We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice waterfall but somewhat a bitter taste on tour with Santi” 3 of 5 stars
Review of El Salto del Limon

El Salto del Limon
Dominican Republic
+1 829-931-6964
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Waterfalls
Attraction Details
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
“Nice waterfall but somewhat a bitter taste on tour with Santi”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We went on a horse ride tour to El Limon with Santi as advised here by one of the reviewers.
First, the lady at the desk didn't speak English, Spanish only - we felt it's strange taking into account that this company is so popular with tourists. She started giving us different prices in pesos for foot or horse tours, including lunch. We didn't want lunch and asked if she got price list in English. She got one - and the price for a horse ride was 750 pesos per person (without lunch, but tour, guide, and horse included as it was written). We confirmed we wanted exactly this kind of tour and paid. It was around 3 pm, and the guide was available right away (a phone call away and was at Santi in 5 minutes). Before he came, the lady started explaining to us we need to pay additional money to the guide, showing us 300 on calculator (meaning 300 pesos for guide). Since she spoke Spanish only, we couldn't really understand if guide is included in the tour or not. The guide was a Dominican guy, around 15-16 years old (hard to judge, but he looked more like a boy than a man). He didn't speak English, either, but on our way he tried to entertain us, showing different kinds of fruits and being overall very friendly and helpful. He also seemed knowledgeable of horses, and we felt very comfortable on horses with him along. He also explained to us as good as he could that he is not paid by the company, and all money he got for doing these trips are from tourists whom he is guiding to the waterfall. At the end of our trip we gave him 500 pesos, and he looked not very pleased - as though he expected at least 1000 p. We felt pretty strange after all - what have we paid for? The entrance fee for El Limon is 50 pesos per person, then for what we paid 700 pesos per person at Santi? For them, finding us a horse with a guide, if the guide is not paid by Santi? That's it?
As for the waterfall, it's nice and refreshing, and views are spectacular. Keep in mind, though, it's pretty far away, and trip is demanding. After a 1-hour ride one way we got off our horses and needed to walk down to the waterfall (50 meters drop) for another 15 minutes. The trip back to the horses, uphill all the way for another 20 minutes, was very tough.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    81
    27
    9
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“very pretty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

let start by saying the place is pretty getting there is and adventure with the horse riding the waterfall is very impressing nice spot if you like to explore nature.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kotka, Finland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice waterfall but bad arrangements”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Our tour guide never mentioned that the horse guides didn't get paid. It was our second last day in the country so we didn't have much pesos left so we ended up giving them very small tip. I felt so bad for them.

Our horses didn't look unhealthy or skinny and the guides didn't whip them. The horses walked incredibly well on the muddy path with huge rocks. The boys were really nice. They waited for us when we swam underneath the waterfall and hold our bags and clothes.

Nobody warned that the waterfall was that far! Some old people who didn't want to ride horses, went walking. I'm young but I don't know if I could have walked all the way down and up. I had a flue and also allergy of horses so my breathing wasn't very good at the moment.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“wonderful place to visit.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

it is an adventure to get there you must go by horses due to the muddy roads and steep hills . the water it is very refreshing to swim in it. must see this place highly recomended it. I loved it.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
“Go with Santi - Don't promote child labor!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We went with a tour organized by Santi (who also runs restaurant in El Limon) and it was great and very good value ($25 p/p).

You go in a small private group and Santi uses a track that goes up the mountain (many other operators use an easier track that ends up behind the falls) with beautiful views and a nice 20 minute hike down to the falls. Take water shoes for swimming. Santi uses proper well-cared for horses and proper adult guides. You can also easily hike el Limon but on horseback is more comfortable (especially in wet conditions).

On your way to Santi's place do not stop or talk to anyone!! Just ignore any and all comments/questions as the restaurant is impossible to miss. Touts are all over the place.

Also - Many operators use children (some as young as 8) to lead there horses. This is illegal under DR law, a violation of these children's rights (they are legally supposed to be in school), and very dangerous (imagine 600 pounds of horse pushing into a tiny kid). Some experts consider this an extreme form of child labor. There are many idle/unemployed 18+ in El Limon so there is no excuse! When booking a tour make sure you ask for no children to be used - and refuse the tour if they don't comply.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Salto del Limon also viewed

Samana Province, Dominican Republic
Samana Province, Dominican Republic
 
Samana Province, Dominican Republic
Samana Province, Dominican Republic
 

Been to El Salto del Limon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Salto del Limon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added El Salto del Limon to your Saves list