We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save Saved
You added Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Isla de Cayo Levantado | Bahia de Samana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 56 hotels in Samana Province
Upton,Merseyside
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Returned back 11th Nov after two weeks .Had a Great time,Staff from Management to Gardeners all Brilliant,Celebrated Anniversary and Jeans Birthday there and Restraurants excelled in suprises.To many staff to personally name but all worth a special thank you.Met some lovely holiday makers ,& two Idiots.(Revenge was Sweet).Would Definately return but in February or March to see the Whales.Thank You all at Gran Bahia.

Room Tip: Main Building Top Floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Víctor L, Manager at Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Alan M:

In the name of Bahia Principe Hotel Management, I would like to thank you for your loyalty when choosing a hotel for your holidays and for posting your experience.
In Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado we are committed to provide an excellent service through a high qualified team.
We hope to welcome you soon, please contact us before your arrival,
With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,621 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,108
    356
    101
    42
    14
See reviews for
358
1879
21
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (688)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stirling, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

My husband and I stayed a week in paradise. This resort is so quiet and tranquil. The service and the staff were the best we have ever had. They couldn't do enough to make your stay anything but wonderful. We had a junior suite superior and it was beautiful. We were in Villa 7, second floor and had a wonderful ocean view. Never once heard any noise from neighbours so it felt almost like your own private villa. The food was wonderful and well presented. One morning at breakfast there wasn't a sugar container on our table so my husband just went to the next table to get a few packets and before he sat down they had placed one on our table.
We enjoyed the beach even though it wasn't a long expanse that we are used to. We knew this before arriving so it wasn't a problem. Both pools were well maintained with plenty of loungers.
The assortment of top shelf liquor was also very nice, We enjoyed many Baileys on ice in the lobby after dinner...Thankyou to Alexis and his wonderful staff ( Jose, Rosario to name but 2) for a truly memorable holiday. We hope to return SOON!

Room Tip: My choice would be a villa in an upper floor. Peaceful and quiet!! We were in Villa 7, room 7202
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Víctor L, Manager at Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear guest dets:

I would like to thank you for writing a review about your experience at the Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Hotel. In the name of the Hotel Management, we would like to thank you for your loyalty towards our hotel while choosing a place to enjoy your holidays.
It is a satisfaction for us to acknowledge that you had a wonderful visit to our hotel facilities thanks to the friendliness of our staff members and the variety of our gastronomy and beverages. In Bahia Principe those aspects are part of our main target, and we work hard to turn them into our strengths. We appreciate your nice words about our staff in bars and Alexis our concierge; we have shared your comments with them.
We are looking forward to welcome you next time, please contact us before your arrival.
Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Don't spend much time in the room. Lots to do outside the room and on the island. Make sure to take an excursion to do things. Amazing place and people.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Bahia Principe

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Víctor L, Manager at Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
I would like to thank you for writing a review about your experience at the Cayo Levantado Hotel. In the name of the Hotel Management, we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for you holidays.
We are very happy to read that you had a memorable stay thanks to the friendliness of our staff members, the beauty and the cleanness of our premises and facilities, and the good work of our staff. In Bahia Principe we are committed to ensure a memorable holiday to our beloved guest.
We are looking forward to welcome you back again. Please, do not hesitate to contact us for further assistance.
Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Myself, my wife and our two best friends were here from 14-28th October. Our trip was to celebrate my 50th Birthday.

I have hummed and hawed about whether to put a review on but have decided to do so. I believe that the purpose of tripadvisor is to get an unbias personal opinion so with that in mind please read on.

This was the first time we had visited a Gran Bahia hotel and thought that with this being their flagship property we had chosen wisely. We will probably not choose this chain again.

We had done a lot of research before deciding on Cayo Levantado. We thought that we would be delighted with our choice as we are seasoned travellers and have experienced some poor but also amazing holidays in our time.

I will not go into great detail as other reviewers have covered accomodation quality etc very well and I would agree with all the positive comments totally.

Please do not underestimate the effect that the transfer from Puerto Plata to the hotel will have. We travelled with Thomson Holidays from the UK. The Rep Jessica dies a great job here.

Our issues were on two fronts, the food quality in all restaurants except Don Pablo was very patchy at best, I must say that Jose Luis Rodriquez is amazing, he is so professional and I only hope that the company fully appreciates the calibre of employee that they have in him.The Mediterrean being the only passable alternative during our stay. The food quality in the buffet restaurant especially was extremely poor, we had read reviews of people getting unwell on holiday and can now understand why, we could have eaten uncooked pork and also cold and then reheated chicken amongst other dubious choices, food that was meant to be on offer would not be replenished, even when we asked and were told momento nothing appeared, I personally waited for 30 minutes before giving up on the hope that my " momento " was up! This really is a shame as this could be pretty easily rectified with a bit of quality control, all it would take is a dedicated staff member to oversee this while walking around checking on the restaurant as they do.

The other letdown was the drinks service at the beach and bottom pool area which was very hit and miss in service, we would get a drink given to us then a three hour gap before we would see the waiter again, there needs to be a decisiion made I think as to whether there is a service on offer or not, it was easier to go and get our own drinks rather than wait for another to be offered.

There seems to be a bit of mimicking by Gran Bahia paying homage to the Secrets chain in some areas but they cannot quite achieve the excellent standards that we have received with them.

Please do not allow this review to put you off from visiting this beautiful island but manage your expectations accordingly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Víctor L, Manager at Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear guest bigstuff2310:

In the name of Bahia Principe Hotel Management, I would like to thank you for your loyalty when choosing a hotel for your holidays and for posting your experience.
It has been a shame to not reach your expectations with the service received. We note to refer to this in the future.
In Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado we are committed to provide an excellent service through a high qualified team.
In case you decide to come back, please contact us before your arrival, and you will see our capacity of becoming better.
With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stayed here for two weeks from 28th Oct -11th Nov and wish it was longer, from the moment we arrived untill we left we had an amazing holiday, the Island it beautifull and very well maintained. The Management and Staff done everything they could to make us welcome, we had a room in the main restaurant area and it was more than i expected, huge room with a sea view which was well equipped with drinks in our mini bar daily ,fresh fruit, tea & coffee, lotions, clean towels and linen and little chocolates on an evening. The restaurants were all fantastic which served amazing food there was lots of variety and taste and we certainly didn't find it repetitive. The pools and beach were great and we never had problem with finding a bed. All the staff here were so pleasant, helpful and smart, the Animation Team were superb and so much fun!!! We will definately return to "Paradise" again. Many thanks to Alexis the General Manager and Stephanie in reception, from Julie and David from England.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Víctor L, Manager at Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear guest JulieandDavid203:

I would like to thank you for writing a review about your experience at the Cayo Levantado Hotel. In the name of the Hotel Management, we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for you holidays.
We are very happy to read that you had a memorable stay thanks to the friendliness of our staff members, the beauty and the cleanness of our premises and facilities, and the good work of our staff. In Bahia Principe we are committed to ensure a memorable holiday to our beloved guest. We are looking forward to welcome you back again. Please, do not hesitate to contact us for further assistance.
Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Stayed for a week from 8th November knowing it would be hit and miss with the weather due to the time of the year. However after a tropical storm hit on Saturday morning it meant cancellations of the trips we had planned that meant going on the water. However there was still plenty of things to do in the hotel and if you want to just chill out and relax you can stay around the quiet pool, which for the week I was there remained quiet. There was an American Wedding party who made the most of the free alcohol, but they stayed down on the beach and other pool, which was fine.

The food was amazing, even the buffet was very impressive too which considering there are 3 impressive a la carte restaurants was a great suprise, especially as I had my doubts with what was to offer because of the price we paid.

The staff are very keen to please and make your stay an enjoyable one, but didn't pester you too much.

Outside of the resort it's a very poor area and if you go to Samana town to visit the small number of shops you will be pestered by the locals trying to take you on trips etc, just to try and make some money.

Overall the holiday and resort was very impressive, even though the weather did it's best to ruin that.

Room Tip: We went in the low season and were able to upgrade to a villa, which was lovely and quiet throughout...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Víctor L, Manager at Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Dear Stu_Mar7:

In the name of Bahia Principe Hotel Manager, Mrs. Sigi de Garcia, I would like to thank you for your loyalty when choosing a hotel for your holidays and for posting your experience.
In Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado we are committed to provide an excellent service through a high qualified team.
We hope to welcome you soon, please contact us before your arrival,
With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boisbriand, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

THERE IS ONLY ONE SOLUTION TO THIS PROBLEM: THE HOTEL SHOULD SAY IN THERE ADVERTISEMENT THAT THERE IS MUSIC ON THE PUBLIC BEACH FROM 10 PM TO 2 AM IF NOT RAINING ONLY AND CANCEL IT IF THERE IS RAIN.

Explanation of this statement: We spent one week at this luxury hotel thinking it would be calm but because of the rain and a big wedding occuring that week, many many people were complaning and changing their rooms because the management transfered the disco in the main building every time it would be raining but it rained almost every night so hard to sleep. Also, after every disco night, those people from that wedding would make noise coming back to their rooms at 2 o'clock in the morning.

This hotel is not suppose to be a party place and to please a few people, the management made hangry many people. I heard many people saying they would never go back because of that noise and it's to bad because it is a beautiful hotel with very nice employees.

So, MANAGEMENT, think about using my advice in my first paragraph of this review, it would help your hotel, a lot.

Room Tip: If you decide to go there, do not stay in the main building even if it would be great for everything...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Víctor L, Manager at Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Dear rabais r:

I would like to thank you for writing a review about your experience at the Cayo Levantado Hotel. In the name of the Hotel Management, we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for you holidays.
We are very happy to read that you had a memorable stay thanks to the friendliness of our staff members, the beauty and the cleanness of our premises and facilities, and the good work of our staff. In Bahia Principe we are committed to ensure a memorable holiday to our beloved guest. On the other hand, I have shared your suggestions and comments with our Entertainment manager, so we can work to improve our standards.
We are looking forward to welcome you back again. Please, do not hesitate to contact us for further assistance.
Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection

Address: Isla de Cayo Levantado | Bahia de Samana, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Samana Province
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Samana Province
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel the comfort in a exclusive Island surrounded by beautiful landscapes, exotic gardens and the view of the turquoise sea from the Caribe. Get pampered in our Spa or keep on shape in our fitness center! Relive your great love in a very romantic dinner in our Gazebo under the moon and candles light on the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Hotel
Cayo Levantado Samana
Cayo Levantado Dominican Republic
Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado
Cayo Levantado Hotel Samana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.