We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday BBQ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Aquarium Restaurant

The Aquarium Restaurant
Point Salines Beach | Magazine Beach, St. George's, Grenada
(473) 444-1410
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 53 Restaurants in St. George's
Price range: $17 - $65
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Buffet, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Expanded and refurbished in September 2009, The Aquarium Restaurant has a stylish yet relaxed atmosphere, right on Magazine Beach with stunning ocean views. Fresh cocktails or lunch under palm trees, fine dining, relaxed lounging… a breezy dining room with two seawater aquariums, bamboo railings and leather couches, a river-stone lounge bar with funky rattan furniture, a new Koi-pond and waterfall from the natural cliff. Local fish carvings and 3D paintings reflect the tropical underwater scenery.
Scotland
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“Sunday BBQ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Good simple BBQ food, nothing too special. Death by chocolate dessert excellent. Took a while for them to sort our reservation out and actually allocate us a table. We had 3 tables before we ended up at the correct one, very strange and a bit disorganised. The band was excellent, highly recommend staying for this.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    141
    61
    35
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Not what it was”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We have been going to the Aquarium for 10 years, but sadly on our last visit it had gone off. Maybe because the owner is too busy running two restaurants. I used to rate the callalloo cannelloni as one of the world's top ten dishes.....but this time it failed to excite. Rather dry and with grated parmesan on top.... And the overcooked pieces of blackened swordfish were just plonked on top of mashed potato, with ginger flavoured carrots that tasted like pure ginger. And the service was mundane and perfunctionary.
Very sad........

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Absolutey Beautiful !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Went to Aquariums at night. There is a fantastic beach ambiance at this waterfront restaurant. Very open classic Caribbean setting. Beautiful floors, ceilings, etc. I really can't say enough about the setting here. The grilling operation is separated out from the rest of the cooking facilities. There were five of us and we all tried different things from the menu. Everything was great. I had the lobster. Fantastic.

The service was quite speedy - way faster than most Caribbean restaurants so if you are the impatient gringo type, this may be the place for you.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornwall
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“MIXED THOUGHTS”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

visited 27 feb 4 ad 2 ch , for the evening meal , service was fine , food was very good i had the 3 flavoured pork medallions( not a large meal ) wife had fish , very good , and a couple of veggie options, children had fish & chips (large portions )couple of puddings not available when ordered not even vanilla ice cream, also no port to finish off with. a little more expensive here but great presentation , just gee up the staff a little if your waiting, but saying that we went back for lunch on 28 feb , better menu the burger was huge hot and fresh , children loved their chicken nuggets and fries (fresh chk breast ) beers fine rum & coke strong , prefer the lunch menu , sometimes feel some staff dont really want to be there, hardly a smile or simple hello , but dont let that put you off, the food is good and you can sit next to the beach with great views , 5 mins from the airport i will be back in 2014

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A Sunday Tradition”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

If we're on Grenada we go to the Aquarium for their Sunday barbeque...it's a must! They have what we call 'Tom and Jerry' steaks but they call Cowboy steaks - so big they hang over the edge of the plate, Cornish hen (I'm not sure they have any connection with Cornwall, but they are very good), standard size steaks which are delicious and all the usual salads, sides etc..........plus live music and a great local crowd. The only downside is the beach vendors who not only come off the beach to hassle you at your table but even take to the dancefloor!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Aquarium Restaurant also viewed

St. George's, Saint George Parish
 
St. George's, Saint George Parish
St. George's, Saint George Parish
 

Been to The Aquarium Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Aquarium Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.