We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cave exploring at it's best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Parc National Los Haitises

Parc National Los Haitises
Dominican Republic
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas
Attraction Details
Brooklyn, NY
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Cave exploring at it's best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

This trip was done mostly by catamaran.Pretty much liked everything. Boat ride was a bit long but bearable....The caves were interesting, especially the one with the bats. Oh, the bats don't bother you as they are high up inside the save.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    57
    25
    6
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice set of islands”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

It was great fun on the boat, fantastic journey.

The caves themselves were interesting and the bird life fascinating.

Once the rum came out things got more lively and the sea was a little more bouncy. Great for some but not for those with with a fear of water. Worth what we paid for the trip and not to be missed if your interested in the world around you.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Caves & Birds”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We went on a boat trip to the caves and it was ok, the guide was good and kept us entertained. I would not really reccommend this as we only saw caves and birds.Not good for those with mobilty issues, confined spaces or vision problems (its dark in caves) When we booked it we thought we would be walking in a national park. I think tour operators need to make it clearer what these trips are.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Boats and birds”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Use a tour operator (Flora is fine). Hope for a calm day on the bay (Bahia) as most of your time is in an open boat, so bring a hat (hold onto it) water and suscreen. Insist on an English speaking guide (French predominates). If you like nature this is for you.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“A history lesson”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We don't often think about how distructive the history of the "discovery" of North America by the Spaniards was but a walk in the caves with a guide to see the petroglyphs brings this home in a very graphic way.
The sail around the little islands and through the mangrove forests is just magical. This is a must do if you are in the Samana area.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Parc National Los Haitises also viewed

Samana Province, Dominican Republic
Samana Province, Dominican Republic
 
Samana Province, Dominican Republic
Samana Province, Dominican Republic
 

Been to Parc National Los Haitises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parc National Los Haitises, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;