We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Living Museum about original inhabitants” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tainopark

Tainopark
Carreterra Sanchez Samana | Los Robalos, Dominican Republic
+1 829-693-4267
Website
Improve this listing
Type: History Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Tainopark is the biggest historic park in the Caribean. A huge reproduction of the Tainos's life and the confrontation with the spanish conquerors. An incredible scenographia with figures in Fiber glass at the real scale. A trip in the past of more one hour. You seems to be in a movie of these time. Culture and attraction for a unique concept of thematic park.
Haddonfield
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Living Museum about original inhabitants”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Very well done and worth the trip.

Self guided with auto tape.

Tape interesting.

Staff available to help.

Seats available as you walk through, if you wish to sit and rest or spend more time at one exhibit.

New exhibits are in process of building.

Museum store has good quality items and reasonably priced.

I learned a lot about the inhabitants, who no longer exist and also about the Spanish invasion and takeover of the island.

One of the best tours of my entire cruise.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    17
    2
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whidbey Island, WA
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised by Fine Historical Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

My husband and I toured this as a cruise shore excursion. At first I had discounted this recreation of an Indian village before I saw it. I pleasantly surprised at what a wonderful place this museum is. It makes history come alive

From start to finish this is extremely well done. Each person gets very clear audio descriptions of the 26 scenes, using quality headphones and individual iPods. You can get one of 5 different languages. Half way through, there are refreshments for sale, and restrooms. After the scenes, there is a small museum of reproduced implements and everyday items. One of the modern day scenes also informs you about the numerous words that have come into English from the Indians.

Every staff member we encountered was friendly yet professional.

Highly recommended as part of a shore excursion, or on your own.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longbow Lake,ON
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Taino Park Historical Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We would highly recommend a visit to this historical museum. This place features 25 life scenarios of the first settlers to the area. We walked along a thatched roof walkway accompanied by a clear and comprehensive audio narration which is available in 5 different languages via ipod. There is a museum, boutique, bar, restaurant and clean washrooms. The staff is friendly and very helpful. This is a must see highlight!!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Endwell, New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Historical Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I toured this as a cruise excursion and was so pleasantly surprised at what a wonderful place this is. The displays are beautifully done, the audio tour is excellent and it is a very enjoyable experience. It will appeal to all ages, there is something interesting for all.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tainopark, Propriétaire at Tainopark, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Thanks for your comments. We appreciate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Amazing history of the Taino Indians”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We went on a cruise ship excursion and this place was the highlight of our trip. Very well done audio tour. It was a great history course for me. The real facts about what happened to these indians when Columbus arrived in this place. Things they don't teach you in school.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tainopark, Propriétaire at Tainopark, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
We appreciate your comments
Thanks a lot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tainopark also viewed

Samana Province, Dominican Republic
Las Galeras, Samana Province
 
Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
Las Terrenas, Samana Province
 

Been to Tainopark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tainopark, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.