We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST BEACH!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Playa Rincon

Playa Rincon
Dominican Republic
Improve this listing
Type: Beaches
Attraction Details
Gatineau, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“BEST BEACH!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I absolutely loved this beach, it's the most beautiful sight I have ever seen. White sand, turquoise water, abundance of palm trees; I just couldn't get enough!!! Found a lot of neat shells, met a little crab, and made friends with a dog running along! I wish we could have stayed longer; just an incredible experience!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    205
    59
    22
    4
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Stunning beach!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

me and my partner did this trip two days from the end of the holiday, i now wish we could of done it earlier so i could of gone bk as it was an absolutely stunning beach, very shallow in places and plenty of beach to find your own secluded spot, a proper paradise.and the lobster dinner was delicious after a nice cool swim in the turquoise blue waters. would definitely go bk.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederiksvaerk, Denmark
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Caribbean paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

What a beautiful beach! Clear, turquoise water - could stay there forever. It certainly deserves to be rated among the top 10 in the world.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“ATA trip”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

My husband & I took a ATV tour with Razor Tours in Samara and all went well with hotel pick up and starting our ATV ride to Playa el Rincon beach. The ride is bumpy, ride on dirt roads, travel through a village & nice country side. Out tour was my husband & I and another couple from Europe, their ATA broke down along the drive to the beach on the dirt road. Out guide spoke no English (which we were told we would have some one who did) nor did the other couple, after about 20-25/mins the ATV was jumped started & we were off again, after another 10/mins broke down again. The guide is on a motor bike and try to get ATV going again, he was unable to contact (no cell service) tour office for assistance. The day was sunny & was about 86/degrees, we were not offer any thing to drink or eat nor was anything explained. We sat in the sun and after about 15-20/mins the tour guide asked us to remove our stuff from our ATV and proceed to out the other couple's belonging on our ATV and drove off with the other couple on our working ATV and tour guide on his motorbike. We were left along with no explanation, water, in the sun, along ! There were villages there, but no one spoke English so we had no idea of what was going on. After another 30/mins guide returned with our working ATV (he dripped other couple off at beach) and he sat on the side with my husband drive & me holding on in the rear. Once we arrived at beach (very nice by the way) it seemed our guide left with out a word, wasn't able to find another tour groups or the other couple who was dropped off. Had to pay for a chair on the beach, had to buy of drinks/food. After about 20/mins, my husband went looking for others, he did find a restaurant & the owner spoke some English & called the police, who came & figured out who dropped us off & left us there. The police called & the tour group sent a ATV and a guide on a motorbike to come and get us. Once again no one spoke English & we had no idea of what was going on & assumed we would drive back to the tour headquarters and take the van back to our resort. After driving on dirt roads, we turned onto the main road & kept driving the ATV and following guide's bike. We're now on the main road driving an ATV through towns, we realized we must be driving back to the resort, so what happened to the a/c van that we came in. After about 30/min ride on the ATV we arrived back at resort, exhausted, angry and upset, as well as thirsty. With no apology or comments from guide they just left. But we had to borrow money from tour company (as we were unable to get cash from local ATM) which was very helpful, special as we had to buy our our drinks. We borrowed $750/pesos and upon our return to resort was going to pay tour company back. But the guides asked for $1,000/pesos, we're like NO we borrowed $750 & that's what we will back back. The guides were unpleasant and upset, they took the $750 & just drove off. We were shocked by our treatment & surprised, as we read many reviews. So our day was a waste and we very burnt for being in the sun, exhausted from lack of water and just plain tried ! ! So we can not recommend this excursion and special this tour company.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great beach, avoid Rubi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

The beach is long, empty and lovely. It's also hard to get to. The most common means seems to be by boat from Galeras. It is "divided" into the Domincian end and the foreigner end with the middle several miles empty. The division is one of tendency not some sort of rule. The foreigner end has a couple of pricey restaurants that cater to foreign tourists. The other end has a couple of beach shacks where freshly caught fish and lobsters are grilled over open fires. It also has the lovely, crystal clear river. It is by far the better place to be.

As best as I can tell the boats drop people off at the foreigner end. It is too far to walk to the other end and back so if you go by boat,be sure you can get on and off at the Dominican end. Here's why.
The ocean was rough the day we went so we rented a jeep ($50 plus $32 for gas) and drove out (not a problem but it takes an hour). Went to foreigner end and Rubi restuarant. Ordered a large beer for the 2 of us. 250 pesos ($6), tried to pay with a 500 peso bill ($12). Neither the bar nor the restaurant can make change. Had to get a second beer. Same beer at Dominican end is 125 and they can make change.

Played in the water then drove to the Dominican end. Lots of Dominican tourists, lots of kids. Lively. People were supper friendly. Had a huge lobster that we picked out live and watched them cook (1 for the 2 of us and we are big eaters) with rice/beans 750 peso (less than $20). Fun, great experience. Highly recommend it.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Playa Rincon also viewed

Las Terrenas, Samana Province
Samana Province, Dominican Republic
 
Las Galeras, Samana Province
Las Galeras, Samana Province
 

Been to Playa Rincon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Playa Rincon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Playa Rincon to your Saves list