We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Vacation Ever!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection to your Saves list
Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Isla de Cayo Levantado | Bahia de Samana, Dominican Republic   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special Summer Sales
Ranked #1 of 58 Hotels in Samana Province
Waterloo, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“The Best Vacation Ever!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

My husband and I have just arrived home from the best and most restful vacation ever. We chose the hotel because of the excellent reviews and our expectations were exceeded. If you are looking for a crazy, noisy, dance till dawn experience look somewhere else. You will not – thankfully – find it here. This hotel will provide you with exactly what it says – a romantic, relaxing, island experience. It is adults only; there were no children – therefore a slightly older crowd. From the moment you step out of the tour bus till you step back on it you are made to feel valued and pampered. This is a small hotel with just over 200 rooms. The rooms are large, clean and have everything you need for your holiday. We booked a Junior Suite Superior Deluxe room in a villa because on the web site I noted that they had outside patios with sun loungers and a Jacuzzi tub. However, the sun does not shine on the patio, so if you are selecting the room for this purpose you won’t get any sun. I would recommend you select a Junior Suite Superior on a second floor as this has everything the Deluxe had, but slightly cheaper. You can also contact the hotel and ask for a specific location. Again I recommend you select Villas 1, 2, 3, or 5 as these are nearer the beach and have amazing views of the ocean. If you get one further from the beach, these too are beautiful, just be prepared for a little more of a walk in the magnificent gardens to the main buffet or the beach. There are three pools – two larger ones and one with smaller Jacuzzi pools. These were quiet and relaxing places. There were always an abundance of loungers, no need to get up early to get a bed by the pool. There are two towel bars, so you do not need to worry about towel exchange, as in some of the larger hotels, here you can change your towels as often as you wish. Again at the beach there were always loungers available with cabanas or shade from the trees. There are two beaches, small and in close proximity to the snack bar, wash rooms and bar. Others have talked about the noise of construction – this is due to begin again in May, but it is located near the main lobby – so make sure you connect with the hotel before your arrival and ask not to be located near this if you are planning your holiday for May - October. Also if you fly into Samana the bus ride is 50 minutes and the boat trip is another 15 minutes to the island. Not a 4 hour trip unless you fly into another airport - check where your are flying into. The photographs on the web site do not do justice to the hotel it truly is an island paradise. There are a number of excellent features about this hotel that surpass the other all-inclusive holidays we have had but the one that stands out the most is the exceptional customer service. The staff is amazing at providing you with personalized customer care – second to none I have experienced anywhere – either at home or away. When picking a hotel I like to try out different ones each vacation, however, this one was so amazing; we are already planning our second trip in the Fall. You will not find better.

Room Tip: Choose Villas 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ask for a 2nd floor Junior suite superior. Call ahead they will try to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martín V, Manager at Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Sandtravel2,

We cannot thank you enough for your comments. We truly appreciate that you took the time to share about your detail experience during your holiday in our Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado. Your comments are a valuable reference for other customers who are considering us for their vacations.

We hope to have you once again in Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts for your summer holidays in Dominican Republic.

Sincerely,

Martin Veron
Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,749
    461
    124
    56
    21
See reviews for
395
2,503
31
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (915)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
visby
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

we stayed for two weeks it was the best trippe ever it is a paradise island .we are absolutllie go back to this perfect place and all nice people they are the best.you felt like a king and a prinsess..

Room Tip: corner suites are large and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martín V, Manager at Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Elisabethf,

Receive warm greetings from all the Staff working at Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado.

We are so glad after having received your message letting us know you would like to come back to our Hotel, and that you enjoyed the Service from our Staff.

Hope to see you soon on your next vacation experience in Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels for your holidays in the Dominican Republic.

Sincerely yours,

Martin Veron
Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

An excellent Holliday resort , all the staff (and I mean all)could not do any more for you , the maid service was second to none as was the buffet waiters and waitresses, especially Alessandra who had the most amazing smile. The place was kept immaculate 24/7 and buy that I mean, we were walking down to dinner and we saw a gardener dressed in all in white sweeping up the leaves, what's wrong with that you may ask well it was pitch black, so is their commitment to cleanlyness. The place is spotless. The food well, you could not fault it except the French night (didn't like that).
The food was outstanding. The only down side to our 15 days there was it was full of loud Canadians, I have absolutely nothing against Canadians at all but why do they have to let everybody know that they are there, every where you went they were yelling and hooting.
Just take your ear plugs and you will will pampered rotten, great place to relax.
Mick.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martín V, Manager at Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Michael

We are so happy to hear your great experience in our Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado. To know that our guests go back home satisfied with their vacation, makes all our efforts worthwhile. We will be sending your greeting to all our team!!!

We hope to see you again in Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, Best all inclusive in Dominican Republic.

Sincerely,

Martin Veron
Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

Stayed for a week here , this was too short a time for a long journey,as it is nearly 4 hours after you land before you arrive at the resort. However ,it was well worth it and we will definitely return again. very clean resort and plenty of choice in the restaurant. we where amazed that the pool areas and beach had a good supply of sun beds and they where not reserved in the early morning as they often can be in these resorts.
Staff very friendly ,polite and helpful,

Room Tip: Upgrade if you can afford it ,is well worth it,enjoy
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martín V, Manager at Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Janf541,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Luxury Bahia Principe Hotel, especially from our Management Department.

We are so glad after having received your message letting us know you had an amazing vacation experience in our Hotel, Your comments are a valuable reference for other customers who are considering Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts for their holidays.

Looking forward to welcome you again in Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts Best all inclusive in the Dominican Republic.

Sincerely yours,

Martin Veron
Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

My new husband and I, plus 8 of our friends and family spent two weeks here in early March. I wish we'd stayed longer.

Room- We stayed in the beach front villa 31101. Perfect location, amazing views of the sea. Beautiful and spacious room with indoor and outdoor Jacuzzi. Butler service and hammock on request. Also room fragrance and pillow menu. Maid service was great. Thanks to Rachel. Also mini bar stocked daily and lovely boys that restock it for you. Could be noisy sometimes and right in the heart of the action at the lower pool / beach/ restaurants area but that suited us. We had a few ants in the room only on one day and they provide bug spray.

Service- everyone says it but it's true. The service at this resort is outstanding. ALL the staff are amazing, friendly, helpful, smiley and gorgeous. They're never expecting a tip but they thoroughly deserve it. Particularly thanks to the animation team who kept us occupied and laughing- Pedro, Gustavo, Mercedes, Ariel. Thanks to the beach bar staff- Martin, Fernando and young Miguel. Bernarda from the buffet restaurant. Also Mr Rodriguez who seemed to be everywhere all the time making sure we were looked after.

Whale watching - booked through Juan. Amazing trip that brought us to tears . You are guaranteed to see these amazing animals and if you're really lucky you will see a full breach (when they jump completely out of the water). Worth the money and very informative, and they are happy to answer any questions you have about the whales.

Zipline - really fun day out also includes taste of coffee, mama Juana, coconuts and fruits. Also a visit to an Eco village in the jungle.

Food and drinks- buffet was the best we've experienced but I did get a bit bored of it. Also lack of freshly cooked fish or seafood although there was ALWAYS freshly cooked meat, steaks and chicken. Mimosas at breakfast everyday (really missing this back in blighty) coffee really good too. Desserts nicer than I’ve ever had at buffets abroad. Cocktails delicious. Hit and miss with restaurants.

Beaches - there are two private beaches next to each other. One is windy and one is not. They are beautiful. We did have some issues finding beds in late afternoon on occasion but managed to move some around and find a spot. The public beach is admittedly much more beautiful – it is absolutely stunning. At night the public beach has a beach party and bar run by the hotel. We went on three nights. One night very lively, one night very quiet and one night for partying after the wedding. They kept the music going and we danced on the bar past 3am. Very much depends on the hotel guests so can be hit and miss.

Flight and transfer - flight was great, in new Thomson Dreamliner. Arrival was fine then a 5 hour coach journey. Really is horrendous. At one point we were hysterically crying and laughing- the journey seemed to never end. You finally get off the coach and have to fill out some forms at the reception on the mainland. Why could this not be done during the 5 hour transfer? You then endure a 10 minute very choppy boat ride. My father in law really suffered. You finally arrive at the hotel and they want to talk to you about the restaurants theme nights and opening times! Madness. It was also very unorganised when we arrived – this needs to be more streamlined and explained to guests. Prepare written information and simply tell people if they want to eat, go to the buffet and if they want to go their rooms, go here for a lift.

And most importantly.... The wedding!!
Pre wedding communications were terrible from all sides- the hotel, the wedding coordinator, and Thomson. On arrival you meet with Simona who is lovely but a bit 'vague'. Ultimately the wedding was perfect. Absolutely perfect day. My advice would be not to have too many expectations or strict requirements and just go with it and you will have a perfect day.

Our biggest disappointment and issue. We were given the impression that photography was included as part of our wedding package (unforgettable package) we were told that this included a CD of the photos taken and 15 prints. However the day after the wedding we were invited with our family and friends to view all the photos on the big screen in the lobby. Immediately afterwards we were told that if we wanted the 240 photos we would need to pay $900 (apparently a discount). We were disgusted. We had not budgeted for this additional cost and had already paid for the wedding package which we were told would include the photography. After a lot of discussion they sold us the photos on a cd for $600. We left very unhappy. It’s not appropriate to discuss the cost of a service after it has been provided. This should be made clear upfront. The style of photography is also very cheesy, tacky and dated. If we had known we were paying this additional fee we would have made our requirements clearer. After the ceremony and champagne we were taken to the public beach for a photo session. Beautiful location but we would have asked for a different style of picture and would have had more with our families had we known the costs involved beforehand. I also didn't have a great experience with the photographers themselves: they made a big fuss of the groom who was a ‘natural’ apparently but just told me ‘stand there lady' not enjoyable. Also the woman was drinking our champagne while we had the photos taken. Not professional at all. Ultimately we were forced to buy the photos as our family and friends had taken less than they would have as we thought we had the professionals.

Ultimately this island and hotel really is paradise. I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martín V, Manager at Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear UnityFaith,

We cannot thank you enough for your comments. We truly appreciate that you took the time to share about your experience during your married in our Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado. Your comments are a valuable reference for other customers who are considering us for their vacations.

We hope to have you once again in Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts for your holidays with your couple in Dominican Republic.

Sincerely,

Martin Veron
Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

We loved this resort so much last year we decided to visit again. This time we recommended to our friends who we met some years back in Antigua, so the pressure was on!

We didn't need to worry - our friends loved the resort from start to finish as did we.

We even noticed some of the improvements such as the new furniture and marque around the quiet pool which was beautiful. The new stage and the entertainment team put on some excellent shows.

The food selection and wine quality were excellent. As a returning guest for the first time ever, we received excellent service from everyone. From Alexis and Stephanie concierge who made sure we got the rooms we wanted, Jose in the restaurants arranged so many special champagne meals and Walky and Virginia at the main bar serving fantastic cocktails.

The biggest surprise was to see 4 couples from last year - and we all said the same thing - couldn't find anything better for the same money!

I'll be visiting again next year.


Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martín V, Manager at Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear LizandSi,

Receive warm greetings from all the Staff working at Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado.

We are so glad after having received your message letting us know you had an espectacular 2nd time in our Hotel, and that you specially enjoyed the Service from our Staff, we will send your greetings to all the team!!

Hope to see you soon on your next vacation experience in Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels for your holidays in the Dominican Republic.

Sincerely yours,

Martin Veron
Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

Just returned from spending an amazing 2 weeks on Cayo Levantado. The holiday started with a magical starlit nighttime arrival on the boat and from then on everything exceeded our expectations. The rooms, food, staff, service, gym, beaches, location everything was perfect. We stayed in a standard superior room in the main building which had a fabulous view overlooking the bay and was in a great central location for everything on the island. All the staff were brilliant, the service was excellent and they can't do enough to help you in particular Maylin at breakfast and Walky in the bar as well as others to many to mention. The hotel is spotless and the team work tirelessly to ensure this is kept clean and maintained 24/7. We ate at all of the restaurants but our favourite was the don Pablo which we ended up returning to 4 times within our stay! That said the main buffet was great with a wide selection and feature nights. It's difficult it explain how beautiful this place is, the hotel is set within beautiful grounds has 2 main beaches and a large main pool and you never struggled to find a quiet spot! A visit to the public beach is also worth a visit in particular for the stunning sun sets which words cannot describe but also the late night all inclusive beach bar. This is good fun for a few drinks and a dance but now holds special memories for us as it's where we got engaged. Finally fantastic resort with fantastic people and everything you need for a dream holiday

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martín V, Manager at Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Michelle C,

Receive warm greetings from all the Staff working at Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado. We are so glad after having received your message letting us know you had great time in our Hotel, and that you enjoyed the Service from our Staff.

Hope to see you soon on your next vacation experience in Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels for your holidays in the Dominican Republic.

Sincerely yours,

Martin Veron
Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection

Address: Isla de Cayo Levantado | Bahia de Samana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Samana Province
#1 Luxury Hotel in Samana Province
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Samana Province
#1 Spa Hotel in Samana Province
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 268
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 2 pools 3 Jacuzzis with bar Large sun terrace and gardens with loungers and sun umbrellas Pool and beach towel service BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, 1 tennis court Motorised water sports (additional charge) Store Heliport WiFi access in the lobby (free of charge) and in rooms (additional charge) Main buffet-style restaurant and 3 speciality restaurants 6 Bars Cocktail Lounge Snack-bar Wedding gazebo Rooms 209 rooms including 5 types Superior, Junior Suite, Superior Junior Suite, Deluxe Junior Suite and Beach Villas. Superior Junior Suites, Deluxe Junior Suites and Beach Villas are larger than the Junior Suite and Superior. Room facilities: King size four poster bed Air conditioning Ceiling fan Sitting area with desk Balcony or terrace Fully-equipped marble bathroom with hydromassage bath tub, separate shower, bidet, hair dryer and magnifying mirror Telephone in bathroom Don Pablo Collection amenities Bathrobe and slippers Radio alarm clock with iPod docking station Direct phone line (additional charge for external calls) Flat screen satellite TV Safe Mini-bar with alcoholic drinks Wifi Coffee-making facilities Ironing set 24 hour room service Evening downturn service Outdoor Jacuzzi (Deluxe Junior Suites) Butler service Pillow menu Aroma menu Beach Villas: Seafront location with outdoor Jacuzzi, pillow menu available on request, baggage unpacking and ironing service, laundry service (optional) Other services Medical and pharmacy service (additional charge for both) Stores in the hotel Heliport and private boat (available on request for an additional charge) Mainland reception and transfer by boat (included in the booking fee) Specialised service for organising weddings, events and anniversaries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Hotel
Cayo Levantado Samana
Cayo Levantado Dominican Republic
Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado
Cayo Levantado Hotel Samana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.