We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa to your Saves list
Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Loma Puerto Escondido S/N | PO Box 32000, Dominican Republic   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special Summer Sales
Ranked #12 of 58 Hotels in Samana Province
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Jacksonville Beach, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

It was expensive to get from the Santo Domingo airport to the hotel, but I'm glad we took a taxi service. I would have been scared to death and confused if we tried to rent a car ourselves. The hotel was very nice- great buffet. I didn't think the service in the Seafood Restaurant was very good. There aren't any heated spas, which I was kind of disappointed about. The hotel has reasonable prices for the souvenirs- I actually paid more when I went into town (and it was not worth the hassle of dealing with locals trying to walk us around!) Whale watching with Kim was incredible- very knowledgable and friendly. NOT a trip for anyone who gets sea sick/motion sickness.

Room Tip: If you don't mind the noise (or will be staying up late anyway), the view across the bay is the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,728 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,368
    910
    298
    95
    57
See reviews for
430
1,607
67
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (840)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hull yorkshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Hotel staff could not be more helpful, changed rooms because of noisy people above us and they could not have been any quicker moving us.Restaurant staff are very friendly and where very quick when you needed anything and always had a smile for you.Drinks around the pool from ten to six but one couple complained that it was left while she slipped to get her lunch a bit sad if you can't wait ten minuets for alcohol.

Room Tip: 2100 to 2106 for quiet rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

Been dom rep 7 times but this place beets all of dominican nothing there to fault. Went out on the whale watch that was brill. The food was amazing. Went into Samana town with no problem at all. There was no faults. Just planing to book again before the end of this year. We had problems with bank card (witch was down to uk) and the staff did every thing they could for us. Madina dominican rep who worked for tui a think drove us round in is jeep to sort the bank out lent us his cell fone Wot an amazing man. Thanks again MADINA x

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarnia, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We spent a week enjoying this spectacular property. The views are astounding. The beach is clean enough and there are a few fish and starfish to be seen while snorkelling right on the property. We never had trouble getting chairs at the beach or pool even though we were there at March Break. I do not recommend snorkelling the lagoon on the snackbar side as the water is a bit stagnant and smelly . The staff is incredibly friendly, fast and good natured. Nicest staff I have experienced in many years of travelling. Used the gym twice and the equipment was adequate and clean. Towels were readily available at the pool each day. We had no trouble with the food whatsoever . I recommend the bbq pollo on the beach for lunch. We also enjoyed a morning trip to Cayo Levantando./Bacardi Island through the Scuba place on the Cayacoa beach that included a shipwreck snorkel for $35 . Cant beat that!!

Room Tip: upper floors quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Booked here for my husbands 50th birthday. Stayed for 2 weeks 20th Feb. Wont repeat what others have said so in short... First room they put us in 242 (avoid avoid) was poor. I requested any room as long as not ground floor... what did we get? Ground floor.. Smelled of strong damp .. coming from the wardrobe so was expecting all our clothes to smell of this odour as the holiday went on. Room looked out onto the terrace so when out on our balcony just felt like we were with everyone else there. (No privacy whatsoever).

First night in the room after a 9hr flight and 3.5hr coach transfer and the music (sounded like kareokee) was blasting out.. Even with patio doors closed and my ipod earphones in I could still hear it! Wanted to cry! Birthday surprise was basically ruined..
2nd and 3rd nights weren't quite as bad. But the kitchens are below this floor and we could hear all the kitchen noices going on from about 5am...
After a nicely done complaint we eventually got upgraded to room 426 on day 4. This is what I really wanted in the first place. Nice room.... fabulous view over the bay.

Hotel and rooms were not really a patch on the Gran Bahia Esmeralda in Bavaro that we stayed in last year.

Food was nice tho. and drinks weren't bad. Staff were all nice.

Scenery and grounds of this hotel is rather spectacular and I think that's what you pay for really..

Beach average.. again we've been spoilt by Bavaro beaches.

Massive issue with beach/pool towels.. never had any there if you needed a clean one. If you didn't hang onto your towel from previous days you prob wouldn't end up with one unless you got to towel hut first thing or queued..

I knew that the north was going to be a different type of holiday than the S. East where we normally go.. I'm glad we've been but back to Punta Cana for us next time I'm afraid.

Did the Los Haities Nat Park trip with Bacardi island.. had a fab day.. Did Playa Rincon.. not so good... Preferred the first trip.

One thing that really put me off was the way the hotel allowed a 'certain Canadian' male guest to bring in young girls.. (I'd say averaging 14yrs of age) He was vile... looked like the little weasel out of 'Honey I shrunk the kids' with the glasses on. He certainly must have been on the Mamuanja (what ever it's called) he was like a dog on heat!! Booking in these young girls and obv paying them for their services... I was in reception one of the mornings whilst he was doing this.. He was that LOUD I couldn't help but overhear him trying to extend his stay an extra wk. had the feeling he worked for a certain Canadian airline (but can't say for certain).. or seemed to have connections with them.. Anyway he made quite a few of us Brits feel abit sick. So this hotel needs to get its act together on that score...

Would we return... no. We've been too spoilt in the past I think at better hotels we had paid the same price for.. Had a nice break.. Been there now.. so crossed off the list..

Oh and yes... as many people have said... the beds are rock hard... My back is still not back to normal yet..

Oh and I wouldn't bother paying the extra for the bungalows that are down by the beach (by the jacuzzi pool) We met 3 lots of people who had upgraded to those and all asked to be moved into the main hotel for various reasons...

Room Tip: Avoid 242. Room 426 was really good..
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymington
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Where do I start. The coach trip from the airport takes over an hour but you do get to see a great deal of the Dominican countryside.
The hotel sits at the top of a rise with panoramic views over the sea and Samana town and quay. The reception area is clean and very peasant with lots of places to sit and pass away an hour or two whilst sipping a cocktail or two made for you in one of the bars.
Our room was in the main building with an adequate sized balcony but a view to die for especially at sundown when the sun drops behind the mountains.
With a comfy bed, clean and well decorated bathroom and enough drawer and hanging spaces the bedroom gets a very reasonable 8/10.
Other rooms are in lower level buildings away from the main building and accessed either by steps and a good walk or the regular Golf Buggy type vehicle.
The main Dining Room which has magnificent views out to Sea and Bacardi island serves up enough choice for most palates and whilst we were there, not once did we have a problem finding a table to dine at. The waiter service for drinks and cleaning away dirty dishes etc was very good.
The main bar where you can also get afternoon tea and cakes is situated off the Reception area and has a vast outdoor terrace complete with tables and chairs and again stupendous views.
There are two additional dining options but we only used the Italian which was adequate but not in our opinion worth trying twice.
The hotel also has a very nice Snack Bar where you can enjoy Burgers, Pasta etc beside the beach.
To get to the main, private beach you need to take a panoramic trip in the Lift. Brilliant.
The private beach although not huge by any sense of the imagination is nevertheless very peaceful and relaxing with the sand gently sloping away to the clear and reasonable safe sea. Lots of sun loungers and again, never any trouble finding one or two when needed.
There are Pools but we didn"t use them.
Most days we walked down the hill to the pleasant town, then along the promenade/quayside and at regular intervals the minibus from the hotel comes along and picks you up, Free of Charge.
If you do go to this hotel and I recommend you do go there take one of the trips from the beach to Barcadi Island. It"s called Barcadi Island because that"s where they filmed the adverts for Barcadi. On the island is The Cayo Levantado 5 star hotel and if like us you are lucky enough to get in there you will be amazed by it.We sat in the lounge there drinking free Champagne and Canapes. Lovely. How did we get in past the security guards, well that my friends is a secret!!
If you want a relaxed, safe, comfortable hotel with nice food, ok drinks and a private beach you wont get much better then The Bahia Principe Cayacoa,

Room Tip: Try to get one in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAKEFIELD
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Arrived on the 27th febuary , first impression WOW what a beautiful place views to die for every where you looked.We enjoyed every second of our stay .we stayed up top in bungalows 1007 and they where magnificent .All the staff were fantastic couldn't do enough to please .Pool beach all very good .Loads of steps keeps you fit going up and down not for people with walking difficulties. went into town a couple of times the Dominican people don't bother you too much had a good laugh with a few of them .Went to Barcardi Island that i do recommend very much see Raymond under the bridge to nowhere for trips he a good guy and cheap .Always something to do thanks to all at Cayacoa will miss you all hi to tattoo and all the ammination team you are all fantastic ......

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa

Address: Loma Puerto Escondido S/N | PO Box 32000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Samana Province
#6 Spa Hotel in Samana Province
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Samana Province
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 295
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services Main pool with Jacuzzi surrounded by a sun terrace 3 beachside hydromassage tubs Loungers, sun umbrellas and towel service BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Water activity centre WiFi access in the lobby (1h per day free of charge) Wedding gazebo Buffet-style main restaurant and 3 speciality restaurants 4 Bars Cocktail Lounge Chill Out zone 1 snack bar Sports facilities: gym Pueblo Principe: Shopping and Leisure Mall with local craft stores, live music, shows, stores, bars and disco. Rooms 295 rooms including 4 types: Standard, Standard with Sea View, Superior Junior Suite and Club Golden Junior Suite. Junior Suites are larger than Standard rooms. Room facilities: King size bed or 2 full size beds Fully-equipped bathroom with hydromassage bath tub, hair dryer and magnifying mirror. Air conditioning Ceiling fan Telephone Satellite TV Coffee-making facilities Mini-bar Safe (additional charge) Terrace WiFi (additional charge) Junior Suite: sitting area, sofa-bed and ironing set Club Golden Junior Suites (See page 18 Club Golden, Club Hacienda) Children Bahia Scouts The hotel is perfect for families, offering a range of facilities tailored especially for children, including the following: Park Mini Club for children aged 4 to 12 Evening Mini Disco Babysitting service (additional charge) Other services Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Bus stop opposite the hotel Auditorium for corporate meetings Panoramic lifts Personalised menus (for celiacs, diabetics, etc.) Available on request Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Cayacoa Hotel
Gran Bahia Principe Cayacoa Samana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.