We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to know.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ecoturismo Salto del Limon

Ecoturismo Salto del Limon
Carretera Las Terrenas, Dominican Republic
829-931-6964
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Horseback Riding Stables
Attraction Details
Miami
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent place to know.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

This place is a ultra beautifull ,the view and the travel experience is outstanding.You have to rent a horse to down the mountain and then see the water cascade.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    14
    4
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“horsetrek to the waterfall”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

The horse ride was very good, going over steep terrain to the waterfall. The horses (and the guide with the horse) had to work very hard to get us there. The waterfall itself was impressive but ultimately a bit of a let down. Definitely worth it though for the horse trek (no riding skills required). Most of the horses were provided by volunteers but every horse came with a volunteer to ensure a safe ride to the waterfall. These volunteers are not paid and rely solely on tips from the touris. We were not that well informed about this and regretted this. Seeing that the walk to and from was quite arduous, I think they deserve a good tip. Especially having seen that most of the volunteers are poor.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The place to meet mother nature.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

Deep into the rainforest, this waterfall is a diamond of nature, cristal water and great place to swim.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

We were sent to Chez Santi in El Limon, the restaurant outpost for Santi Rancho for our excursion to El Limon - the must see waterfall on the Samana Peninsula.

Santi is a warm and welcoming (and english speaking) host. He arranged a guide for us to El Limon waterfall, and we had a delicious lunch afterwards at Chez Santi. He kindly accommodated our request to walk to the falls as opposed to riding on a horse for most of the trek. This was fun for us but it is a strenuous walk, only recommended for those in good physical condition.
While on our trek, I saw that many other tour groups were led by young children, and I really appreciate the fact that Santi does not use child labor. The meal we had after our adventure was delicious, especially after the long hike.

I highly recommend making arrangements to visit El Limon through Santi Rancho. There are many "tour guides" in the area as you approach El Limon, and I suggest that you go only with a reputable establishment like this one.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“worth the money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

Fun! Nice way to meet the locals and enjoy a traditional Dominican meal.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ecoturismo Salto del Limon also viewed

Samana Province, Dominican Republic
Samana Province, Dominican Republic
 
Samana Province, Dominican Republic
Las Terrenas, Samana Province
 

Been to Ecoturismo Salto del Limon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ecoturismo Salto del Limon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Ecoturismo Salto del Limon to your Saves list