We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely wonderful resort!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection to your Saves list
Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Isla de Cayo Levantado | Bahia de Samana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 57 Hotels in Samana Province
London, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful resort!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed here from Jan. 5th-12th and had an amazing and very relaxing time! One week was definitely not long enough! We stayed in villa 12, which we had received an upgrade to (Thank you Alexis!) and were very impressed, the views from our balcony were beautiful and the rooms are Huge! The grounds are Very well kept and are beautiful. The main building, the villas and all the areas of the resort are very well kept and everything is spotless. There was never a lack of chairs by the pools or beach (even at the public beach there are tons) and there are plenty of towels available to pick up whenever you want a fresh one.
The private beach and both pools have wonderful service – Although all of the servers were great, Miguel and Fernando (at the beach) and Luis (pool bar) really stood out! You never have to get up to get a drink as they were there with another before you even had to ask.
The public beach is also really nice; we went in the morning once and again another day in the afternoon. It is busier in the afternoon (some days) as cruise ships port nearby. There are lots of little restaurants to grab a drink or some food (not included) and there are also some shops. FYI – some of the items offered in the shop are cheaper, even with bartering, at the shops in the resort.

We tried all 3 of the a la cartes, which you can book between 9-5, once you arrive – for the whole week – no getting up early each day to reserve a table for that evening! Our favourite was the Mediterranean restaurant. All three had wonderful service and a lot of entrée choices. The rest of our time here we ate at the buffet which has a different theme every night and there are always lots of choices. There is also a smaller buffet, near the beach, available for lunch.

There is nightly entertainment, which was entertaining! Don’t expect a broadway show, but they work hard to put on the performance and we found it entertaining.

We have both been to a fair amount of resorts and found the service here to be excellent; the best we have had in any resort! The staff here are absolutely wonderful. We did not encounter anyone on the staff who didn’t speak some English, but feel that when you go to another country you should at least attempt some words in the language spoken there (it’s appreciated by the staff and a good way to learn a few new words/phrases!)

We would highly recommend this resort and wouldn’t hesitate to go back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Víctor L, Manager at Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Dear merriej:

In the name of Bahia Principe Hotel Management, I would like to thank you for your loyalty when choosing a hotel for your holidays and for posting your experience.
In Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado we are committed to provide an excellent service through a high qualified team. I have shared your nice words with Alexis and the rest of the staff you have mentioned.
We hope to welcome you soon, please contact us before your arrival,
With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,008 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,435
    401
    110
    46
    16
See reviews for
379
2,177
24
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (793)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Racine, Wisconsin, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My Wife and I celebrated our honeymoon during the first couple weeks of December. The resort was awesome and the food was good for the price of the resort. Everything about this place was great. I would recommend doing the Samana Zipline Walk the Plank. It was awesome.

DO NOT do the VIP Breakfast!!!! They make it sound like a special breakfast but all it is the same buffet that you would go through anyways and a sales pitch for the Gran Bahia Club. It was especially irritating because none of this was mentioned when they asked if we would like this "special breakfast because we are honeymooners"....BullS***! We did get a gift of rum, cigars, and spices but it wasn't worth it'

TIPS: Bring a larger insulated cup to get your beverages, they have small plastic cups at the beach bars and they get warm fast

Room Tip: We had room 10108. It was a beautiful suite with a large porch and whirlpool tub on the balcony. I r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Víctor L, Manager at Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear islandonmymind:

I would like to thank you for writing a review about your experience at the Cayo Levantado Hotel. In the name of the Hotel Management, we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for you holidays.
We are very happy to read that you had a memorable stay thanks to the friendliness of our staff members, the beauty and the cleanness of our premises and facilities, and the good work of our staff. In Bahia Principe we are committed to ensure a memorable holiday to our beloved guest. On the other hand, related to the VIP breakfast I have shared your suggestions and comments with our Food and Beverages Manager and with our Executive Chef, so we can work to improve our standards.
We are looking forward to welcome you back again. Please, do not hesitate to contact us for further assistance.
Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

We've just got back from our 2-week honeymoon at Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado. We had a fantastic time, the resort exceeded all of our expectations - from the moment we arrived and were greeted in the lobby with delicious cocktails, right through to being waved goodbye and everything in between.

The staff are friendly and helpful, although I did wish I had taken the time to learn some basic Spanish it wasn't a problem generally.

Our junior suite (15204, in villa 15) was incredible and had views across the sea, huge bathroom, mini bar etc. the maid did a fantastic job, our room was always spotless. We tipped her about 1 dollar per day. That reminds me- we brought a combination of pesos and dollars but wished we'd stuck to dollars as everything is priced in dollars, though you can pay with pesos.

The pools were beautiful and very quiet and relaxed, never had a problem getting a poolside canopy-covered bed.

Pool bar staff were friendly and attentive, often taking our orders from where we sat/lay so we didn't even have to walk the 10 metres to the bar - now that is being spoilt! Loved the cocktails, especially the scarily blue but tasty Bahia principe, and they do a mean caipirinha too!

The food was amazing and varied - the main buffet was spectacular, we only had a couple of meals in the other restaurants to try them out (Don Pablo is great and did us a lovely special honeymoon dinner!) as the buffet was so great.

Evening entertainment was mixed but I guess they are trying to cater to a wide range of tastes so the live Spanish music and children's stuff may appeal to others - two nights were fantastic, I really enjoyed the Michael Jackson tribute!

Real mixture of other guests - young couples, families, elderly couples. There was a friendly vibe but it was also easy to have lots of time alone.

The private beach was beautiful, we didn't bother with the public one and were told we weren't missing much - the private beach is so lovely we didn't feel the need! Was more lively here than by the pools, and harder to get a good spot if you didn't get there early.

The spa was well worth the money - we had the couple's VIP treatment, which included 15 mins in a lovely private candlelit jacuzzi and a full body massage - it was pure bliss, felt so relaxed afterwards.

If you're going with Thomsons/First Choice, don't book the excursions in advance like we did! We found out people who book them through the rep at the resort get a discount, and also some off the details we'd got from the website were wrong (different days etc)....that aside, the excursions themselves were amazing - we did zip lining and el limon, both of which were incredible. We heard the los haitises was a bit of a disappointment and a very bumpy boat ride, but can't be certain as we didn't go ourselves.

All in all this resort was absolutely incredible, and amazing value for money- we had the perfect honeymoon :)

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Víctor L, Manager at Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear Francesca F:

I would like to thank for writing a comment on Tripadvisor about your experience at Cayo Levantado Hotel. In the name of the Hotel Management, we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel to celebrate your honeymoon; we congratulate you and wish you the best.
We are very happy to read that this memorable occasion was very special as it is supposed to be. In Bahia Principe Hotels one of our guiding principles is to serve a unique gastronomy.
We will be happy to celebrate with you your first anniversary, please write us a mail before your arrival,
With kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We just returned recently from Cayo Levantado. Overall the experience was "ok".
In fact, I am not sure that people who write reviews and give this hotel a 5-star experience are in their rightful minds. Here is why.

It IS a stunning location and also very quite, mostly couples and no loud, drunken crowds with beer mugs. The only drawback was the service. In order to get a cup of orange juice or a coffee at breakfast, you have to strategically sit by the service station, otherwise you might wait for 10 minutes for a cup of coffee!

Mediterranean Restaurant had the worst service by far! The way we were treated, with waiters giving us looks when asked for more wine or practically shoving food in our faces - this is NOT a 5-start experience that they claim they have. I think in any other "high-end" restaurant, the waiters would be fired on a spot for a treatment like that!

In addition, they hardly speak any English. You ask for something and you either don't get it or get it when asked twice. This is a hotel claiming that they have 5-star service and people who come there are mostly English-speaking. Why not hire staff with more English speaking abilities? Staff (and not the gardening team) is the face of the hotel and management should take this into consideration.

Food at the main buffet is way bland and not much choice at all, except for one day a week when they have a Grand buffet where they grill lobster. So people literally take piles of it at a time. We've had so much better food in cheaper DR resorts.

When you come to a beautiful location like this (never mind that you pay almost double as an average location in DR), you expect a certain treatment and service. And, unfortunately, this hotel has to work REALLY hard to improve their service.

We will not be coming back here!

Room Tip: if you want to get some sleep, pick a villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Víctor L, Manager at Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
dEAR TRIPLETHEFUN:

Kindest regards from all the team that makes up our Luxury Hotel Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado, Don Pablo Collection.

With great concern we have read your letter, because contrary to what we would have liked, some of our services not covered their expectations, therefore, we ask our sincere apologies for any inconvenience you may have had during your stay. We guarantee that we are working hard to prevent situations such as those described by you repeat,
However, we express that all comments have been considered and we assure you that were sent to the heads of the departments involved, and take the necessary action.

Similarly, we hope to have another opportunity and honor of your visit in order to change their perception about our services.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haslemere, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Two weeks here just was not enough, I was ready to move in permanently. It is relaxing, beautiful and amazingly luxurious. The rooms are huge and the hotel has everything you could want. Only a little bit disappointed as I have heard they will no longer be accepting children here, and we had an amazing family holiday here and it is very sad that we won't be able to return for 15 or so years!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Víctor L, Manager at Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear MsTDC:

I would like to thank you for writing a review about your experience at the Cayo Levantado Hotel. In the name of the Hotel Management, we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for you holidays.
We are very happy to read that you had a memorable stay thanks to the friendliness of our staff members, the beauty and the cleanness of our premises and facilities, and the good work of our staff. In Bahia Principe we are committed to ensure a memorable holiday to our beloved guest. On the other hand, related to Only adults change I have shared your suggestions and comments with our Headquarter, we can recomend you Esmeralda in punta Cana or Sian Ka an in Mexico which have the same standard.
Thank you for your good comments

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I am going to start with the negatives.........................................
Well, now that is out of the way, let me begin...
We chose GBCL for our Honeymoon based on the amazing reviews on TA, so we went with high expectations, I have to say, our expectations have been exceeded!
From the moment we arrived and were greeted with cocktails and cold towels on the pier to the moment we boarded the coach to leave, it was an absolutely amazing experience.
We booked a standard room, as we didn't think we were going to spend much time there, however the room was amazing (501 - top floor of the main building) where we had womderful views of the bay, and one of the mornings we even saw whales from our balcony!
We didn't spend much time at the pool, as the beach was absolutely brilliant, you didn't have to get up early to get a lounger, and the views were incredible.
We saw a pelican fishing just off the beach pretty much every day, which made for great entertainment. Having said that, the animation team provided excellent entertainment as well - beach volleyball, Spanish lessons, stretching, aqua aerobics, salsa lessons, horseshoe throwing, boules, shuffle board, dart throwing, table tennis, bingo and drinking, we've done it all!
Food - it was simply not possible to have a bad meal here. Great variety in the buffet - Gala, Mexican and Oriental nights were our favorites. We enjoyed the A la Cartes as well - Italian and Don Pablo were amazing. Mediterranean was good, but it's all down to the personal preferences, I guess.
Our stay was made very special by some amazing people. Special mentions must go to Gustavo, Estephan and Gabriel of the Animation team for keeping us entertained, amused and active every day. Also to Walky (lobby bar) for his cocktail expertise, and Sony (lobby bar/quiet pool) for his permanent smile and positive attitude; Fernando and Miguel for keeping us 'hydrated' on the beach, and to Luis (lobby bar/quiet pool) for introducing us to Mama Juana! Also, thanks to Yunior (guest service desk) for remembering it was our Honeymoon, and arranging a special surprise for us at Don Pablo. Apologies if we have forgotten anyone!!

If you want more details on our stay, I had a "live from" post running - "Cayo Levantado January 3rd - 17th" in the forum section.

All in all - it was an amazing stay and we will definitely return one day, especially as it is going to be adults only from summer this year!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Víctor L, Manager at Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Dear Tash 502:


I would like to thank for writing a comment on Tripadvisor about your experience at Cayo Levantado Hotel. In the name of the Hotel Management, we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel to celebrate your honeymoon; we congratulate you and wish you the best.
We are very happy to read that this memorable occasion was very special as it is supposed to be.
In Bahia Principe Hotels one of our guiding principles is to serve a unique gastronomy.
We will be happy to celebrate with you your first anniversary, please write us a mail before your arrival,
With kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Just back from a wonderful week in Cayo Leventado, probably the best hotel I have ever stayed in. Nothing was too much trouble for the extremely well drilled and happy staff, from the gardeners right through to the senior management. Food in all restaurants was superb with more choice than you could ever want (expanding waistband a must).
Gardens and beaches were beautiful, clean and plenty of sun beds and towels. No need to keep going to the bar as pool and bar staff will keep asking if you would like anything and expect nothing in return, (I would point out here though a us dollar tip is greatly appreciated).
I can not remember having such a relaxing holiday where everything, genuinely was All Inclusive, and everyone you met was so happy.
I will defiantly visit again and would recommend this beautiful island to anyone.

Room Tip: We stayed in a junior suite in villa 5 which was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Víctor L, Manager at Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear Grosbrum:

In the name of Bahia Principe Hotel Management, I would like to thank you for your loyalty when choosing a hotel for your holidays and for posting your experience.
In Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado we are committed to provide an excellent service through a high qualified team.
We hope to welcome you soon, please contact us before your arrival,
With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection

Address: Isla de Cayo Levantado | Bahia de Samana, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Samana Province
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Samana Province
#1 Spa Hotel in Samana Province
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 268
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 2 pools 3 Jacuzzis with bar Large sun terrace and gardens with loungers and sun umbrellas Pool and beach towel service BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, 1 tennis court Motorised water sports (additional charge) Store Heliport WiFi access in the lobby (free of charge) and in rooms (additional charge) Main buffet-style restaurant and 3 speciality restaurants 6 Bars Cocktail Lounge Snack-bar Wedding gazebo Rooms 209 rooms including 5 types Superior, Junior Suite, Superior Junior Suite, Deluxe Junior Suite and Beach Villas. Superior Junior Suites, Deluxe Junior Suites and Beach Villas are larger than the Junior Suite and Superior. Room facilities: King size four poster bed Air conditioning Ceiling fan Sitting area with desk Balcony or terrace Fully-equipped marble bathroom with hydromassage bath tub, separate shower, bidet, hair dryer and magnifying mirror Telephone in bathroom Don Pablo Collection amenities Bathrobe and slippers Radio alarm clock with iPod docking station Direct phone line (additional charge for external calls) Flat screen satellite TV Safe Mini-bar with alcoholic drinks Wifi Coffee-making facilities Ironing set 24 hour room service Evening downturn service Outdoor Jacuzzi (Deluxe Junior Suites) Butler service Pillow menu Aroma menu Beach Villas: Seafront location with outdoor Jacuzzi, pillow menu available on request, baggage unpacking and ironing service, laundry service (optional) Other services Medical and pharmacy service (additional charge for both) Stores in the hotel Heliport and private boat (available on request for an additional charge) Mainland reception and transfer by boat (included in the booking fee) Specialised service for organising weddings, events and anniversaries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Hotel
Cayo Levantado Samana
Cayo Levantado Dominican Republic
Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado
Cayo Levantado Hotel Samana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.