born

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Historic gem that can use all the visitors it can get”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

This is truly (almost) a hidden gem, that anyone visiting can learn a lot about Grenada - from the first settlers from South America to the Queen's Diamond Jubilee - during one of their many tours. Admission is low, so donate more if you can....and tell your frieds!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, Essex.
Level Contributor
118 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Moth Eaten in Parts.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

This museum is pretty small for an island so steeped in history. However, once you get past the dreadfully moth eaten stuffed birds and museum beetle nibbled cases of insects, there's some quite interesting stuff; mainly to do with the Caribbeans original inhabitants, the Amerindians, Caribs and Kyaks (the latter now exclusively referred to on Carriacou). Or self appointed guide during our visit in May '12, was the UK ex-pat Liz Rafferty, a humourous and knowledgable volunteer at the museum. There are some serious holes in the museum's understanding of its exhbitis though; a fossil fish described as a hundred thousands years old, when a couple of extra noughts were called for; a 'shoe-shine' box which in fact is a butter making machine and an accompanying stone flagon said to be used for shoe blacking materials. But all of this adds to the charm of the place and their efforts to survive and improve their exhibits has to be admired.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grenada National Museum also viewed

St. George's, Saint George Parish
St. George's, Saint George Parish
 
St. George's, Saint George Parish
St. George's, Saint George Parish
 

Been to Grenada National Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grenada National Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.