We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise Island- perfect place to get married” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection

Save Saved
You added Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Isla de Cayo Levantado | Bahia de Samana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 57 hotels in Samana Province
Ashford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Paradise Island- perfect place to get married”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We visited gran Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado in May 2012, and had the most amazing time, We got married out there and not just the day but the whole two weeks where perfect. The wedding was amazing and the way the handled it made the whole thing completely stress free. The staff went above and beyond to help us in anyway possible, nothing was too much for them. The food out their was excellent, especially the gourmet restaurant (best food all of our party had agreed we had tasted anywhere in the world) and when we visited this restaurant on my husbands birthday (which we hadn't mentioned to the staff) they had made us up a table with flower petals and champagne- then the chef and the rest of the staff in the restaurant came through at the end singing and with a birthday cake!
The rooms were amazing- we where in one of the villas, and I would say its well worth the upgrade to be out in the grounds. In fact it was so nice we are hoping to request the same room for when we return.
To be honest I cant think of a single thing I could fault, it was paradise in everyway! The only thing, which I can not blame on the hotel is the transfer is extremely long and tiring (but well worth it when its over.)
We have just booked to go again for our 2nd wedding anniversary, (which reminded me to write a review for last time- better late than never) and already cant wait to return. I really hope that our next trip lives up to our last one- if it does I can say for definite there will be many more trips to come!

Room Tip: Upgrade to villa- or if you are in the main building request the top floor (this is where my OH'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Víctor L, Manager at Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear marc-charly:

In the name of Bahia Principe Hotel Management, I would like to thank you for your loyalty when choosing a hotel for your holidays and for posting your experience.
In Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado we are committed to provide an excellent service through a high qualified team.
We hope to welcome you soon, please contact us before your arrival,
With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,584 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,076
    352
    101
    41
    14
See reviews for
356
1854
21
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (680)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Great Neck, New York, United States
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

My husband and I just got back from Cayo Levantado a day ago. I've been to the Dominican Republic before and many other Island resorts, but this was by far the greatest of them all. First off... Dominican hospitality is by far first rate. If you're looking to relax and decompress from life...and still have just enough nightlife to keep you entertained than this is the place to go. I've never experienced a resort that can offer 2 distinct kinds of beaches. Because it's on a small Island you have a choice of wading in a tropical lagoon and do fantastic snorkeling, or by taking a 2 minute walk over a bank, you can frolic in rolling waves. The weather was warm and some days were very humid, but it never really mattered because we were in the water all the time. It rained everyday for about 15 minutes. Even that was delightful.

The food is sumptuous. Get ready to eat. The staff at the resort go out of their way to make your trip fun with various beach side activities and at night the hotel hosts evening entertainment from magic shows to a salsa dance review. We took 2 day time excursions one on day 2 of our trip and the 2nd on day 4 of our trip. It was great planning in breaking up our activities. We were very regretful that we didn't book 6 nights instead of 5 nights. We were very sad to go. Complete relaxation - never bored - great food - romantic as hell, so be with someone you love.

Room Tip: villa # 9, 8 or 7. They're seaviews with Jacuzzi on terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Víctor L, Manager at Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Michele C:

I would like to thank you for writing a review about your stay at the Cayo Levantado. In the name of the Hotel Management, we want to thank you for your loyalty towards our hotel when choosing a place for your vacations.
We are very satisfied to read that we could ensure you again a wonderful holiday. As you have experienced, in Bahia Principe we are committed to provide the best service and to be settled in one of the best paradises around the world.
We are already waiting for your next visit.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spalding, Lincs
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

WOW - where do I start.. Just returned from a fantastic holiday. We were transferred to CL from Grand Bahia El Portillo as they had overbooked.(I will post separate review for El Portillo). We were offered our last 5 nights at CL after spending our first 9 at El Portillo (as my husband and I had previously stayed at CL and knew what a fantastic place it was we couldn't get there quick enough!!).

Our party consisted of 6 adults.The food was exceptional, with good choices in the buffet restaurant every night, so much so that only 2 of our party tried the al la carte's - and then only once (they were very impressed with the service at the Gourmet restaurant) Beenada(I hope i have spelled it correctly) served us in the buffet in the evenings and was great - thank you. The lunch buffet we used was by the beach swimming pool and again a good choice every day -sometimes with paella or BBQ. There was always a very good choice for breakfast also - bacon and eggs for me every day! The waiters at breakfast were very very welcoming especially Deter & Melvin who served us every morning, always welcoming us with a handshake before serving orange juice and coffee. - the perfect way to start the day in Paradise.

The pools were exceptionally clean with crystal clear water and none of the 'sun tan oil' floating on the surface which you quite often get at other hotels. The top (or quiet pool) was very very relaxing as well as being very pretty and had a lovely bar where you could always get snacks eg crisps, nuts etc. as well as cool drinks.

There was never the 'sun bed rush' and you could always get at bed at any time of day in any location - either by the pools or on the beach. As previously mentioned there are no towel card and the towels a freely available at either pool or the jacuzzi pool.

What made our holiday especially enjoyable were our days on the beach (we didn't spend very much time at the pools) and the animation team. The animation team were the BEST part of the holiday - always keeping us entertained and always very cheerful. Bingo will never be the same again without Ariel calling the numbers..He was soooo funny and made a simple game of bingo so much fun and it became a daily ritual for our family. All of the animation team made our holiday special including Gustavo, Benjamin and Estephan. But the ones that we spent the most time with and stand out were Pedro and Adrianna. Pedro especially was always very cheerful and always made a great effort to make sure we were all entertained all of the time - darts, boules, volley ball etc. and by the time we left we felt we had made a friend. They are all a great credit to the hotel and they should be very proud.

The sea was clearer this time - the previous time we went was in November - not sure whether the time of year makes a difference. But both times it was like paradise.

The rooms were absolutely enormous and extremely well cleaned every day. The turndown service with a chocolate on the bed each evening was a lovely touch.

The whole hotel was pristine both inside and out. Our family joke was 'if it doesn't move it gets painted' - Painting somewhere was happening every day to make sure everything was always in perfect condition, from the outside ashtrays and bins to the stair rails.

I don't think I can say anything else that hasn't already been said previously. Go to this hotel you absolutely won't be disappointed. In over 25 years of holidaying this is the only hotel we have been to twice and we will definitely be going back for third time sometime soon. It was also nice to be remembered from our previous visit by some of the staff - Gustavo (animation)and Mikey Alias or Martin (cant remember which) but both barmen were great at the beach bar.

The only negative (and its nothing against the hotel) was a 'noisy' group of Canadians who were very rude to some of the staff. The staff always acted with great courtesy and the hotel are very lucky to have staff that can still smile even when they are treated disrespectfully by rude clients. It wasn't a problem for us as there are so many places to go you can always find a quiet spot.

Thank you CL for a great holiday and we will definitely be back. Bye for now from 'Baby Blondie' and family.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Víctor L, Manager at Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
PinkScooter:

I would like to thank you for writing a review about your experience at the Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Hotel. In the name of the Hotel Management, we would like to thank you for your loyalty towards our hotel while choosing a place to enjoy your holidays.
It is a satisfaction for us to acknowledge that you had a wonderful visit to our hotel facilities thanks to the friendliness of our staff members and the variety of our gastronomy and beverages. In Bahia Principe those aspects are part of our main target, and we work hard to turn them into our strengths. We are looking forward to welcome you next time, please contact us before your arrival.
Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanna, Canada
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

I just returned from my sister's wedding at Cayo Levantado and did not want to come home. The island was beautiful and had almost everything to offer. The pictures from the wedding are incredible. We created wonderful memories there unlike anything else.
The rooms were amazing, with a relaxing jacuzzi tub and a breathtaking view from the balcony. The resort takes up the entire island so it never seems too crowded. With silk-like sand and clear blue water, it is nearly impossible to resist the urge to dive into the gorgeous ocean. I've always preferred pools over the salty waters, but at Cayo Levantado I actually spent the majority of my time in the refreshing ocean.
The service was amazing as well. Every employee had a smile and a warm welcome to greet you with. Our group made friends with many of the workers, including Pedro, who we got to know during our stay. He was kind and treated all the guests well, he quickly became a good friend to the group. All of the employees make sure to keep the guests happy and entertained, Pedro was just one great example of this. Everyone there was dedicated to creating a welcoming atmosphere that made you never want to leave.
The four restaurants all had great service as well. But apart from the wonderful service was the delicious food. Everything had such great flavour and was always unbelievably fresh. With the all-inclusive there was no reason to not want to try everything on the menu. Everything was absolutely delectable.
The entire vacation was extremely impressive, and I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Víctor L, Manager at Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear Brittany C:

I would like to thank you for writing a review about your experience at the Cayo Levantado Hotel. In the name of the Hotel Management, we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for you holidays.
We are very happy to read that you had a memorable stay thanks to the friendliness of our staff members, the beauty and the cleanness of our premises and facilities, and the good work of our staff. In Bahia Principe we are committed to ensure a memorable holiday to our beloved guest.
We are looking forward to welcome you back again. Please, do not hesitate to contact us for further assistance.
Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We have just returned from what was an AMAZING honeymoon. I read a lot of reviews and looked at a lot of photos before going and I can defiantly say that it exceeded all our expectations.
When we arrived we were upgraded, we had a fruit basket, t shirts and a bottle of rum in the room. The next day we had a bottle of fizz put in our fridge when we arrived back to the room.
The island was beautiful, the staff were so friendly and took the time to talk to you. The food was lovely and the different theme nights were great.
The only little niggle we had was not really anything to do with hotel but there was a wedding on during the 2nd week and they were rather noisy and disruptive round the pool during the day but we can not fault the hotel and we would defiantly recommend it to anyone and would love to go back someday.
This hotel really is paradise

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Víctor L, Manager at Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear Louise C:

I would like to thank for writing a comment on Tripadvisor about your experience at Cayo Levantado Hotel. In the name of the Hotel Management, we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel to celebrate your honeymoon; we congratulate you and wish you the best.
We are very happy to read that this memorable occasion was very special as it is supposed to be. In Bahia Principe Hotels one of our guiding principles is to serve a unique gastronomy.
We will be happy to celebrate with you your first anniversary, please write us a mail before your arrival,
With kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strathroy, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We were upgraded to Levantado from El Portillo. This is a beautiful place. We stayed in Villa 14 which I think is the perfect location. Our rooms were amazing with ocean view and lots of privacy. The surrounding are very pretty. The beach was very nice as you have side with waves and the calm side. There is also a pool right next to the beach. Lots of chairs so you can always find a place to stay. Big bonus was that you didn't have to worry about your beach towels you can take them whenever you wanted and exchange them. There was also a main pool close to our Villa which was nice and quiet. Food was good even the buffet had a lobster on Gala night. We celebrated our anniversary there and wanted to make sure we will have a reservation to the Gourmet Restaurant on that day. Staff was very good and accommodating as they wanted to make sure we will be able to celebrate our anniversary. We did receive our reservation and had fantastic dinner. The best surprise was when we came back to our room. We found candles light up on the night stands, rose pedals on our bed with hart shape towels made. There was also a bottle of champagne in the fridge for us. That was the best surprise as we didn't expect this at all. This little detail made this resort very special as you can see how they treat people who stay there. Thank you Bahia Principe Levantado for an UNFORGETTABLE ANNIVERSARY! We would recommend this place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Víctor L, Manager at Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear agpic9:

I would like to thank you for writing a review about your experience at the Cayo Levantado Hotel. In the name of the Hotel Management, we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for you holidays.
We are very happy to read that you had a memorable stay thanks to the friendliness of our staff members, the beauty and the cleanness of our premises and facilities, and the good work of our staff. In Bahia Principe we are committed to ensure a memorable holiday to our beloved guest.
We are looking forward to welcome you back again. Please, do not hesitate to contact us for further assistance.
Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Just returned from this paradise Island and we are so full of good memories. The friendly staff from top of the hierarchy to the cleaners were all set to make you feel special. Always helpful with a smile.
Everything was lovely about this place, the villas are spread nicely and they are all benefit from either the lush gardens or the sea view, be prepared to walk in the lovely grounds after enjoying the local facilities. Everything about this place is immaculate. Thank you ALL dedicated staff, specially Alexis and Stephanie who we got to know during our stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Víctor L, Manager at Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear Devonian21:

I would like to thank you for writing a review about your experience at the Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Hotel. In the name of the Hotel Management, we would like to thank you for your loyalty towards our hotel while choosing a place to enjoy your holidays.
It is a satisfaction for us to acknowledge that you had a wonderful visit to our hotel facilities thanks to the friendliness of our staff members and the variety of our gastronomy and beverages. In Bahia Principe those aspects are part of our main target, and we work hard to turn them into our strengths. We appreciate your nice words about Alexis and Stephanie; we have shared your comments with them.
We are looking forward to welcome you next time, please contact us before your arrival.
Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection

Address: Isla de Cayo Levantado | Bahia de Samana, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Samana Province
#1 Luxury Hotel in Samana Province
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel the comfort in a exclusive Island surrounded by beautiful landscapes, exotic gardens and the view of the turquoise sea from the Caribe. Get pampered in our Spa or keep on shape in our fitness center! Relive your great love in a very romantic dinner in our Gazebo under the moon and candles light on the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Hotel
Cayo Levantado Samana
Cayo Levantado Dominican Republic
Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado
Cayo Levantado Hotel Samana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.