We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Private Luxury!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Xeliter Vista Mare Samana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Xeliter Vista Mare Samana to your Saves list
Xeliter Vista Mare Samana
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Carretera Samana - Las Galeras Km. 12 | Samana, 00000, Dominican Republic   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 57 Hotels in Samana Province
Vienna, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Private Luxury!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Our stay at Vista Mare was amazing and my husband and I would love to return there in the future. We visited in January and had good weather about 75% of the time. It sprinkled almost every morning, but the afternoons were very sunny and the temperature was perfect (high 60s, low 80s). The hotel was almost empty for most of our trip, which was very nice because it felt very quiet and private. There was almost no one at the beaches and very few people in the restaurant. However, on the last few days more people showed up, and on our last night there was a large party with very loud music playing at the pool. It continued all night, and there was no where to go in the restaurant to get away from the loud music and have a quiet dinner. (I found out l later that January 21st is Our Lady of Altagracia Day.)

The food we ate during our stay was all very good. The fresh fruit in our kitchen on the day we arrived was some of the most delicious fruit I have ever tasted. Likewise, the food at the restaurant was gourmet quality, reasonably priced (US$ 9 for a pasta dish) and the service was exceptional. My husband and I speak very limited Spanish, but the friendly servers spoke some English, so this was not a problem. We also ate some delicious dinners in Samana.

Vista Mare itself is an amazingly beautiful place. Each unit has a balcony that has a breathtaking view that overlooks the beach and gets plenty of sunshine all day long. The resort is built onto the side of a very steep hill which makes for incredible views from the restaurant and pool at the top of the hill. We watched whales from our breakfast table all week long. The hill drops more than 200 hundred feet from the main gate to the beach. We are young and healthy so this was not a problem for us, although I would not recommend this place for people with bad knees or who can't climb more than a few flights of stairs. The room was cleaned everyday and the maid even tended to our dishes.

All the employees at Vista Mare were very friendly and very professional. Humberto and Jose, who work at the restaurant, were excellent. The front desk concierge spoke enough English to make up for our poor Spanish skills, and the maids and security guards always greeted us with a smile.

Vista Mare is gated and most of the units are set back from the road. There are security guards stationed around the property, which contributed to the overall feeling of safety.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    15
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
19
32
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
fort collins, colorado
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

First off we would stay there again...bountiful views of the sea, private beaches ringed by rock outcroppings and coconut trees, solid restaurant and bar, easy access to Samana and Las Galeras, well designed buildings, and not at all crowded in July. But our unit had problems with airconditioning (though it got resolved), dishwasher, poorly installed faucets, leaky clothes washer, etc. I'm assuming it is just a problem with this particular unit and its particular owner. And, hey, we stayed anyway because it is such a great place. But make sure everything works before you unpack...especially for a longer stay.

Room Tip: Check the appliances before unpacking...the view and location may compensate for any shortcoming but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

I stayed at this this hotel for one night and really enjoyed their beautiful views from the 1 bedroom apt. and especially from the pool. I experienced excellent service from all employees we encountered on our stay. The design of the 2 connecting pools are eye catching and even more the views you could experience from there. We got to take a look at the game room, restaurant, exercise area and all was kept very nice and clean. Our room had everything you could possibly need in an apartment. The beaches (east & west) are impressive because of its location and the strong waves at the time we was there. It was definitely worthiness to visit!

Room Tip: If you get there by a car, it will not be an inconvenience to be near the pool or beach area because...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

It's 15 minutes from town, so perfectly tucked away but a car is a must. The resort sits on a massive hill with the beach below. The views are breath-taking from every angle. The pool is great. The food is good, highly recommend Chinola juice, delicious! The villas are modern, clean, comfortable, w full kitchens. The service is awesome. My ONLY warning is this...THE BEACH! If there is a red flag up at the beach...DO NOT GET INTO THE WATER! My boyfriend and I made the mistake of doing so and were almost swimming with the fishes. The under-toe can be severe however if you do have car there are many beautiful beaches on the way into town. A boat ride to Cayo Levantado makes for the ultimate beach experience! Oh and riding along side of whales isn't bad either! :) Vista Mare Samana gets 5 stars for it's view alone!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We agree with previous reviewers, this is a stunning place. We ate dinner at the restaurant every evening and the chef is great, service also, if you ask for the head, English speaking waiter. Our only complaint is that you really need a car to get down to the beach, and we were discouraged from renting one by the lack of good rentals available in the AZS airport, and by the advice (warnings) on TA forums. Our condo (beautiful!) was near the office, pool, and restaurant, but we missed access to the beach down a too steep road to navigate on foot. Otherwise, we would give this place 5 stars.
We were disappointed to NOT see whales from our balcony the 4 days of our stay in mid Feb. We spent many hours looking, so don't set your heart on it.
Also,the place was almost too quiet during the day...pools nearly deserted. (Would have enjoyed someone to chat with, occasionally)
but the condo, and its views are indeed spectacular, and the office folks were very accomodating.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

The clean look permeates everything. Quiet, surrounded by nature, fantastic views from every room, good food, good service...can't ask for more if you want to explore Samana bay, Rincon beach, watch whales from your room (Feb/March), or Las Terrenas but you ned a car or else hunker down and enjoy the amenities and relaxed atmosphere. If you try it once, you may want to come back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario's Near North, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

The views from the balconies are well worth the stay alone! Very clean, and the staff are extremely helpful and prompt. Very modern, and the beds are very comfortable. We had an awesome view of the cruise ship in the bay as well as we were able to see the whales from the balcony!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms close to the reception as the hills are steep if walking to the pool or beach or to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Xeliter Vista Mare Samana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xeliter Vista Mare Samana

Address: Carretera Samana - Las Galeras Km. 12 | Samana, 00000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Samana Province
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Samana Province
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Xeliter Vista Mare Samana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vista Mare is a place where style and service converge in such a way that it will forever change the way you view the word vacation. The resort is located on Samana - Las Galeras Road (RD 5), just 55 minutes away from El Catey International Airport, and 30 minutes away from the soon to be opened golf course Las Terrenas Country Club. At Vista Mare you will enjoy of luxurious accommodation with spacious bedrooms, bathrooms, private terraces and many other amenities such as concierge services and personalized attention at the swimming pool area, to assure you have plenty of time to relax. Vista Mare is the best in modern hospitality. 87 ocean view residences, fully equipped, divided into 1, 2 and 3 Bedroom Apartments. Designed to be ideally located on a hill site of breathtaking views of the private beach, located in a secluded bay of turquoise waters. Amenities and facilities in the hotel: A la Carte Restaurant, Bar Lounge, Mini Market, Gym, Concierge, Swimming Pool, Two Beaches of Exclusive use, Cable TV, Internet, Beach Club, Kids Club, 24/7 Security, WIFI Internet available in common areas and mini bar in each accommodation. Vista Mare features an A la Carte menu with the best local and International meals prepared by our skilled chefs. Fresh from the ocean seafood and imported meats combined with our tropical atmosphere to make your dining an enjoyable and unforgettable experience while choosing your preferred dish from our varied menu. Breakfast, lunch and dinner are served at El Cayo Restaurant.The location is ideal for outdoor activities such as sailing, excursions, trekking, sightseeing and one of the most spectacular attractions in the Caribbean, the yearly whale watching season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Xeliter Vista Mare Samana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vista Mare Samana Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Xeliter Vista Mare Samana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.