We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cayo Levantado (Bacardi Island)

Cayo Levantado (Bacardi Island)
Dominican Republic
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$90*
and up
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A short boat ride off the north coast will take you to the island of Cayo Levantado (Bacardi Island), with its beautiful white sand beaches.
Arvada, Colorado
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Rented a boat and captain through Escapade de Samana in the Bannister Hotel. Spent half the day lounging around on the beach. Did a little shopping for gifts and had some great food while we were there.

One recommendation. Time your visit to the island when the cruise ships are NOT visiting. We checked with Fabrice at Escapade de Samana and he told us which days to avoid. Makes a BIG difference. It was not crowded at all when we went. When the cruise ships arrive the crowds must be huge! Nice beach. Great way to spend a day.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    400
    173
    60
    16
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hanover, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The most beautiful beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Tucked away in Samana DR is the beautiful beach of Cayo Levantado or Bacardi beach. Grab a beach chair, cold drink, and sunscreen and you're set. We chose this excursion while on our cruise. Sea lions and a beautiful beach. Food was prepaid for and we had an awesome time!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Could have been improved...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Went on a day excursion to Bacardi island.... it wasn't as great as the Rincon Beach excursion but it had it's perks.

PROS: During the catamaran ride to the island we had dolphins swimming alongside, which was super neat to see!!!
Great snorkeling during this excursion.

CONS: Only brought Tostitos and Salsa for lunch on the excursion.
Ran out of rum during the excursion.
Told to pay for chairs at the beach.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
231 reviews
124 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Tropical paradise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We washed up here after a whale watching expedition in Samana Bay, met some playful hump backs but it was a little choppy in our small boat and the feel on the white sand between my toes was most welcome, not only a beautiful area but well organized, food and drink available to buy and a single street local market which you could bypass if you didn't want to barter with the enthusiastic sellers. we just grabbed a couple of sunbeds and laid in the sun (for too long) with the occasional dip in the warm sea. If you get the chance go there.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Crowded and Confusing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The beach is nice, but the way you get food is confusing. We didn't come on an excursion, so we weren't part of a large group where food was already planned/paid for you. After looking around the 'buffet' area, we found a person and ordered fish. The fish was fresh and very tasty. It was the WHOLE fish, so be ready to see the sad eyes and teeth! (Yes, these fish had teeth.) The meal arrived with rice, plantains, and a fresh salad.

The beach can be very crowded and loud. Of course we were there on a Sunday, so all the locals were there handing out having fun. All and all - an ok time.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cayo Levantado (Bacardi Island) also viewed

Las Terrenas, Samana Province
Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
 
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
 

Been to Cayo Levantado (Bacardi Island)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cayo Levantado (Bacardi Island), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.