We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very interesting and well worth the time to see” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tainopark

Tainopark
Carreterra Sanchez Samana | Los Robalos, Dominican Republic
+1 829-693-4267
Website
Improve this listing
Type: History Museums, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Tainopark is the biggest historic park in the Caribean. A huge reproduction of the Tainos's life and the confrontation with the spanish conquerors. An incredible scenographia with figures in Fiber glass at the real scale. A trip in the past of more one hour. You seems to be in a movie of these time. Culture and attraction for a unique concept of thematic park.
Belle Plaine, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very interesting and well worth the time to see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

Taking this tour was one of the highlight of my trip to the Dominican Republic. I always enjoy learning about the culture and a little history of the areas/counties I visit. The Taino Park was an excellent self guided tour that you walked through with an ipod to listen to the story behind each scene. The statues and scenery around the scenes seemed so real, and really told the story and gave a great understanding of the Taino People and what they went through when the Christopher Columbus and the Spanish arrived in the Dominican Republic. The whole park painted an extremely vivid picture in my head of what all happened in that part of history and how it was so similar to American History with how the Native Americans were treated by "White Man" when our ancestors first came to America. This was well worth the time and I do Not think you will be disappointed when you also stop to check it out.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    17
    2
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beaverton, Oregon
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Lifelike displays and very educational”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

The museum was very educational. They had headsets in different languages so it was very informative. The displays are
so lifelike. We enjoyed the cafe with a coconut chocolate milkshake.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tainopark, Propriétaire at Tainopark, responded to this review, April 2, 2012
Thanks for your commente. You are helping us to improve our TAINOPARK. Hope to see you soon.
The Management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Tour for Historical Significance of The Original Indian Inhabitants”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

This is a great park and self guided tour to learn about the earliest inhabitants. Using ipod devices to tell the story and statuary and scenes to illustrate. Great learning experience for all ages.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tainopark, Propriétaire at Tainopark, responded to this review, March 30, 2012
Thanks a lot for your comments. You are helping us to improve our tainopark. See U soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenbush, Michigan
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“One of the most interesting things to do in Samana”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

My friends and I just got back from visiting the Taino Park and we all agreed that it is a great place to visit. I have to give a lot of credit to the creator or creators of this park for a job well done. The tour is very well organized and informative. I liked the gift shop at the end where they only sell items made in the Dominican Republic and specifically, Samana. Also, we enjoyed sitting at the cafe at the end of the tour where we had coconut water out of the coconuts and some other drinks. It was simply lovely.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“An exceptional historical experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

Took an excursion with Holland America Lines to a wonderful tour of the history of the indians of the area.
The walking tour has approximately 25 different scenes of life-like indians in their daily routine. Towards the end, we see how the white man invaded their homeland and converted them to christianity.
Very well done. An exciting experience for all.
A truly worthwhile tour for anyone visiting Samana, Dominican Republic. BRING YOUR CAMERA. Not to be missed.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tainopark, Propriétaire at Tainopark, responded to this review, March 11, 2012
Thanks for your comments. You are helping us to improve our Tainopark.
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tainopark also viewed

Samana Province, Dominican Republic
Samana Province, Dominican Republic
 
Samana Province, Dominican Republic
Samana Province, Dominican Republic
 

Been to Tainopark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tainopark, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.