We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun but bumpy!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Salto del Limon

El Salto del Limon
Dominican Republic
+1 829-931-6964
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Waterfalls
Attraction Details
Torquay, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fun but bumpy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Really enjoyed this trip but we did think think it would be a slow leisurely horse ride but it was a very bumpy ride that was hard work and a bit hairy also! Fine if your up for adventure and we did have lots of fun but maybe not for you if your not used to horses as they do slip around on the slopes and rocks. My husband and i both had a young male guide each and it was explained that they are not paid but rely on tips. Our guides was really helpful and sweet, took lots of pictures and happily carried our belongings. We tipped them generously as they worked really hard, they were considerate to take lots of pictures for us as we swam in the waterfall water at the end of the horse ride. We enjoyed jumping into the waterfall at the end of the trip very cooling and fun, when we returned to our hotel we were a bit achy from the riding! Take minimal bags with you and towel and camera. The horses seemed in good health and they were treated well by the guides, if they were not i could not of gone through with the trip but didnt feel they were poorly treated.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    85
    31
    9
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
“Nice waterfall but somewhat a bitter taste on tour with Santi”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We went on a horse ride tour to El Limon with Santi as advised here by one of the reviewers.
First, the lady at the desk didn't speak English, Spanish only - we felt it's strange taking into account that this company is so popular with tourists. She started giving us different prices in pesos for foot or horse tours, including lunch. We didn't want lunch and asked if she got price list in English. She got one - and the price for a horse ride was 750 pesos per person (without lunch, but tour, guide, and horse included as it was written). We confirmed we wanted exactly this kind of tour and paid. It was around 3 pm, and the guide was available right away (a phone call away and was at Santi in 5 minutes). Before he came, the lady started explaining to us we need to pay additional money to the guide, showing us 300 on calculator (meaning 300 pesos for guide). Since she spoke Spanish only, we couldn't really understand if guide is included in the tour or not. The guide was a Dominican guy, around 15-16 years old (hard to judge, but he looked more like a boy than a man). He didn't speak English, either, but on our way he tried to entertain us, showing different kinds of fruits and being overall very friendly and helpful. He also seemed knowledgeable of horses, and we felt very comfortable on horses with him along. He also explained to us as good as he could that he is not paid by the company, and all money he got for doing these trips are from tourists whom he is guiding to the waterfall. At the end of our trip we gave him 500 pesos, and he looked not very pleased - as though he expected at least 1000 p. We felt pretty strange after all - what have we paid for? The entrance fee for El Limon is 50 pesos per person, then for what we paid 700 pesos per person at Santi? For them, finding us a horse with a guide, if the guide is not paid by Santi? That's it?
As for the waterfall, it's nice and refreshing, and views are spectacular. Keep in mind, though, it's pretty far away, and trip is demanding. After a 1-hour ride one way we got off our horses and needed to walk down to the waterfall (50 meters drop) for another 15 minutes. The trip back to the horses, uphill all the way for another 20 minutes, was very tough.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“very pretty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

let start by saying the place is pretty getting there is and adventure with the horse riding the waterfall is very impressing nice spot if you like to explore nature.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kotka, Finland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice waterfall but bad arrangements”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Our tour guide never mentioned that the horse guides didn't get paid. It was our second last day in the country so we didn't have much pesos left so we ended up giving them very small tip. I felt so bad for them.

Our horses didn't look unhealthy or skinny and the guides didn't whip them. The horses walked incredibly well on the muddy path with huge rocks. The boys were really nice. They waited for us when we swam underneath the waterfall and hold our bags and clothes.

Nobody warned that the waterfall was that far! Some old people who didn't want to ride horses, went walking. I'm young but I don't know if I could have walked all the way down and up. I had a flue and also allergy of horses so my breathing wasn't very good at the moment.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“wonderful place to visit.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

it is an adventure to get there you must go by horses due to the muddy roads and steep hills . the water it is very refreshing to swim in it. must see this place highly recomended it. I loved it.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Salto del Limon also viewed

Samana Province, Dominican Republic
Samana Province, Dominican Republic
 
Samana Province, Dominican Republic
Samana Province, Dominican Republic
 

Been to El Salto del Limon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Salto del Limon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.