We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Living History” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tainopark

Tainopark
Carreterra Sanchez Samana | Los Robalos, Dominican Republic
+1 829-693-4267
Website
Improve this listing
Type: History Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Tainopark is the biggest historic park in the Caribean. A huge reproduction of the Tainos's life and the confrontation with the spanish conquerors. An incredible scenographia with figures in Fiber glass at the real scale. A trip in the past of more one hour. You seems to be in a movie of these time. Culture and attraction for a unique concept of thematic park.
Westchester
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Living History”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

If you visit Los Haitises add this Park to your tour. It has recreations of the native population that was systematically exterminated by the Spaniards. A history of genocide generally unknown to most of us; all in the name of God.It is not gruesome but tells some sad stories. Stories that are worth hearing.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    17
    2
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Lots of history, and a nice museum, but the dioramas are plastic”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We did Taino Park as part of a day trip with Los Haitises. I found the ipod language guides nice and the history lesson educational, but the dioramas were pretty bad. The museum at the end was nice though. The cafe in the park was horrible.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Taino Park tells a straight story”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Life-sized dioramas depicting the Taino culture, the few Spanish who tried to protect it and the Spanish conquerors who destroyed it through attacks, disease, slavery, etc. Audio programs in a variety of languages tell the story. (The only drawback is that you can't stop the program to spend extra time at each display.) Wonderful museum with artifacts from Taino culture that also recall African and Northwest American and Canadian tribal culture. This park was recommended to me by a specialist in Taino culture.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A discovery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Well done presentation of historical events I knew very little about.
The format, walk from one scene to the next following the rhythm of the audio track, works well for adults and teenagers.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, New York, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A highlight of my visit to Samana”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

On a shore excursion from NCL Gem I visited this museum. Not only were the dioramas well laid out, informative and attractive (although one or two of the figures needed some touch-ups) but the MP-3 player was very helpful in describing the scenes at each stop. I got a real appreciation of the life and times of this maltreated indigenous tribe - now extinct due to that maltreatment. One of the best exhibitions of this kind I've ever experienced.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tainopark also viewed

Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
Samana Province, Dominican Republic
 
Las Galeras, Samana Province
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
 

Been to Tainopark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tainopark, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Tainopark to your Saves list