We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cave exploring at it's best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Parque Nacional Los Haitises

Parque Nacional Los Haitises
23000, Dominican Republic
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Recommended
$75*
and up
Zipline Adventure in El Limón
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Cave exploring at it's best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

This trip was done mostly by catamaran.Pretty much liked everything. Boat ride was a bit long but bearable....The caves were interesting, especially the one with the bats. Oh, the bats don't bother you as they are high up inside the save.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank JimmygBklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Nice set of islands”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

It was great fun on the boat, fantastic journey.

The caves themselves were interesting and the bird life fascinating.

Once the rum came out things got more lively and the sea was a little more bouncy. Great for some but not for those with with a fear of water. Worth what we paid for the trip and not to be missed if your interested in the world around you.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Caves & Birds”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We went on a boat trip to the caves and it was ok, the guide was good and kept us entertained. I would not really reccommend this as we only saw caves and birds.Not good for those with mobilty issues, confined spaces or vision problems (its dark in caves) When we booked it we thought we would be walking in a national park. I think tour operators need to make it clearer what these trips are.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Lovely nature tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We took a tour from the Cayo Levontado resort to the park. The boat took about 1.5 hours to get to the park. We were on a smaller boat, and on the ride back, the waves were quite choppy. Not good for nervous boaters, but I felt quite safe. The guide shared some island facts on the way out, which made the trip seem faster.

We saw a nesting area for brown pelicans and freighter birds. Then we weaved in amongst the mangroves and learned about how they filter the water and act as a nursery for fish. Then we walked through two caves with many pictographs and neat formations. We had our 85 year old father with us, and he was able to manage all the walking with only a little help. It is not stroller or wheelchair accessible, though. We also walked a ways through some of the swampy area, where we saw a couple of different types of small crabs. Make sure you wear bug spray.

We went with a tour guide, and there was an entrance fee to one of the caves. The tour covered the cost, but I believe it was about 100 pesos.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank spike256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Boats and birds”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Use a tour operator (Flora is fine). Hope for a calm day on the bay (Bahia) as most of your time is in an open boat, so bring a hat (hold onto it) water and suscreen. Insist on an English speaking guide (French predominates). If you like nature this is for you.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Crater74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Parque Nacional Los Haitises also viewed

Samana Province, Dominican Republic
Samana Province, Dominican Republic
 
Las Terrenas, Samana Province
Samana Province, Dominican Republic
 

Been to Parque Nacional Los Haitises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing