We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You couldn't ask for more” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection to your Saves list
Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Isla de Cayo Levantado | Bahia de Samana, Dominican Republic   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special Summer Sales
Ranked #1 of 57 Hotels in Samana Province
Ottawa
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“You couldn't ask for more”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2010

My wife and I spent 7 incredible days at the Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado in late March 2010. To say that our stay exceeded our greatest expectations would be an understatement. This all inclusive resort is a true 5 star establishment geared towards people looking for relatively quiet yet fun time.
When we decided to take a vacation without our two great, yet sometimes challenging boys, we looked all across the Caribbean for an adults only resort that would provide a relaxing and romantic getaway. After weeks of research my wife happened onto the Cayo Levantado. Although it isn’t an adults only resort, the beauty of the grounds and intrigue of the island getaway made us decide to give it a try. We are very glad that we did.
So, enough of the background. Here is what we found. The grounds are more beautiful than you could imagine (the photos don’t do it justice). The food is incredible with a selection that is wide enough to please anyone. There are two buffet restaurants, one in the main building that provides 5 star food and service without the need for formal attire. The other is located adjacent to the beach pool that provides a less formal menu and has dress code that accepts swim suits and t-shirts. The resort also offers three a la cart restaurants (French, Italian and Caribbean/seafood) that require long pants for men and reservations (note that reservations hard to get so book them as soon as you check-in). We were sold on the quality and selection at the buffet along with the casual dress code and drop in service so we cancelled our a la cart reservations (people that we met at the resort spoke very highly of the Italian and Caribbean restaurants). The resort also offers complimentary room service from a limited but good menu.
The beach area of the resort actually contains two beaches, one that is known for its wind and waves and the other for its calm waters, snorkelling and kayaking. Both beaches are relatively small but serve the purpose. The island is also home to a small public park with a very nice, large beach. The public beach local vendors (paintings, jewellery, clothing, etc.), local people and tourists from the occasional cruise ship. This beach is typically quite and provides great snorkelling (the best location to find fish is on the far right). All three beaches on the island provide plenty of opportunities for relaxing in or out of the sun.
The pools at the resort are very well laid out. The large pool at the beach area is good for kids and adults and provides great lounging areas as well as shaded locations for those who like to swim without getting too much sun. The larger pool on the upper side of the resort is actually three separate U-shaped pools that are laid out in a way that provides the equivalent of 6 private pools. This area also contains great lounging opportunities including several cushioned double bed-like loungers within curtained structures. The last, and perhaps most unique pool area, is actually a three in one hot tub. It is a heated wading pool with three separate sunken sections with jets.
The entertainment at the resort consists of theme nights such as dancing, karaoke, a dance troop or a local band. These activities take place outside at the main building and can be a lot of fun. At around 10pm’ish the party is move to the public. At night the public beach belongs to the resort so the entertainment is run by the resort and drinks are free.
Other amenities include a well equipped gym, a spa (costs extra), a lit tennis court and a water sports shack. The tennis and snorkelling supplies are complimentary but if you go to the public beach you pay for snorkelling supplies and drinks (yes there is a bar at the public beach).
The buildings are great. The main building is very nice with large beautiful rooms. The remainder of the rooms are located in multi-unit villages that range in size and number of units. It appears as though the majority of the villa units have some degree of an ocean view (and what a view it is). The resort is only 4 or 5 years old and the units are top notch.
The grounds are immaculate and range from manicured gardens to near jungle like wooded areas. As part of their building permit, the resort was required to maintain the natural existing beauty of the island. They definitely succeeded.
Finally, the greatest resource of this resort is its management and staff. Every employee of the facility, from groundskeepers to the housekeepers, the servers to the bar tenders and entertainment to the management, all go out of their way to make your stay as pleasant as possible. As with any facility there are some people that stick out but in this case the average is well above average. I am not sure where they find such great people but the world would be a better place if we could all have their attitude.
The bottom line is that if you are looking for a loud and crazy keg party this might not be the place for you. If you are looking for a place that provides the ability to unwind, relax or enjoy the most romantic getaway of your life, then book a stay now (no I don’t work for Bahia Principe).

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,743
    461
    124
    56
    21
See reviews for
391
2,501
31
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (915)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barrie, Ontario Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2010

We went to this Resort the week of March 21st-28th, 2010 and we read all the reviews prior to going. It is my opinion that the Employees at this resort from the General Manager Ricardo to every Staff Member that we encountered was 100% Professional and looked after our every need. You must see this place for yourself.

From the moment we met Nery at the Dock to the wonderful reception we received at the Resort by Pablo this trip was the best I have ever been on. The Pictures don't actually even capture the true beauty of this very Picturesque Resort. It truly is breathtaking.

Everything was exceptional; rooms, restaurants (the beer wasn't bad either), pools, the grounds. All the staff was always happy and we got by quite well with the limited Espanol we knew. The Staff that really went above and beyond as mentioned Ricardo, Milan, Nery, Pablo, Saul, Maximmo, Orlando, Ariel & Ahisha, Virginia, Wendy, Neomy, Francesco (The Omlette Guy), Luis at Pool Canada and Alberto at the Beach/ Pool Bar. I truly hope I haven't missed anyone because everyone was so fabulous.

I can honestly say that I had no complaints other than we had to leave which by the way we were seen off by Ricardo Estaban the GM of the Resort. First Class all the way.

Finally the best thing out of the whole trip was we met some amazing new friends from Ron & Terri (Arizona-our Honorary Canadians), Bruce & Cathy, Joel & Aimee, Lorainne & Sarah, Doug & Sally from PA (also Honorary Canadians) and all the other wonderful people we met on our Holiday.

J & M Robinson
Barrie, Ontario Canada

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cole harbour, nova scotia
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2010

Me and my wife stayed at this resort in February 2010 and we absolutely loved it. The food was incredible, the staff was very friendly,(especially my man Jesus) and always there to serve you drinks. The grounds are awesome and well kept, the a la cartes were fantastic, the beach was also great. If you do venture down to the public beach make sure you haggle prices for merchandise. They will start high with they're prices but you can get it for about half of what they originally start with for prices. The only disappointing thing was the entertainment, it was just ok, but they do try. We would go back in a heartbeat.

Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2010

My husband and l spent a week in Dominican Republic at the gorgeous Bacardi Island and it was like paradise the only problem was if you order room service which is included in the full inclusive took 1 hours and 1/2 to arrive. The rooms were amazing which included a jacuzzi bath and free mini bar which was topped up daily. What we done was tipped the maid daily with little gifts. and dollars The service from the waiters and staff was great and the restaurants were great which there are three ala carte which is also included in your full inclusive. The only meal i did not like was a chocolate dessert which i jokingly called finger mouse 'yuck'. Other the that the food was great. The only thing to watch out for is when you get meat off the buffet it tends to be abit pink so avoid. The best pina coladas in the world are served here. The grounds are amazing and well maintained. There is a public section on the island but no tourists are allowed on the private area, the only problem here is stall holders trying to sell you stuff. If its raining when you want to go out you can phone for the free golf cart as we were quite abit away from the main restaurant. The ala carte restaurants are dotted about the island. Well worth the money.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portsmouth
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2010

Resort was nice but the beach was a little small. Our rooms were never cleaned until the late afternoon so an afternoon knap was out of the question. None of the staff apart from managers spoke English which was a pain especially when we got back to our room one night after 12 and the cleaner had taken our electricity key. We had to wait for a handy man to come up and then he didn't want to leave. We did complain but nothing was done. This is a very pricey holiday which was ruined by stupid things. If the majority of guests are English then more staff should speak the language. Would not recommend this to anyone and would definately not return.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2010

My friends and I did the roulette and were upgraded to this resort. It is very beautiful but management there are very strict and rude! We were told we weren't dressed nice enough at the buffett. The guys had shorts and a t-shirt on and the girls had sundresses and skirts on. This resort is not a place if you want to have fun and party. We were made to feel like we weren't "good" enough to be there especially by the assistant manager Maria.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2010

Simply the best resort I've ever been in a fabulous island. Excellent staff, great weather, very calm and peaceful, until night... very nice midnight baths at the sea :)

Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection

Address: Isla de Cayo Levantado | Bahia de Samana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Samana Province
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Samana Province
#1 Spa Hotel in Samana Province
#1 Luxury Hotel in Samana Province
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 268
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 2 pools 3 Jacuzzis with bar Large sun terrace and gardens with loungers and sun umbrellas Pool and beach towel service BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, 1 tennis court Motorised water sports (additional charge) Store Heliport WiFi access in the lobby (free of charge) and in rooms (additional charge) Main buffet-style restaurant and 3 speciality restaurants 6 Bars Cocktail Lounge Snack-bar Wedding gazebo Rooms 209 rooms including 5 types Superior, Junior Suite, Superior Junior Suite, Deluxe Junior Suite and Beach Villas. Superior Junior Suites, Deluxe Junior Suites and Beach Villas are larger than the Junior Suite and Superior. Room facilities: King size four poster bed Air conditioning Ceiling fan Sitting area with desk Balcony or terrace Fully-equipped marble bathroom with hydromassage bath tub, separate shower, bidet, hair dryer and magnifying mirror Telephone in bathroom Don Pablo Collection amenities Bathrobe and slippers Radio alarm clock with iPod docking station Direct phone line (additional charge for external calls) Flat screen satellite TV Safe Mini-bar with alcoholic drinks Wifi Coffee-making facilities Ironing set 24 hour room service Evening downturn service Outdoor Jacuzzi (Deluxe Junior Suites) Butler service Pillow menu Aroma menu Beach Villas: Seafront location with outdoor Jacuzzi, pillow menu available on request, baggage unpacking and ironing service, laundry service (optional) Other services Medical and pharmacy service (additional charge for both) Stores in the hotel Heliport and private boat (available on request for an additional charge) Mainland reception and transfer by boat (included in the booking fee) Specialised service for organising weddings, events and anniversaries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Expedia, BookIt.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Hotel
Cayo Levantado Samana
Cayo Levantado Dominican Republic
Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado
Cayo Levantado Hotel Samana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.