We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would go back in a minute.....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa to your Saves list
Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Loma Puerto Escondido S/N | PO Box 32000, Dominican Republic   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special Summer Sales
Ranked #12 of 58 Hotels in Samana Province
Certificate of Excellence
Pickering, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Would go back in a minute.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Returned October 28th from a one week stay at this gorgeous resort. Stayed in the Royal Golden Suite Villas building 33. Would have preferred 31 for the overall view, but the suite was extremely clean and well kept and large. Fridge stocked everyday with water, beer and soft drinks. We did tip our maid on a daily basis and on our last day left her a small gift. Which she thought was something we had forgot and came running out with it to us....such an honest woman. All of the hotel staff were wonderful. Never had a problem with any of the staff. We spent most of our time during the day at the Jacuzzi pool as it was close to our suite. We did eat most of our lunches at the pool bar/buffet at the Jacuzzi pool. It had a good enough variety for lunch. Did go to the main beach via the elevator. Beach was clean and there were plenty of lounges available. Even managed to get a cabana one afternoon!! Did use the shuttle service which when we called was at the villa within minutes to take us to the main building. Ate breakfast 5 times and dinner 3 times at the main buffet. Great selection of food. And varied day to day. Dinners at the a la carte restaurants - enjoyed the gourmet and seafood (twice). Had the surf and turf both times. Was delicious. The Italian was a little disappointing, although my husband thoroughly enjoyed his meal there. The views from this resort are amazing. The other tourists we met were all very friendly and everyone seemed to be having a wonderful vacation. We thoroughly enjoyed our vacation. Was our first trip to Dominican Republic. Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa did not disappoint. Adults only resort too boot!! So glad we went. Would go back in a minute....

Room Tip: Would not recommend rooms in the main building on level 1 or 2. Royal Golden Suites were great. La...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
División Cuarto... B, Public Relations Manager at Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Lynn,

We greatly appreciate that you have chosen Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa as your holiday destination. It is a real pleasure to learn that you are enjoying a nice time together with us.

We wish to continue providing the best of our personnel hospitality, the quality of our services and facilities, and offer you an great experience at Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel in Samana.

Greetings,
Albis Corredor
Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,814 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,416
    931
    311
    99
    57
See reviews for
444
1,653
72
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (862)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Nice location , good food ,nice clean beach but small .If you bored you can take the trip to the city .I will recommend zip line experience with the swim in the waterfall and checking the local produce.

Room Tip: always top floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
División Cuarto... B, Public Relations Manager at Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Dear Alex,

We greatly appreciate that you have chosen Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa as your holiday destination. It is a real pleasure to learn that you are enjoying a nice time together with us.

We wish to continue providing the best of our personnel hospitality, the quality of our services and facilities, and offer you an great experience at Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel in Samana.

Greetings,
Albis Corredor
Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa

Greetings,
Albis Corredor
Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

We returned from a two week holiday at this hotel on 1st November. We found the hotel to be very clean and our room, which was a junior suite, very spacious with a superb view of the bay.

The hotel setting is perfect, with the gardens kept immaculate, and although the hotel is spread out over a large area and quite steep, the hotel provides shuttle buses (similar to golf carts) to ferry guests to and fro.

We could not fault any of the staff, they were all extremely helpful and pleasant, particularly Carlos, Yissell, Wellintong and Brenda who were always smiling and cheerful.

The buffet restaurant was very clean. There was always a variety of food on offer, however, on occasions the food was not as hot as it could be.

The Gourmet was the best of the a la carte restaurants with perfect steaks and excellent service.

We found the evening entertainment to be lacking. During our holiday there was only the Michael Jackson tribute show which I would recommend. Despite this I would definitely go back to this hotel.

Room Tip: If you want a room with a superb view in the main hotel building ask for one on either floor 4 or 5; our room was number 520.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
División Cuarto... B, Public Relations Manager at Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Gary,

We greatly appreciate that you have chosen one of our Hotels for your visit to Dominican Republic. It is a real pleasure to read that you enjoyed an excellent vacation.

Thank you for your nice comments about our helpful and pleasant staff, cleanning in the buffet and Gourmet´s restaurant.

We will be honored to have you once again at any of our Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel in Samana.

Greetings,
Albis Corredor
Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Just back from a 2 wks stay in this lovely hotel. The staff all very friendly and attentive, really lovely people. We stayed in the main building on the top floor with views overlooking the bay which was a magical sight in the evening. You do need to be up early to secure your beach or pool beds but a snooze in the sun soon sorts out any tiredness!!! We took US dollars which was fine but think we would have been better taking their local currency. Take advantage of the free hourly shuttle bus down to Samana ,well worth a visit or two, things you may need or gifts you may want to take home can be bought at a much better price than at the hotel. Not easy to change English money up but we found a money exchange up by the indoor market, get off the bus turn left walk up the hill and cross over to the left hand side of the road til afore mentioned market is found. The 2 banks we went into did not exchange sterling. Rum and Mamawhana (liquor) cheaper in the town. So if you think you're being offered marijuana on the beach ( as in one stupid review we read before going ) you're not , its their local drink. . . . The safe is $4 dollars a night though some seem to work without paying, ours didn't but we found the staff nothing but helpful and honest. The best of the al la carte was the Gourmet restaurant but the normal buffet was lovely. All the other guests were friendly and I would recommend this hotel to anyone!!!! We had a marvellous 2 weeks and I hope you all do too. Go on book it now. . . Gill ( London) England.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
División Cuarto... B, Public Relations Manager at Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Gill,

Thank you so much for taking your time to write this nice review about our hotel!

We are really glad to see that you have enjoyed every minute with us, we work hard to succeed our guest needs and we are so happy to see that we did it with you and you have a memorable holiday with us.

Enjoy an all-inclusive holiday as a couple with Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts

Greetings,
Albis Corredor
Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We had a brilliant week away in the cayacoa. We had amazing views from our window out over the bay. The Hotel was way above standard with cleanliness and service provided. The beach was clean and well maintained as we're the pool and jacuzzi.
We went on 2 exclusions, one to rincon beach exquisitly beautiful and the half an hour stop to the pineapple plantation was brilliant and the second to the waterfall including a gourde trek, don't be under any illusion the trek is what it is up and down hills with well taken care of bourses and hard working guides. The waterfall stop was only 30 minutes but with the amount of tourist traffic that's all you need.
I highly recommend this holiday to anyone and I'd like to return myself.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
División Cuarto... B, Public Relations Manager at Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Beckie,

We would like to thank you for your nice comments about the Hotel and we hope that you have had a nice trip back home.

We hope to welcome you again to Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels for your holidays in the Dominican Republic.

Greetings,
Albis Corredor
Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We just arrived back from our holiday in Samana! It was fantastic and we have since suggested it to other friends who are looking to book a trip in the next month. We experienced some issues with our room keys, the room safe and guest services, however the manager was quick to fix the issues and allowed us to enjoy the rest of our vacation! The Private villa's in the buildings are fantastic. Make sure you book your dinners when you arrive as they do fill up fast. On wednesdays in the buffet its Asian Night (Best Night for Buffet) and thursday is Lobster! The other days are pretty average. Make sure you hit up the beach early (6am) to secure a cabana bed!

Room Tip: Ask for the Villa in Building 31-33
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
División Cuarto... B, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear Mrs. Lindsay:

Thank you for publishing your review about our Hotel Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa on TripAdvisor, we feel proud to be able to fulfill your expectations once again; it is indeed a pleasure to learn that you enjoyed the cuisine at our thematic nights.

We gladly appreciate the recommendation of our Hotel to others guests and of course, the possibility to host you again at Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels for your holidays in the Dominican Republic.

Greetings,
Albis Corredor
Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

The facilities are excellent and I found the staff to be friendly without without exception. The views from the resort are phenomenal, as it is on a cliff and overlooks the beach (accessible via an elevator) and the town across a small bay. The pool was very nice with a plentiful supply of lounge chairs and several trees and other plants around it.

While we were there my friends father had some health issues (not related to his stay @ the resort) that involved a stay in the clinic. The staff took meals to him (the clinic is in the town) and would take his wife to and from the clinic when requested (shuttles to and from town are hourly otherwise).

The food at the buffet was excellent, so much so that we only went to one a la carte (the Italian) and didn't feel that we missed out at all. There were a lot of choices with several new ones being rotated in each day.

I truly enjoyed the adults only orientation of this resort. I like children but found it far more relaxing without having them around the beach and pool.

Room Tip: The Junior Suites are nice and fairly spacious. The ocean view from them is gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
División Cuarto... B, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear TripAdvisor member:

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate all feedback. We are thrilled to know that we went beyond your expectations.

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, a 5 star experience in Samana.

Greetings
Albis Corredor
Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa

Address: Loma Puerto Escondido S/N | PO Box 32000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Samana Province
#5 Spa Hotel in Samana Province
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Samana Province
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 295
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services Main pool with Jacuzzi surrounded by a sun terrace 3 beachside hydromassage tubs Loungers, sun umbrellas and towel service BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Water activity centre WiFi access in the lobby (1h per day free of charge) Wedding gazebo Buffet-style main restaurant and 3 speciality restaurants 4 Bars Cocktail Lounge Chill Out zone 1 snack bar Sports facilities: gym Pueblo Principe: Shopping and Leisure Mall with local craft stores, live music, shows, stores, bars and disco. Rooms 295 rooms including 4 types: Standard, Standard with Sea View, Superior Junior Suite and Club Golden Junior Suite. Junior Suites are larger than Standard rooms. Room facilities: King size bed or 2 full size beds Fully-equipped bathroom with hydromassage bath tub, hair dryer and magnifying mirror. Air conditioning Ceiling fan Telephone Satellite TV Coffee-making facilities Mini-bar Safe (additional charge) Terrace WiFi (additional charge) Junior Suite: sitting area, sofa-bed and ironing set Club Golden Junior Suites (See page 18 Club Golden, Club Hacienda) Children Bahia Scouts The hotel is perfect for families, offering a range of facilities tailored especially for children, including the following: Park Mini Club for children aged 4 to 12 Evening Mini Disco Babysitting service (additional charge) Other services Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Bus stop opposite the hotel Auditorium for corporate meetings Panoramic lifts Personalised menus (for celiacs, diabetics, etc.) Available on request Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Cayacoa Hotel
Gran Bahia Principe Cayacoa Samana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.