We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“un fin de semana tranquilo” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vista Mare Samana

Save Saved
You added Vista Mare Samana to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Vista Mare Samana
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Carretera Samana - Las Galeras Km. 12 | Samana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 56 hotels in Samana Province
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“un fin de semana tranquilo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

if you are in Samana i recommend to stay in a very quiet and confortable hotel. Amazing view of Samana bay, good service, roomy apartments. Located in the middle of interesting places.. A great scape that anone can afford..

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    44
    14
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
16
31
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dominican Republic
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Where do I being? I visit this hotel with my girlfriend a couple of months ago and stayed a whole weekend on a one bedroom suite. The view you get from the room is simple amazing, you can easily spot the boats roaming around "Cayo Levantado" and view of the cayo itself is simply mind-blowing. The room itself was very clean, the furniture superb and the don't even get me started on the service, everyone was just so helpful and willing to help! The beach feels like a private and exclusive beach because it's hidden inside the complex and infinity pool is just great. The food on the restaurant was REALLY really good and cheap when you compare it to other hotels.

I would definitely stay here again anyday, I loved everything during my stay! I'd definitely recommend this hotel if you're visiting Samana.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

If you visit samaná, i recommend stay in Vista Mare. Great food, great place to spend an unforgettable weekend, amazing view, good service and the apartments are very nice, modern, spacious, equipped, clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

BEAUTIFUL view. The place has a very simple, clean and modern design. Very quiet surroundings, great place to rest. When I first saw the view from the apartment i was just speechless.

It really is a great place and at a great value.

You have the option of bringing and preparing your own food in the fully-equipped kitchen each apartment has or you can go to the restaurant which is similarly priced to other restaurants in the area.

The private beach was clean, quiet, and had a comfortable resting area. The trip to the pool was long and a little steep so we had to go with our car, but I really didn't mind.

This is not your usual commercial and touristy hotel.

I looks come back and would recommend it in a heartbeat!!!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo, Distrito Nacional, Dominican Republic
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

I really recommend this place when you are exploring Samaná, great food, great place and excellent price. You are not staying at a hotel but in an apartment which is a bigger room and very comfortable.
The view is incredible, overlooking "Cayo Levantado" so all apartments are ocean view. Overall an incredible experience.

Room Tip: You have to decide to book an apartment close to the beach or the pool and restaurant area. 2 bedroo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We were recommended to stay here by my wife's sister who is an executive in the Dominican hotel industry so my hopes were high and for this reason, I didn't do my own independent research. Upon arrival, the front desk workers were not too friendly or energetic. They were not overly helpful, even to my wife who is Dominican. They did offer a cold towel and the best passion fruit juice. The hotel has no excursions and provided very minimal guidance/assistance with were to contact someone for excursions. The whole resort is on a cliff so be prepared to drive around using your breaks at every turn or be in good shape to walk. This includes going to and from the restaurant and the beach. The meal plans were not convenient, meaning if you got the meal plan, you were limited on what you could order and how much. Additionally, they were pre-packaged, for example you couldn't get just a breakfast and dinner plan. The rooms were very nice, modern, spacious, and equipped. The restaurant food was excellent and the restaurant staff were great. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone since I will not return myself.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

I recently stayed at Vista Mare for 2 nights and I must say that it is one of the best places I have stayed in the Dominican Republic. This is not a hotel but apartments with a beautilful view facing the Samana Bay. The apartments include 1,2 or 3 bedrooms based on what you may need for your stay.

The property is clean, well maintained and modern, it has plenty of parking but I believe that they're assigned to the apartment that you get so you can't just park anywhere. The apartments are very nice, they include a stove, dish washing machine (never got it to work) refrigerator, an island counter, dishes, utensils and everything you might need in case you're cooking your own food. There are snacks on the counter and beers, sodas, liquor, water, juices inside the fridge but of course they're not free. The good thing is that there's a small menu on the counter that lists the prices of these items.

The livingroom has a very nice sliding door that leads to the deck which has a jacuzzi and of course the beautiful view, I guess this also depends if you're on a first or second floor apartment. The apartments also include a washer and drier, central air and ceiling fans. The bedrooms also have a sliding door leading to the same deck that you can access from the livingroom. The barthroom is inside the bedroom and I must say that the bathrooms are really nice.

The property includes a restaurant which you can order food from, they have a meal plan which can be breakfast only or lunch and dinner or all three. In my own opinion, it is much cheaper if you order every meal individually rather than buying their meal plans. For example the breakfast, lunch and dinner plan is $45 USD for one person so if you go with someone else that's $90 USD A DAY! If you're driving into Vista Mare it makes more sense to stop by a supermarket and buy some food to cook it at the apartment.

The staff is very professional and polite, never had an issue with anyone and they were very helpful. I have to mention that when I ordered dinner from the restaurant the person delivering the food carried a credit card swiper, this is VERY smart and convenient for both the person delivering and the person that ordered the food. They'll swipe your card on the spot, give you your receipt and the whole transaction is completed in less than a minute, it's very surprising because a lot of resorts that have delivery service will take your card, walk back all the way to the restaurant, swipe your card, walk back to your room and give you your card and receipt.

Overall I must say that Vista Mare is a must for couples, very beautiful place, romantic, and one of the things I loved about it was that it is a quiet place. I will go back and stay longer because 2 nights was not enough for me.

WARNING: To those people driving from Santo Domingo beware that if you use highway 7 or the "new road" there are 7 tolls totalling up to $30, they never tell you that you have to pay 7 tolls going and coming from Santo Domingo, when you enter the road from Autopista Las Americas you think you only have to pay $50 Dominican Pesos but a few miles down the road is when you'll shell out $190 pesos, than a few miles down you'll pay $160 pesos, and the last toll is about $450 pesos, coming back to Santo Domingo is the same drill except you don't pay the $450 pesos.

The road itself is mostly empty because no one wants to pay so much toll, yes it does save you a lot of time but too expensive considering that to cross a bridge from New Jersey to New York is $12 and that is it and even that we consider is expensive.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Vista Mare Samana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vista Mare Samana

Address: Carretera Samana - Las Galeras Km. 12 | Samana, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 56 hotels in Samana Province
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Vista Mare Samana 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vista Mare is a place where style and service converge in such a way that it will forever change the way you view the word vacation. The resort is located at Los Naranjos in Samana, just 55 minutes away from El Catey International Airport, and 30 minutes away from the soon to be opened golf course Las Terrenas Country Club. At Vista Mare you will enjoy of luxurious accommodation with spacious bedrooms, bathrooms, private terraces and many other amenities such as concierge services and personalized attention at the swimming pool area, to assure you have plenty of time to relax. Vista Mare is the best in modern hospitality. 87 ocean view residences, fully equipped, divided into 1, 2 and 3 Bedroom Apartments. Designed to be ideally located on a hill site of breathtaking views of the private beach, located in a secluded bay of turquoise waters. Amenities and facilities in the hotel: A la Carte Restaurant, Bar Lounge, Mini Market, Gym, Concierge, Swimming Pool, Two Beaches of Exclusive use, Cable TV, Internet, Beach Club, Kids Club, 24/7 Security, WIFI Internet available in common areas and mini bar in each accommodation. Vista Mare features an A la Carte menu with the best local and International meals prepared by our skilled chefs. Fresh from the ocean seafood and imported meats combined with our tropical atmosphere to make your dining an enjoyable and unforgettable experience while choosing your preferred dish from our varied menu. Breakfast, lunch and dinner are served at El Cayo Restaurant.The location is ideal for outdoor activities such as sailing, excursions, trekking, sightseeing and one of the most spectacular attractions in the Caribbean, the yearly whale watching season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Vista Mare Samana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vista Mare Samana Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vista Mare Samana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.