We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Made my trip to the Dominican Republic worth it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Parc National Los Haitises

Parc National Los Haitises
Dominican Republic
Website
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas
Attraction Details
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Made my trip to the Dominican Republic worth it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We hired Explora! Ecotours to take us to Los Haitises National Park. Our guide, Jose, really knew his stuff and explained everything we wanted to know about the park. It was beautiful and unique, and redeemed what was otherwise a less than good experience in the DR. Look at the pictures and try to find a good reason for not coming!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    50
    23
    6
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice change of scenery”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We booked this excursion through our hotel and it was very nice. It included visiting Los Haitises and Cayo Levantado. The boat ride there didn't seem long but that might have something to do with the rum and cokes they pour you all the way there and all the way back! It was nice to see the area but if you are hoping for a big nature adventure then the boat excursion isn't going to deliver.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lunenburg, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Scenery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I loved to boat hour and a half boat ride to and from the park and exploring the caves was great, wear good footwear. The Lunch at our sister resort wasn't all that great but the beach was beautiful.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

This is a must do. The boat ride is a little long but if you are lucky you may see whales on the way over. The caves are great and you can look around for a long time before the guides start looking for you.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Long boat ride, bit boring”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I traveled with two teens and a 7 year old. All three were bored to tears by the long boat ride to get to the park. The dolphins did provide some excitement, but they were really agitated having the boat so near. They kept slapping the water in a threatening manner. The actual park made up for the long ride. We enjoyed the glyphs and exploring the caves. If you are a history buff, this is for you.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Parc National Los Haitises also viewed

Samana Province, Dominican Republic
Samana Province, Dominican Republic
 
Samana Province, Dominican Republic
Samana Province, Dominican Republic
 

Been to Parc National Los Haitises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parc National Los Haitises, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Parc National Los Haitises to your Saves list