We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice resort, but beware...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa to your Saves list
Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Loma Puerto Escondido S/N | PO Box 32000, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 57 Hotels in Samana Province
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice resort, but beware...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2010

My wife and I were there for a week and had a really nice time as we were able to do some hiking and were given an hour included each day with either snorkeling, paddle boating or sea kayaking. As a whole it as a good (not great) time. The beware part of my review is a rather shady bartender by the name of Armando. My wife had asked for two specific drinks, however in return she received two drinks of mamawana and cola, followed by two questions. Sleepy, sleepy? And would you like to come the the club in samana with me after? Not what should be asked by a bartender at a world class resort in my opinion, especially since the amount of mamawana fed to her unannounced made her so messed up she could barely walk. Outside of this experience we had a good time. Having said all of that, even though its gated and guarded; keep in mind it is a 3rd world country and you should still keep your wits about you.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,248
    819
    269
    90
    54
See reviews for
394
1,447
61
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (746)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2010

I recommend this hotel to nobody.the last day we were robbed.the mobile phone, a laptop were taken away,camera.we were accused of having stolen ourselves after these

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2010

My Wife and I had a lovely first week the only down side for us was to many steeps and the occasional smell of sewerage most days, I would say this was due to where our room was situated as there was some sort of pump station near our block. On the second week The hotel started to administer hand gel when entering the buffet area, On 25 Nov we were both struck down with sickness and diarrhoea spent two days in our room then the rest of our holiday we were admitted to the the local medical centre both on intervenes liquids and drugs we were very ill my wife was let out the day we were due to fly home, we had blood tests and stool samples we were told we had nothing nasty, we were on thirteen tablets a day plus anti sickness and head ach tablets there diagnosis was Acute Gastroenteritis, I Don’t think so, There were other people from our hotel with the same symptoms in the clinic.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2010

First of all, for anyone worried by the negative reviews, don't be. If you are looking for a clean, friendy hotel, good weather and relaxation, this place has it. Some of the main complaints from previous reviewers are justified - the water pressure is bad (but a new hot water system was installed whilst we were there which helped - and if you get to your room for 4:30pm you will get a good shower), the bridge between the islands is in a terrible and dangerous condition (not owned by hotel), deffinitely not for small children, and yes, whilst the main hotel staff are great, the reception, and tompson rep were not the msot helpful. A few couples also had money stolen from their rooms, which the hotel eventually refunded, so do lock valuables in your suitcase, like we did, and you will be fine.

Rooms are comfortable and clean. Buffet is good, sometimes food was barley warm but more often than not it was fine, if not hot. I am a fussy eater, but I always found something to eat. Italian and Gourmet restaurants were good and it made a nice change to be served your food. Very relaxed and well presented restaurants.

Pool areas were very nice, beach was nice - it isn't white sand and clear water but it's clean and in a beautiful setting with Bacardi island on the horizon - to complain about this is really to take things for granted in my opinion - especialy when you see how the locals live but how happy they seem to be.

The staff are very friendly, the animation team are great, they work very hard - mentions for Danny and Lenny in particular. Some shows in the evening are good, the disco 'room' was in need of repair - it was a bit pathetic when compared to how well the hotel in maintained, I don't know why they havent bothered to spruce it up a bit. Still, we didn't spend much time in here so it didn't bother us too much.

this was my first trip to the dominican and i was told that samana is 20-30 years behind the main resorts of punta cana and puerta plata, however i enjoed the day trips and the chance to see first hand how the locals live, an unforgettable experience and an eye-opener.

Apart from day trips there isn't much to do at the resot, but like I said, for relaxation, good weather and great all inclusive value, this is a great choice.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2010

Returned Nov 29. Was here 1.5 years ago and wrote that it was a 5 star and I would be back. Can’t say the same this time... maybe just under a 4 Star.

Many people got sick including myself. Did not enjoy the last 3 days and took the bug home and still suffer. The hotel started to disinfect travelers hands as they went in the buffet area.

Stayed in the villas with the Transat Gold package. Not worth the extra. All in I paid $837pp Canadian. Could never find the Transat Rep. Had to change rooms. Separate check-in was given as advised and it would have been great but the whole busload all had the same package so the delays were as usual. Had to pay US$30 for room safe.

The hot tub failed to work on most days or the water wasn’t even warm enough to enjoy it. 50 TV channels but most in Spanish. Phone did not allow anyone to call in. Daily lack of hot water. Maintenance arrived to say the hot water was fine and it was barely even warm at the time. The robe, slippers, and towels did not show up until the third day. Nightly turndown service and chocolate didn’t start until the 4th day. Power went out 3 times. The option of international select drinks was limited to 5 kinds of which you had to wait and sign a form for, which just stalled things and upset everyone including bar-staff as it took longer. Room service menu was limited, arrived cold, and was dried out. Could never exchange more than $5 USA to 1 USA for tips but most times they said they did not have money. I advised them that I would write about the trip but it did not add any resolve to fix the situations.

I expect these things when in third world countries so I still had a good time. Hotel staff were wonderful but not as helpful as last time. The area and hotel are beautiful.
I knew the villas would have about 150 steps to get to the buffet so it was okay. Looked at it as a daily work out.

Loved the people and the resort and Raymond Tours. Try some ATV tours with them and go with a local named Carlos. He took us to many places unseen in any tour package. Check out gosamana for more details of the area.

All said maybe I will still go back…but not the villas, but I will review trip advisor reviews first. If service keeps dropping like this I expect it will be a 3 star the next time I go.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2010

Looking forward to a lovely holiday, arrive at hotel and put in the lowest room in hotel down 2 flights of stairs, no lift (I have emphysema) and it is more like a cellar. Room appears to be not too bad, large and great view from balcony at ground level. Time to shower after travelling, no hot or even warm water. By now had found out fridge doesn't work, thought it may have been switched off so looked behind unit and decided I was going nowhere near it as socket out of wall and wires all over the place. Bearing in mind we are on ground floor when we came to lock the balcony door it was impossible. We then found damp on the outside wall.
A trip to reception and we were being shown another room in an outlying block from main hotel and had to climb 6 flights of stairs, no lift. Had already explained about chest problems.
Finally got another room in main hotel and it was OK.
Other complaints (from most people) food never very hot even if first in dining room and only once in 2 weeks was the water any warmer than tepid.
This has the ability to be a very good hotel due to location and the staff who are always happy to help.
If anyone needs shade and uses the pool there were only 4 parasols between about 100 beds. There are parasols on beach which is where we spent our time.
The 3 extra restaurants are good and you are allowed to use each on once per week.
This hotel says it maintains a policy of long trousers for men at evening meal, not true it is not enforced in the slightest and some people dressed as if they had just come from the beach or pool. If the rule is there please enforce it.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2010

Just come back and apart from a nightmare delay getting there the overall stay was a good one. Staff friendly (sometimes a little too so) and helpful. Food average but in all honesty only tried one of the themed restaurants. Was lucky enough to be allocated one of the beach rooms which are away from the main hotel and very private which we thought was great initially as the pool area was not busy however down side to this was there was a break-in in one of them and it is a uphill hike to the restaurant (although there is a shuttle). If going back to Caribbean would not chose this hotel or island again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa

Address: Loma Puerto Escondido S/N | PO Box 32000, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Samana Province
#6 Spa Hotel in Samana Province
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Samana Province
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 295
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services Main pool with Jacuzzi surrounded by a sun terrace 3 beachside hydromassage tubs Loungers, sun umbrellas and towel service BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Water activity centre WiFi access in the lobby (1h per day free of charge) Wedding gazebo Buffet-style main restaurant and 3 speciality restaurants 4 Bars Cocktail Lounge Chill Out zone 1 snack bar Sports facilities: gym Pueblo Principe: Shopping and Leisure Mall with local craft stores, live music, shows, stores, bars and disco. Rooms 295 rooms including 4 types: Standard, Standard with Sea View, Superior Junior Suite and Club Golden Junior Suite. Junior Suites are larger than Standard rooms. Room facilities: King size bed or 2 full size beds Fully-equipped bathroom with hydromassage bath tub, hair dryer and magnifying mirror. Air conditioning Ceiling fan Telephone Satellite TV Coffee-making facilities Mini-bar Safe (additional charge) Terrace WiFi (additional charge) Junior Suite: sitting area, sofa-bed and ironing set Club Golden Junior Suites (See page 18 Club Golden, Club Hacienda) Children Bahia Scouts The hotel is perfect for families, offering a range of facilities tailored especially for children, including the following: Park Mini Club for children aged 4 to 12 Evening Mini Disco Babysitting service (additional charge) Other services Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Bus stop opposite the hotel Auditorium for corporate meetings Panoramic lifts Personalised menus (for celiacs, diabetics, etc.) Available on request Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Tingo so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Cayacoa Hotel
Gran Bahia Principe Cayacoa Samana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.