We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful long stretch of beach in the middle of nowhere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Playa Rincon

Playa Rincon
, Dominican Republic
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$58*
and up
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Aruba
Level Contributor
39 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Beautiful long stretch of beach in the middle of nowhere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

A long trip by SUV, roads are not great. Totally worth it though!
It is surrounded by palm trees everywhere, there are local restaurants (think selfmade huts) if you go to the left and some restaurants if you go to the right.

On the left there is also a spring with fresh water. If you want you can rent a boat with boatsman, which will row you up the stream. The day we came, there was a lot of seaweed in the water so we did not swim in the sea, but we did swim in the fresh water though. Real cold, but thats great because the the temperatures were high. Rowing up the stream was also nice. Really calm and nice to see different plants and animals like red crabs.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    372
    112
    55
    14
    14
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“AMAZING”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

very beautiful beach worth going, We went twice :) Water is clean, the view is amazing, the food at the little restaurant was delicious

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, CO
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful beach, but beware of thieves”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

My husband and I recently took a day trip to Playa Rincon. We had rented a car and found that the roads to the beach weren't as terrible as we anticipated and there were signs along the way leading us from the city of Samana to the beach.
The beach is beautiful, white sand, clear warm water and a jungle landscape behind. There were restaurants on either side, however my husband and I found a deserted spot in the middle of the beach and had brought food and drinks, so we didn’t have any need to go to the restaurants.
We parked and locked the car near the beach and had our beach towels and beach bag with us. We should have left our beach bag in our rental car. We were told later by the Politur (Tourist Police) that thieves target easy thefts like grabbing people’s bags, and probably would not have broken the window of the rental car.
With that being said we had the keys to the rental car in our beach bag and had to wait 8 hours for the rental car company to drive a replacement car out to us from Santo Domingo on a flat bed truck. Apparently the rental car company didn’t have a spare key.
Our bag went missing around 2:30 pm, and we were able to ask another couple for assistance as my husband’s phone was also in the beach bag. Luckily the couple had a cell phone they let us use to contact our hotel and the rental car company, and we are truly grateful for their assistance. They also helped us with translating and stayed with us until after dark.
There was a passing tour group and we were able to flag them down, to let them know what had happened and the tour operator called the Politur who came to take a report of what had happened and get a list of our missing items. The Politur also stayed with us to watch the car, in case the thieves came back for the car.
The couple had stayed with us until around 9 pm when one of the Politur loaned them his scooter so they could make it back to their Hostel before the gates closed at 10. I was thankful not to be alone on a deserted beach at night, although it was beautiful and the stars shone bright in the sky. I was also really impressed with the charitable nature of everyone we encountered.
We had to go to the nearby city of Samana to file a police report the next day. Be prepared with a couple of bucks in your pocket as a bribe if you want your police report the same day.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Best beach we have ever been to”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Fabulous backdrop, vegetation and mountains,miles of soft sand and safe swimming with sandy bottom out for miles!!!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Gorgeous beach!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We spent a day trip at the beach here and it was great. Lovely clear water and white sand, perfect for swimming and lounging by the sea. The best thing was that it was not crowded- although we were told they will soon build a hotel on this beach. A great day trip!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Playa Rincon also viewed

Samana Province, Dominican Republic
Las Terrenas, Samana Province
 
Samana Province, Dominican Republic
Samana Province, Dominican Republic
 

Been to Playa Rincon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Playa Rincon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.