We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Made my trip to the Dominican Republic worth it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Parc National Los Haitises

Parc National Los Haitises
Dominican Republic
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$110*
and up
Los Haitises National Park Tour from Punta Cana
Activities: Hiking, Group tours/day tour
Attraction details
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Made my trip to the Dominican Republic worth it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We hired Explora! Ecotours to take us to Los Haitises National Park. Our guide, Jose, really knew his stuff and explained everything we wanted to know about the park. It was beautiful and unique, and redeemed what was otherwise a less than good experience in the DR. Look at the pictures and try to find a good reason for not coming!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    86
    38
    10
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice change of scenery”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We booked this excursion through our hotel and it was very nice. It included visiting Los Haitises and Cayo Levantado. The boat ride there didn't seem long but that might have something to do with the rum and cokes they pour you all the way there and all the way back! It was nice to see the area but if you are hoping for a big nature adventure then the boat excursion isn't going to deliver.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lunenburg, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Scenery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I loved to boat hour and a half boat ride to and from the park and exploring the caves was great, wear good footwear. The Lunch at our sister resort wasn't all that great but the beach was beautiful.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Los Haites Parc Tour”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

If taking this tour from Punta Cana, it is way too far to go for a day tour. While the 2 hr boat tour was nice through the Mangrove, it took almost 5 hrs to get there. The tour (sultana tours, I believe) booked through our JETBLUE tour guide had far too many stops to pick people up. While the tour guide was knowledgeable, we left the hotel at 6:30am and never got on the boat to start our tour until close to 11:30am. We did visit caves as well, and while interesting, we spent too long there - and then we had a 4 hr bus ride back to the hotel. WOuld not recommend.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

This is a must do. The boat ride is a little long but if you are lucky you may see whales on the way over. The caves are great and you can look around for a long time before the guides start looking for you.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Parc National Los Haitises also viewed

Samana Province, Dominican Republic
Samana Province, Dominican Republic
 
Samana Province, Dominican Republic
Samana Province, Dominican Republic
 

Been to Parc National Los Haitises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parc National Los Haitises, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.