We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service everywhere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa to your Saves list
Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Loma Puerto Escondido S/N | PO Box 32000, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 57 Hotels in Samana Province
Toronto, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Service everywhere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

The Animation Team was very friendly, made sure the guests are always entertained. Job well done to Luis, Carlos, Carlitos, Massiell, Carolina, Veronica, and of course the amazing DJ-Felix.
You guys know how to really keep us entertained!

Also, I would like to mention the excellent service we received in the dining area. Job well done to Claudio, Aracelis and the one and only Yuliana. You guys are the best!

I will definitely recommend this hotel to my family and friends!!!

JOB WELL DONE

Room Tip: I like the main hotel. I stayed in room 431. My housekeeper was very polite and friendly. She made s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
División Cuarto... B, Public Relations Manager at Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa, responded to this review, October 19, 2014
Dear Maria Sandra ,

We cannot tell you how much we appreciate your review in TripAdvisor.

It is a real pleasure to us to get your comment. You can be sure that there is no biggest reward for us than to get a message like yours. We are glad that you have enjoyed your visit with us. We are delighted to share your comments with the rest of our staff

Thank you again, and we hope to have the pleasure to host you and your family one more time at Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel in Samana

Greetings,
Lizairi Then
Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,247
    818
    269
    90
    54
See reviews for
394
1,445
61
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (745)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Breton
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

First, let me start off with saying this resort is beautiful. The grounds are well maintained and the staff are quite friendly and go out of thier way to greet you with a smile on thier face.

The resort isn't as big, with as many stairs, as I anticipated - after reading all the reviews. Mind you, it is a bit of a hike "up" the hill but for the most part it is an inclined ramp with stairs thrown in once and a while.

We stayed in the main building and stuck to the main pool for the majority of our stay. As other reviews have stated, the views from this resort are amazing.

Our room overlooked the terrace (so the view from our room wasn't awe inspiring) which we didn't mind, we could sit on our balcony and hear the entertainment, and take in the sights around us - we were also close to the lobby bar!
The room was kept very clean and we had no problem with air conditioning, receiving towels, hot water, etc.
The bed was fairly comforatable, it was more firm than home but it didn't hinder our sleep in any way. We did, however, buy a couple of cheap ($3.50) pillows from Walmart and took them with us - thank you previous reveiwers in relation to the pillows! I did forget to take my pillow cases back with us though, doh!

The buffet was always good and there was always something to be found - even for the pickiest of eaters. FYI - thier bread is amazing. I am also sure I've eaten a hot dog every day. They were very tasty and the buns made them even more delicious! Get creative as well, I've included nacho cheese, jalapeno's, bacon, etc on my hot dogs! yum.
The buffet doesn't open until 1p for lunch which is later than other resorts we've stayed in but it didn't bother us - we usually stuffed ourselves at breakfast anyways. Crossaints - try em!

The Al a Cartes were decent. They didn't wow us but it was a nice change from the buffet. The steak was pretty good at both the Seafood and Gourmet restaurant. We found a few repeated items that were on both the Seafood and Gourmet menu's.
Seafood - I've tried the soup, which had a tiny shrimp, the broth was tasty. A smoked salmon appetizer with avocodo which was decent - a lot of avocado. And the Surf and Turf which was prawns over a bed of mashed potato with a steak. Pretty good overall.
Gourmet - We've eaten at this one 3 times. The consume soup was pretty tasty - again it's mainly broth. Skipped appetizers and had beef tenderloin, lamb, and surf and turf. Once again, all entrees were pretty tasty. At the gourmet you are offered an assortment of cheese before dessert - which how can you go wrong with cheese!
The desserts at both restaurants and the buffet were pretty lack luster.

We've also done the Walk the Plank Zip Lining adventure which was pretty amazing and terrifying (I am not a fan of heights). We've paid the extra few $$ to buy it from Joel at Air Canada vacations rather than venturing in to town to buy. Becareful with ordering the ones from poolside. They are not the Walk the Plank (which has auto breaking and extra safety procedures) lines but if you ask if they are, they will likely say uh huh, yah.

The entertainment people around the pool were engaging at times. I didn't find the main pool to be as loud as people have reveiwed either. I was expecting a lot more. Bingo pool side was fun and it's one of the few games where you win prizes - rum, coffee, tshirts. We've even learned how to roll sushi one day! You can also find some ice cream on a few afternoons. Pool/Beach towels were usually redily available but if they did run out you can just get fresh ones in the morning before you start the next day.

The bartenders were all kept very busy at all locations. The lobby bar makes a mean (awesome) mojito! We've had our fair share of those during the week!

The staff is always busy and accommodating, they work hard for thier tips!

Room Tip: The power and air conditioning operate when you put your room card in the slot by the door. Use an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
División Cuarto... B, Public Relations Manager at Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa, responded to this review, October 19, 2014
Dear Huesped ,

Thank you so much for taking your time to write this nice review about our hotel!

We are really happy that you have enjoy your holiday at Gran Bahia Principe Cayacoa and also
We are glad to see that you have enjoyed every minute with us, we work hard to succeed our guest needs and we are so happy to see that we did it with you and you have a memorable holiday with us.

It will be a pleasure to can host you in the near future, all-inclusive holiday at Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts

Greetings,
Lizairi Then
Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blainville, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

First of all, the view is very beautiful, with a lot of vegetation and lot of stairs, because everything is on a different level. From the beach to the hotel, there is 176 steps or so, that's why there is a elevator on the beach. There is two beaches and both are public with a lot of children from the city, so the "adult only" doesn't include the beach. I was disappointing after seeing the main beach, the water is not clear at all, we had to take an excursion to have a beautiful beach and the second one is worst, the water is brown, so we never tried it.

Second thing, excellent food and service, the staffs are fantastic, very polite, always smiling and funny. At the main pool, there is entertainment like water polo, dance, bingo and other things. the animators are very funny especially Luis, who make us laugh all the time.

Finally, the room was very nice and clean, but no air conditioning. I asked the neighbor and it was the same, so I called the service and they sent someone right away, but did nothing to solve the problem. So we had to sleep with the ceiling fan and everything was humid in the room.
The heat and the sun was there, but the beach was missing.
Thanks.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
División Cuarto... B, Public Relations Manager at Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa, responded to this review, October 19, 2014
Dear Francois ,

Thank you for taking the time in writing us a review of your stay in our TripAdvisor community as we put a great interest in our clients comments as their perceptions are the most important to us as this is the only way to know what specific points we must focus our attention.

After we carefully have read this review, we truly express our sincere apologies for the inconvenience that you have had to deal with. It is not definitely the image that we wish to project, nor does it fit in the general pleasant atmosphere of our hotel. We are vey concerned about your impressions and we sincerely do not want you to keep a bad memory of us

We are in the business to bring an enjoyable and unforgettable experience to all our clients. We sincerely would like to have the opportunity to welcome you once again to experience the hospitality of our people, the quality of our services and facilities and change any negative perception you may have about us.

Greetings,
Lizairi Then
Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wells, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

We went there for our honeymoon in sept 13. We arrived and was over whelmed with kindness and helpfulness of the staff. We were pleased with the room service and cleanliness. Being a young couple in our 20's we found that to keep our selves entertained we had to do excursions because entertainment wasn't very good in the hotel. hotel rep was helpful and always around each morning. Food and drink was always available and met our likes. There can be a lot of walking the hill or either up those hundreds of stairs but there was a free cart buggy going up and down the hill so often all we had to do was stand at the bottom of the hill and we would always see one!. We went into town one day but didn't like it as we got really hassled people trying to sell us things, and it was dreadful seeing dogs and other animals walking around just skin and bone. But other than that it is a beautiful part of the world, okay if all you want to do is sun bathe and eat!!.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
División Cuarto... B, Public Relations Manager at Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa, responded to this review, October 19, 2014
Dear Huesped ,

Firstly we hope you had a good trip back home and we are very grateful you have taken the time to express your views in our Tripadvisor community. The reviews help us to improve and raise our service.

We are really glad to see that you have enjoyed every minute with us, we work hard to succeed our guest needs and we are so happy to see that we did it with you and you have a memorable holiday with us.

We hope to welcome you again at Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel in Samana.

Greetings,
Lizairi Then
Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtenay, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Excellent stay! Very nice clean resort for relaxation and entertainment. 10 STARS TO THE ANIMATION TEAM - especially the unforgettable Luis. Our trip would not have been the same without his top notch dedication, work ethic and sense of humour. He loves his job! DINING - service in all of the restaurants was very good; large assortment of buffet food; we tried 2 of the 3 specialty restaurants but no wow factor with the quality of the food so we dined at the buffet for the remainder of our 12 night stay as dietary restrictions did limit my choices; especially enjoyed our conversations with Alba as she spoke enough English to converse. Learning some Spanish before travelling to this resort will greatly improve your experience. BARS - favourite was the Lobby Bar for champagne, martinis, Dominican Bailey's or Barcelo Rum Cream, Irish coffees, espressos, cappuccinos or your own specialty made to order choices by Manuel, Ronny, Victor and Carlos. Excellent service from these bartenders. SWIMMING - main pool quite large, main beach very nice. STAIRS - lots of them but I enjoyed this feature. The resort is built on a hillside. Approx 150 stairs from the lower secondary beach to the pool and then another 150 stairs to the 5th floor. Option is to take the elevators conveniently located in the complex or the shuttle to and from the main building. ROOM - arrival to room #244 facing north, ground level in the courtyard, had very strong ammonia smell as well as mould in the bathroom. Could be a concern in that area of the hotel. Staff happily accommodated change of room for the next day as the hotel was fully booked. We moved up to the 5th floor still facing the courtyard and the room was fine and fresh smelling. Other reviews accurate about the hard pillows and hard beds. DIVE EXCURSIONS - 4 dives in Samana area were average with limited quantities of sealife and coral, (Ferry wreck, Victoria wreck, a vertical wall and ship's anchor off Cayo Levantado island), but a shout out to Enriquez the Dive Master for doing an excellent job ensuring everyone stayed safe and saw everything that was available. Paid an extra $30 for transportation over to Bahia resort in El Portillo and 2 dives were pleasant with coral formations, sand bars and sea life.

Room Tip: 3rd floor and up in main building - most rooms will have an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
División Cuarto... B, Public Relations Manager at Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa, responded to this review, October 19, 2014
Dear Verna ,

In the name of the all Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa we want to thank you for have taken this time to share your amazing experience with us. Comments like your make us feel honored for have of the entire work of the staff be assured that we will share it with all our staff.

After we carefully have read this review, we truly express our sincere apologies for the inconvenience that you had with the room. It is not definitely the image that we wish to project, nor does it fit in the general pleasant atmosphere of our hotel.


We will be very excited to welcome you for your next holiday at with Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts.

Greetings,
Lizairi Then
Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

We were lucky enough to go from April 10 - 17. We had several people who had gone earlier this year and we thought we would go. We had originally gone to the villas down the hill, but after realizing that I could not make the stairs on a daily basis, we were moved to a lovely room in the main hotel the next day. Good clean rooms, friendly staff and a great buffet. We passed on the a la carte restaurants, the buffet had more than enough variety for us. The beach was good and it is cool taking the elevator down to the beach. The pool was great and Davidson makes a great Pinia Colada, pool side, of course. Even the trip to Samana was a good one. The only thing, I would not go back in April, toooohot! I think Feb or March would be perfect. We are already trying to plan for next year with other family members.

We had a great time and would recommend this resort. Hola !

Room Tip: rooms that overlook teh town of Samana, tend to be noisy, as you can hear the bar scene from town al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
División Cuarto... B, Public Relations Manager at Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa, responded to this review, October 19, 2014
Dear Debi ,

We are glad to know that your experience was relaxing, thank you for mention our friendliness staff, food, beach and lovely views.

We appreciate to know that your experience was enjoyable and relaxing and will be a pleasure to welcome you once again to any Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel in Samana.

Greetings from Samana,
Lizairi Then
Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

This was my first time traveling down south and it won't be the last to this location. The people were beautiful, inviting, and friendly. The area was very welcoming and I cannot wait to return. The beach did not go on for miles and miles,but it was beautiful. I prefer a beach like the one on Cayacoa ... Many of the locals would come for a swim, but it was nice to see. As mentioned, the people were lovely.

There are three Grand Bahia's in Samana and I would suspect all three to be similar. However, Cayacoa was perfect. I would recommend it anyone!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
División Cuarto... B, Public Relations Manager at Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa, responded to this review, October 19, 2014
Dear Christia-Belle ,

Thank you so much for taking your time to write this nice review about our hotel!

We are really happy that you have enjoy your holiday at Gran Bahia Principe Cayacoa and also
We are glad to see that you have enjoyed every minute with us, we work hard to succeed our guest needs and we are so happy to see that we did it with you and you have a memorable holiday with us.

It will be a pleasure to can host you in the near future, all-inclusive holiday at Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts

Greetings,
Lizairi Then
Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa

Address: Loma Puerto Escondido S/N | PO Box 32000, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Samana Province
#6 Spa Hotel in Samana Province
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Samana Province
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 295
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services Main pool with Jacuzzi surrounded by a sun terrace 3 beachside hydromassage tubs Loungers, sun umbrellas and towel service BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Water activity centre WiFi access in the lobby (1h per day free of charge) Wedding gazebo Buffet-style main restaurant and 3 speciality restaurants 4 Bars Cocktail Lounge Chill Out zone 1 snack bar Sports facilities: gym Pueblo Principe: Shopping and Leisure Mall with local craft stores, live music, shows, stores, bars and disco. Rooms 295 rooms including 4 types: Standard, Standard with Sea View, Superior Junior Suite and Club Golden Junior Suite. Junior Suites are larger than Standard rooms. Room facilities: King size bed or 2 full size beds Fully-equipped bathroom with hydromassage bath tub, hair dryer and magnifying mirror. Air conditioning Ceiling fan Telephone Satellite TV Coffee-making facilities Mini-bar Safe (additional charge) Terrace WiFi (additional charge) Junior Suite: sitting area, sofa-bed and ironing set Club Golden Junior Suites (See page 18 Club Golden, Club Hacienda) Children Bahia Scouts The hotel is perfect for families, offering a range of facilities tailored especially for children, including the following: Park Mini Club for children aged 4 to 12 Evening Mini Disco Babysitting service (additional charge) Other services Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Bus stop opposite the hotel Auditorium for corporate meetings Panoramic lifts Personalised menus (for celiacs, diabetics, etc.) Available on request Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Tingo so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Cayacoa Hotel
Gran Bahia Principe Cayacoa Samana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.