We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I must have stayed at a different hotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa

Save Saved
You added Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Loma Puerto Escondido S/N | PO Box 32000, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 57 Hotels in Samana Province
Grimsby, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“I must have stayed at a different hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

This hotel is nothing like as good as most reviews would have you believe. The manner in which we were treated on arrival left a lot to be desired. Non of the friendliness we were expecting. Our sea view room was good but nothing special. The mini bar is a joke although the two bottles of Pepsi, one orange and one 7 up are replaced daily with two cans of beer and two bottles of water. The same cannot be said of the tea and coffee, the maid rarely replaced these and I rang reception many times for replacements. The food in the buffet was good with a wide choice on offer. We dined in the all of the la carte restaurants and all were found wanting, usually the first two courses were good but after that !!! The Gourmet restaurant main course I had was a piece of inedible beef which was sent back. In the Pescador the Chefs dish of the day was nothing like the pictured menu and they didn't have the wine that they recommended with the dish and to add insult to injury when my wife pointed out that the pudding she ordered was a creme caramel and not the Tarte tartine that she ordered thw waiter just laughed at her. In the Italian my wifes lasagne was certainly hot but was so over cooked she couldn't get her fork into it and my chicken pieces were so dry as to be inedible. We did not reserve any other night as we were entitled to. They were not a pleasant experience
The staff on the whole were very friendly non more so than those in the the lobby bar, who did a fantastic considering the very loud mouthed and rude guests they often had to deal with. The public rooms were always being cleaned in fact the only area I think that wasn,t cleaned on regular basis was our balcony.The room was spotless mind you in our first room, we had to be moved because water kept leaking throgh our bathroom roof. on the second full day of our fourteen I had to ring reception in the early evening to inform them that we could hear water pattering onto the ceiling of the shower. This was not taken seriously and was obviously thought to very amusing judging from their reactions. 15 minutes later I rang again this time to inform them that water was actually dripping into the bathroom. They sent a pleasant little man with a tube of water sealant but his reaction when he saw the waterfall was 'Oh my god' and he ran away to return with another guy. Eventually they managed the flow of water and cleaned the floor but not the bath my wife had to do that. Iwas then informed it was all sorted and there would be no more problems. Famous last words, the next evening we returned fom the all ready mentioned disaster at the Mediterranean disaster to another flood with water seeeping through the ceiling again. I had to contact my hotel rep at 10:30 pm to get them to do something because the hotel refused to re-room us. Fortunately next morning we were moved. But that was not the end of the disappointment. We had constant battles over pool towels, there were rarely any available. The extremely expensive safety deposit boxes had to be attended to on several occassions because they didn't work. The electronic keys failed, locking us out our room. To be fair to the hotel they did try to make ammends we were given a plate of fruit and the use of bathrobes and slippers we were also provided with a clock but this was removed the day before we left I am afraid that the beauty of the surroundings did not make up for the lack of care which seemed to surround us. We certainly did not get value for money and I have to thank our excellent hotel rep who fought our battles and allowed us to enjoy the second week of our trip much more the otherwise would have done

Room Tip: Choose a high floor with an easterly sea view for spectacular morning sunrises
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,165
    779
    255
    87
    53
See reviews for
372
1367
59
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (701)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Excellent accommodation and service, wonderful people, interesting and friendly town. The restaurants are very good, though they could feature more local fare. We had lunch once in town at the Bahia View, which was terrific.

Room Tip: Rooms toward the back and the beach are quieter - farther from disco.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

My wife and me stayed at the resort for a week from Feb 3 '13 to Feb 10, 13. We were in the main 5 storey building on the 3rd floor.This building is built on a cliff and the view from the building is very beautiful in all directions. Our room was facing the town of Samana which is partly on hills with a beautiful bay harbour in between our hotel and the town. Rooms on the right of ours face the ocean where cruise liners stop on weekly visits - again very pretty view as well. This resort also has villas on the beach level which can be accesed by walking down on stairs thru the beautiful well kept grounds with a very scenic view of the ocean and surrounding hills and cliffs.There is strolley service for those who dont want to walk up and the stairs.There are two small beach areas which we found clean and very scenic. There is an elevator from the main building area which took us down to the main beach where we found the water clear and we loved swimming there.
The staff everywhere - in the buffet,restaurants,bars,reception,etc are most friendly,welcoming and helpful - very pleasant people indeed. The entertainment staff were very friendly and pleasant as well.The main swimming pool near the main hotel building was clean and surrounded by scenic area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Stayed 2 weeks from Jan. 8, 2013 and really enjoyed our stay. Extremely friendly and helpful staff, thus the maids in the lobby bar could be better organized in the rutines; sometimes you were waited, sometimes not. All flew around like bees in a bottle.
The hotel is spotless clearn everywhere you go, and very well maintained. The room - 517 - was in a fine size, kingsize bed and a stunning view. Needles to mention; spotless clean.
Breakfast was world class, lunch cosi-cosi, evening buffet could be better. It seem the chef has forgotten all about spices, herbs, salt 'n' pepper. But a great varity of food to chose from.
Of the theme restaurants we would recommend the gourmet, lovely food and high service from our special friend David, the restaurant manager. The fish restaurant was also good, even for a non fish eater. The Italian... don't go if you are eager after italian food - It's no way Italian.
Pool and beach are both very well equipped with comfi sunbeds and umbrellas. Not to mention the staff at the beach bar - so nice, friendly and service minded.
Only one main downer during our stay; the shop owners of Samana! If going downtown with the hotel shuttle, be aware of the shop owners - they are all hungry like a wolfs, and somewhat anoying.
All in all a fantastic holiday in a great country in a great hotel - with room for improvement.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, South Dakota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed from 2/2 thru 2/8 with 3 other couples and had a blast! All couples were in there early 30's to early 40's. I did a lot of research and read a lot of reviews and you always have a handfull of negative reviews which those people are always going to be unhappy at any place. The food was good. They always had something good at the buffet and we liked all of the ala carte resteraunts but the gourmet was our favorite. The staff was very friendly. We especially liked Dario at the lobby bar. We'll miss him. Not much for entertainment but the couple shows we went to were good. We stayed in the main hotel and did go to the snack bar by the villas which yes there is a lot of steps but for all of the people that complained about the steps you can take a shuttle. The elevator to the beach didn't bother us becuase you have a bar/bathroom at the beach. Some complained about the beach but it was nice, once you got in the water it was excellent sand and no rocks and the beach itself had great sand. We went on the booze/cruise and snorkeling tour thorugh the scuba hut on the beach and even though we had a boat breakdown for a short time it was great. Benjamin was on this tour and he also did our zipline tour and he is a great guy. Lived in the states for years so he speaks good english and knows his stuff. You can usually find him under the bridge/road to nowhere. A few of the other couples went on the whale watching tour and had a great time. The ziplines were excellent, got to each lunch on a beautiful beach. It was the walk the plank ziplines and we booked it in town at "Terry's Tours" I think it was $85/ea. They have shuttles that start at 10am and take you into town and there are plenty of little shops to go to. Always bargain and never pay the asking price. Overall it was a great resort and great town and I would say our only complaint was the language barrier. We speak minimal spanish and a lot of the people don't speak any english. My wife and I have been to Jamiaca and both said we'd go back to Jamaica before DR just becuase of the language barrier. One other thing I couldn't find when looking at reviews was the alcohol selection. The beer was Presidente which was the local beer and was great. They had all kinds of local rums and for top shelf liquor which was extra you could get Jack Daniels and some others.

Room Tip: Stay in the main hotel in the upper floors. Any room you'll get a sea view. Ask for one that o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederiksvaerk, Denmark
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Bahia Principe Cayacoa is situated in an excellent location, easy access to Samana town with street life and local tour operators, as well as an amazing view of the Samana Bay and its surroundings. The outdoor pool area impresses with its location among lush tropical vegetation and the sea below. Easy access to an excellent beach with elevator. The staff is helpful, courteous and very service minded. The a'la carte option (3 nights a week) was excellent, giving some variety to the usual buffet, which was a bit too influenced by non-Caribbean cuisine (burgers, hotdogs, pizza) - would have liked a larger variety in salads, and seafood. Also, we enjoyed the grilled lunch at the beach on several occasions.
Unfortunately, we were suffering from a lot of noise from the terrace at the end of our stay, especially on Super Bowl night, which was transmitted on a big screen at full volume.
Free Wi-fi is only available in the hall.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the terrace, if you want to enjoy a peaceful evening on your balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

had a fantastic stay at the cayacoa for two weeks jan23rd/6thfeb. the hotels location high on a hilltop is outstanding with beautiful views in every direction you are looking. the staff there welcomed us there from as soon as we arrived after our long journey from uk and long coach transfer. All the staff here are the most helpfull and friendly we have ever come across.The management team must be training their staff very well as most of them could be working in any top class hotel anywhere in the world.We had a great room in one of the villas overlooking the small pool and great veiw of the sea.There where many steps to climb to get to main building but the walk may have helped keep some of the weight gain after eating too much of the excellent food we kept having from the buffet.The alacart resturants are good and the staff there treat you like v.i.p.s thanks carlos for making us laugh so much.Some other reviews have said that the beach is small and dirty. small it maybe but not dirty.Staff work really hard to keep it cleared at different times of the day especially after rain.To make the beach bigger it would mean cutting through rocks and trees this would spoil the natural beauty of the bay.We met some lovely people during our stay english/canadians/belgums/ danish eveyone was friendly towards each other it really helped us to have such a nice time. The cleaning staff also need to be mentioned as everywere was cleaned to the highest standard.If you fancy a change of scene take the free shuttle into town which goes from the lobby every hour. Its good to look in the shops ..and have a stroll by the harbour . The shopkeepers may try to call you in to look but didnt find too much pressure to buy anything if you didnt want to as a few others have said. Overall this is a beautifull hotel to relax and enjoy yourself meet new people enjoy good food and excellent drinks at the bar. Our only wish would be for Thomson company to realise that a lot more people would visit this beautifull part of the island if they start to fly into samana in the winter instead of a four hour bus journey.

Room Tip: every room has a good view. if you are less able choose a room in the main building to avoid the ste...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa

Address: Loma Puerto Escondido S/N | PO Box 32000, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Samana Province
#4 Spa Hotel in Samana Province
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Samana Province
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Expedia and Otel so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Cayacoa Hotel
Gran Bahia Principe Cayacoa Samana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;