We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cave exploring at it's best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Parc National Los Haitises

Parc National Los Haitises
Dominican Republic
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$110*
and up
Los Haitises National Park Tour from Punta Cana
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Nature & Parks
Activities: Hiking, Group tours/day tour
Attraction details
Brooklyn, NY
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Cave exploring at it's best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

This trip was done mostly by catamaran.Pretty much liked everything. Boat ride was a bit long but bearable....The caves were interesting, especially the one with the bats. Oh, the bats don't bother you as they are high up inside the save.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    73
    35
    10
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice set of islands”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

It was great fun on the boat, fantastic journey.

The caves themselves were interesting and the bird life fascinating.

Once the rum came out things got more lively and the sea was a little more bouncy. Great for some but not for those with with a fear of water. Worth what we paid for the trip and not to be missed if your interested in the world around you.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Caves & Birds”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We went on a boat trip to the caves and it was ok, the guide was good and kept us entertained. I would not really reccommend this as we only saw caves and birds.Not good for those with mobilty issues, confined spaces or vision problems (its dark in caves) When we booked it we thought we would be walking in a national park. I think tour operators need to make it clearer what these trips are.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Lovely nature tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We took a tour from the Cayo Levontado resort to the park. The boat took about 1.5 hours to get to the park. We were on a smaller boat, and on the ride back, the waves were quite choppy. Not good for nervous boaters, but I felt quite safe. The guide shared some island facts on the way out, which made the trip seem faster.

We saw a nesting area for brown pelicans and freighter birds. Then we weaved in amongst the mangroves and learned about how they filter the water and act as a nursery for fish. Then we walked through two caves with many pictographs and neat formations. We had our 85 year old father with us, and he was able to manage all the walking with only a little help. It is not stroller or wheelchair accessible, though. We also walked a ways through some of the swampy area, where we saw a couple of different types of small crabs. Make sure you wear bug spray.

We went with a tour guide, and there was an entrance fee to one of the caves. The tour covered the cost, but I believe it was about 100 pesos.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Boats and birds”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Use a tour operator (Flora is fine). Hope for a calm day on the bay (Bahia) as most of your time is in an open boat, so bring a hat (hold onto it) water and suscreen. Insist on an English speaking guide (French predominates). If you like nature this is for you.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Parc National Los Haitises also viewed

Samana Province, Dominican Republic
Samana Province, Dominican Republic
 
Samana Province, Dominican Republic
Samana Province, Dominican Republic
 

Been to Parc National Los Haitises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parc National Los Haitises, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.