We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Xeliter Vista Mare Samana

Save Saved
You added Xeliter Vista Mare Samana to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Xeliter Vista Mare Samana
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Carretera Samana - Las Galeras Km. 12 | Samana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 56 hotels in Samana Province
new york
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Located on a cliff in between two stunning coves Vista Mare is a good value option when visiting Samana' peninsula. Very close to amazing beaches the condos are brand new and with amazing views.The restaurant is ok , the pool is great , the water of the ocean has strong currents in this location , so be aware. The other problem is that the property is on a ripid cliff , so you need a car go around the resort.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    44
    14
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
17
31
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

if you are in Samana i recommend to stay in a very quiet and confortable hotel. Amazing view of Samana bay, good service, roomy apartments. Located in the middle of interesting places.. A great scape that anone can afford..

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominican Republic
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Where do I being? I visit this hotel with my girlfriend a couple of months ago and stayed a whole weekend on a one bedroom suite. The view you get from the room is simple amazing, you can easily spot the boats roaming around "Cayo Levantado" and view of the cayo itself is simply mind-blowing. The room itself was very clean, the furniture superb and the don't even get me started on the service, everyone was just so helpful and willing to help! The beach feels like a private and exclusive beach because it's hidden inside the complex and infinity pool is just great. The food on the restaurant was REALLY really good and cheap when you compare it to other hotels.

I would definitely stay here again anyday, I loved everything during my stay! I'd definitely recommend this hotel if you're visiting Samana.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

If you visit samaná, i recommend stay in Vista Mare. Great food, great place to spend an unforgettable weekend, amazing view, good service and the apartments are very nice, modern, spacious, equipped, clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

BEAUTIFUL view. The place has a very simple, clean and modern design. Very quiet surroundings, great place to rest. When I first saw the view from the apartment i was just speechless.

It really is a great place and at a great value.

You have the option of bringing and preparing your own food in the fully-equipped kitchen each apartment has or you can go to the restaurant which is similarly priced to other restaurants in the area.

The private beach was clean, quiet, and had a comfortable resting area. The trip to the pool was long and a little steep so we had to go with our car, but I really didn't mind.

This is not your usual commercial and touristy hotel.

I looks come back and would recommend it in a heartbeat!!!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo, Distrito Nacional, Dominican Republic
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

I really recommend this place when you are exploring Samaná, great food, great place and excellent price. You are not staying at a hotel but in an apartment which is a bigger room and very comfortable.
The view is incredible, overlooking "Cayo Levantado" so all apartments are ocean view. Overall an incredible experience.

Room Tip: You have to decide to book an apartment close to the beach or the pool and restaurant area. 2 bedroo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We were recommended to stay here by my wife's sister who is an executive in the Dominican hotel industry so my hopes were high and for this reason, I didn't do my own independent research. Upon arrival, the front desk workers were not too friendly or energetic. They were not overly helpful, even to my wife who is Dominican. They did offer a cold towel and the best passion fruit juice. The hotel has no excursions and provided very minimal guidance/assistance with were to contact someone for excursions. The whole resort is on a cliff so be prepared to drive around using your breaks at every turn or be in good shape to walk. This includes going to and from the restaurant and the beach. The meal plans were not convenient, meaning if you got the meal plan, you were limited on what you could order and how much. Additionally, they were pre-packaged, for example you couldn't get just a breakfast and dinner plan. The rooms were very nice, modern, spacious, and equipped. The restaurant food was excellent and the restaurant staff were great. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone since I will not return myself.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Xeliter Vista Mare Samana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xeliter Vista Mare Samana

Address: Carretera Samana - Las Galeras Km. 12 | Samana, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Samana Province
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Samana Province
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Xeliter Vista Mare Samana 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vista Mare is a place where style and service converge in such a way that it will forever change the way you view the word vacation. The resort is located on Samana - Las Galeras Road (RD 5), just 55 minutes away from El Catey International Airport, and 30 minutes away from the soon to be opened golf course Las Terrenas Country Club. At Vista Mare you will enjoy of luxurious accommodation with spacious bedrooms, bathrooms, private terraces and many other amenities such as concierge services and personalized attention at the swimming pool area, to assure you have plenty of time to relax. Vista Mare is the best in modern hospitality. 87 ocean view residences, fully equipped, divided into 1, 2 and 3 Bedroom Apartments. Designed to be ideally located on a hill site of breathtaking views of the private beach, located in a secluded bay of turquoise waters. Amenities and facilities in the hotel: A la Carte Restaurant, Bar Lounge, Mini Market, Gym, Concierge, Swimming Pool, Two Beaches of Exclusive use, Cable TV, Internet, Beach Club, Kids Club, 24/7 Security, WIFI Internet available in common areas and mini bar in each accommodation. Vista Mare features an A la Carte menu with the best local and International meals prepared by our skilled chefs. Fresh from the ocean seafood and imported meats combined with our tropical atmosphere to make your dining an enjoyable and unforgettable experience while choosing your preferred dish from our varied menu. Breakfast, lunch and dinner are served at El Cayo Restaurant.The location is ideal for outdoor activities such as sailing, excursions, trekking, sightseeing and one of the most spectacular attractions in the Caribbean, the yearly whale watching season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Xeliter Vista Mare Samana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vista Mare Samana Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Xeliter Vista Mare Samana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.