We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Caribbean Food and Family Owned Restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Boots Cuisine

Boots Cuisine
Grand Anse Valley Road | Woodlands, St. George's 1473, Grenada
473-444-2151
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 53 Restaurants in St. George's
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great Caribbean Food and Family Owned Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

We had a great dining experience at "Boots". They arranged for someone to pick us up at our hotel and drop us off for $50 EC round trip from the Grand Anse area. The dinner menu is a five course meal with your choice of entree. The dinner was good and the service was excellent. Very quaint and clean with a charm of its own.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    14
    1
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

Lovely food, great service, lovely husband and wife team. Good value and too much to eat

Visited February 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic cordon bleu home-cooking option”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

We had had an uncomfortable experience eating at Patrick's (we were the only ones there and it was all a bit intense - you felt you had to love everything and say so, or you'd be in trouble!) so we were a little bit wary of eating in someone's home again, but Boots has such good reviews we thought we'd give it a go. We weren't disappointed.

The food and the whole experience at Boots is a world apart from Patrick's. We didn't have to pretend we loved everything - we simply did love everything! And the service was friendly but not at all intrusive. If we go back to Grenada, we'll be back at Boots like a shot!(though it wasn't too easy to find in the dark!)

  • Visited February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas,TX
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“We'll be back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

I am so glad we found the reviews of Boots on TripAdvisor before we went to Grenada! We made same-day reservations for dinner and availed ourselves of Boots' pickup option from our hotel. The family couldn't be more friendly and the food is plentiful and excellent. Favorites from our meal include the pumpkin soup, the eggplant and crawfish appetizer and the rum raisin ice cream. The main dishes we tried were large, tasty portions of swordfish for me and curried chicken for my husband.

The setting was a small outdoor patio and were were the only diners that evening. It was very quaint, though since we were there in mid-Sept, it was an exceptionally warm, humid evening and we would have been incredibly grateful for ceiling fans to move the air a bit. Despite that drawback, we will definitely be repeat customers when we return to the beautiful island of Grenada.

Thank you to Ruby and Boots for a great introduction to Grenadian charm and cuisine!

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A real Grenadian treat from a wonderful Grenadian family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

Boots cooks up a 3 course fixed price table d'hote menu. For EC$90 (£22.50) you get a 3 course meal of traditional Grenadian fare, nicely cooked and presented.
To begin you get a trio of starters (typically a soup, a traditional fritter or stuffed pancake, and a small salad with homemade dressing) and a roll & butter. You can then select from a choice of 3 mains. We went twice and both had different mains each time, and between us we had lambi (conch), lobster, beef stew and jerk pork, all wonderful, and each with 9 different accompaniments on the plate.Finally, if you have any room left, is a plate containing a trio consisting of 3 small samples of locally produced desserts. Everything was well prepared and presented, so each meal was extremely good vfm.
The wine list is somewhat limited, but both the red and white were acceptable and fairly priced, and I also sampled the rum punch, which went down far too well. We were also supplied with plenty of complimentary chilled water.
To the less adventurous tourist the location may seem a little daunting, as the restaurant is out of town and Woodlands is not really somewhere you would want to walk to from St Georges. A member of the family will however collect you from your hotel and for a modest fee of EC$50 (£12.50) provides a return journey for your party.
The setting itself is not your typical restaurant, but is a covered enclosed veranda at the side of the family home on the southern side of the Great Anse Valley Road. It would struggle to seat more than 16 people at any one time, so booking ahead is advisable.
We were treated as both freinds and guests from the moment we arrived. Boots the chef made time to come out and talk to us after he had finished cooking, whilst his wife Ruby in charge of front of house is charmingly friendly, and her sister helped to serve the meal. Their daughter took our resevation and son provided the taxi service, so it is a real family concern, and a genuine taste of Grenadian hospitality.
Whenever we return to Grenada, Boots will be the first place we look for to eat.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boots Cuisine also viewed

St. George's, Saint George Parish
 
St. George's, Saint George Parish
St. George's, Saint George Parish
 

Been to Boots Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boots Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.