We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT EXPERIENCE” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cotubanama Backpackers Samana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Cotubanama Backpackers Samana to your Saves list
Cotubanama Backpackers Samana
2, Calle Peter Van Horst, 32000, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Valencia, Spain
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT EXPERIENCE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

During our week stay was all great.

The employees were very friendly, the room was very clean and very comfortable. We had a sink in our room.

We handled all the excursions and save a lot of money.

I really highly recommend this backpackers.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    1
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
6
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

Although it is advertised as backpackers friendly it is not unless you can book a room for five.
I was given a stinky room - dirty sheets, noisy fan, no light in the bathroom, no hot water and water leaking the whole time. Although the room was interior and had no windows it was really noisy during the night, I can't imagine how it is in the rooms facing the street.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guillermo D, Owner at Cotubanama Backpackers Samana, responded to this review, January 6, 2012
Dear Mr,
Im very sorry about technical problem of your room, that finally was resolved....here in dominican republic everythings go slowly not as fast as i would like to, even to try to fix an electrical problem in a bathroom.
We don´t have hot water.......but we dont advertise anywhere that we have....
About the ceiling fan......it makes noise if you put in maximum, thats normal (at home i have one and sounds like an helicopter if you put in maximum).
In Christmas days there are many partys and its normal the noise, here in Dominican Republic at least.
The night you were with us we went out with some guys from sweden, is not a question if they were in a 5 bedroom, they just invite us to join them....
In next months we will be improving our services trying always to give our best.
Sorry for the incoveniences, an hope you will give us a chance to change your idea form our hostel.
Happy new 2012
Guillermo de Juan
Manager Cotubanama Backpackers Samana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara de Samana, Dominican Republic
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

The location of Backpackers was very convenient and I was able to walk just about anywhere in Samana under 5min. (without having to spend money on taxi's) The closest beach was about a 5-10min. walk and the rooms were great with cable T.V. and air-conditioning (thank God). Guillermo the manager was the best...!!! And went out of his way to help me with anything I needed. I give Cotubanama Backpackers Samana two big thumbs up...!!!

Room Tip: I stayed in room 201 for its location and adjacent balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2011

Guillermo and his staff.were extremely helpful and friendly! They treated us like family.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norden, Germany
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

Very nice and clean Hostel for traveling aroung in the peninsula of samana!
I spent amazing days and nights with the manager of the hostel, his wife and the staff who showed me a very beautiful part of the dominican republic and it's lifestyle!!!

Had a great time in there! Thinking about coming back :-)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

I stayed with a couple of friends for 2 days. Guillermo, the manager and his staff were very helpful and friendly! Thanks a lot! We will definitely come back to Cotubanama Backpackers in Samaná ! Muchas gracias por todo :)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

Thank you Guillermo and Yanil for having us at your hostel! These two make you feel like guests at home rather than just clients. The lodging is appropriate for the price, but sufficient for travelers like me who want to spend as much time out in the town as possible. The hostel is located a block from La Malecon where you can find lovely gift shops and restaurants with delicious food. All the staff at Cotubanama Backpackers Samana was super friendly, honest, and helpful. Guillermo arranged an excursion to El Limon for us, and Yanil even went along with us, passing the day with us just like any other friend would. Though I spent less than 2 full days in Samana, I had a great time and I highly recommend this hostel for adventurers who like a little taste of home comfort on their journey.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cotubanama Backpackers Samana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cotubanama Backpackers Samana

Address: 2, Calle Peter Van Horst, 32000, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 53 Specialty Lodging in Samana Province
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cotubanama Backpackers Samana is a Small Hotel and a Youth Hostel located in the Scenic Town of SAMANA were you can Discover the Real Dominican Way of Life. You will learn about Dominican Culture, Gastronomy & Music (Bachata, Salsa and Merengue). We await you, join us in this great adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Cotubanama Backpackers Samana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cotubanama Backpackers Samana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.